PDA

View Full Version : Accurate FM and Rollrates Impossible?



XyZspineZyX
08-19-2003, 06:25 AM
With all the discussion on Flight Modeling and Rollrates it occured to me that it may well be impossible to produce truly "accurate" characteristics of either one.
Aren't all of these influenced by your processor speed, memory, Operating system, video card, etc.???
If the FM is "fully accurate" on a Pentium 4 2.5Ghz pc, how much will it change when run on a faster machine? Or a slower one? Is the rollrate controlled by clockcycles or elapsed true time?
What happens when I get my (sometime in the future) Quad Pentium 8, 24Ghz, 3d holographic full color computer with 2 Terabytes of memory, and fully digital 30 terabyte "hard-drive" (hard drives will no longer be spinning disks, made up of banks of 512mb Compactdisk chips...)



jba

The difficulty of making something fool proof is that fools are so da** creative. /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

XyZspineZyX
08-19-2003, 06:25 AM
With all the discussion on Flight Modeling and Rollrates it occured to me that it may well be impossible to produce truly "accurate" characteristics of either one.
Aren't all of these influenced by your processor speed, memory, Operating system, video card, etc.???
If the FM is "fully accurate" on a Pentium 4 2.5Ghz pc, how much will it change when run on a faster machine? Or a slower one? Is the rollrate controlled by clockcycles or elapsed true time?
What happens when I get my (sometime in the future) Quad Pentium 8, 24Ghz, 3d holographic full color computer with 2 Terabytes of memory, and fully digital 30 terabyte "hard-drive" (hard drives will no longer be spinning disks, made up of banks of 512mb Compactdisk chips...)



jba

The difficulty of making something fool proof is that fools are so da** creative. /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

XyZspineZyX
08-19-2003, 07:07 AM
The game engine is limited by the windows clock, so whether you play on a fast machine or slow machine, the simulation rate will be the same. One machine can be doing 100 fps, and the other 5fps, but time will pass as the same rate on both machines. An incredibly slow CPU may cause errors to be made in the FM and DM calculations, but it will still try to compute the FM at the same rate. This is why, for example, you can get track erors by using time compression.

In the past, games were limited only by CPU speed, and it was possible for the game to run too fast or too slow, depending on PC. You can use a "speed hack" program to speed up, or slow down the windows clock, but for FB, that only works offline (the game is programmed to boot people using non standard clock speeds).

As far as roll rate, the accuracy is limited only by the information put into the engine. So a plane will have correct or incorrect roll rates depending on whether the corret values are entered in the first place. Using a supercomputer won't make the FM more realistic if it is programmed with the wrong values.

More processing power will allow the developers to use more complicated and precise calculations for the FM and DM, and could allow a more realistic game (if they spent the time to make it work). But again, if the wrong data is used, it will still be off, regardless of how complex the FM engine is.

Boy, I pray for the day that HDDs no longer have any moving parts in them.





http://www.smiliedb.de/s/sdb06894.gif http://www.smiliedb.de/s/sdb57471.gif http://www.smiliedb.de/s/sdb11726.gif http://www.smiliedb.de/s/sdb75733.gif http://www.smiliedb.de/s/sdb80477.gif http://www.smiliedb.de/s/sdb64472.gif http://www.smiliedb.de/s/sdb59442.gif http://www.smiliedb.de/s/sdb80347.gif http://www.smiliedb.de/s/sdb73057.gif http://www.smiliedb.de/s/sdb48642.gif