PDA

View Full Version : Logitech joystick owners, problem solved :)



Aero_Shodanjo
08-10-2004, 07:53 AM
I really had it with my Logitech joystick. As - perhaps - most of you know already, they made such awful products. (For all of you who owns Logitech joystick and never had any problems, consider this as a hint if anything goes wrong http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif)

So, after much frustration, last night I decided to disassembled it and trying to find where the problem is. At first I thought it was something about its electronic or grounding problem but then I noticed that the motion sensors were a bit loose. Look at the drawing for more explanation (sorry, no photo yet - i dont have any means of taking pictures digitally but I'll try to take some pics and scan them next time)

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v351/Aero_Shodanjo/JoystickBase.jpg

You're looking at the base of the stick where you'll find the ball joint with spring underneath it and two motion sensors. One on the left is for the pitching (up and down) and the one on the bottom is for the rolling (bank left and right). There are also cables (not pictured) from each sensors to the Integrated Circuit located nearby (not pictured also).

Look carefully at the "head" of each sensors. You will likely to find them a bit loose in their fitting. That looseness will cause the sensors not returning to their exact position after you move the stick around and some other calibrating problems too.

I fixed mine by attached two small wooden chips to each heads (a super glue - cyanoacrilate - should do it better) and then recalibrated it and the problems are gone. A quick fix ofcourse but it works.

Mine is a Logitech Attack 3 joystick but I do think that other types arent so much different.

Ok, that's all. Hope that helps.

http://img78.photobucket.com/albums/v351/Aero_Shodanjo/Sig/a86d9f37.jpg

Aero_Shodanjo
08-10-2004, 07:53 AM
I really had it with my Logitech joystick. As - perhaps - most of you know already, they made such awful products. (For all of you who owns Logitech joystick and never had any problems, consider this as a hint if anything goes wrong http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif)

So, after much frustration, last night I decided to disassembled it and trying to find where the problem is. At first I thought it was something about its electronic or grounding problem but then I noticed that the motion sensors were a bit loose. Look at the drawing for more explanation (sorry, no photo yet - i dont have any means of taking pictures digitally but I'll try to take some pics and scan them next time)

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v351/Aero_Shodanjo/JoystickBase.jpg

You're looking at the base of the stick where you'll find the ball joint with spring underneath it and two motion sensors. One on the left is for the pitching (up and down) and the one on the bottom is for the rolling (bank left and right). There are also cables (not pictured) from each sensors to the Integrated Circuit located nearby (not pictured also).

Look carefully at the "head" of each sensors. You will likely to find them a bit loose in their fitting. That looseness will cause the sensors not returning to their exact position after you move the stick around and some other calibrating problems too.

I fixed mine by attached two small wooden chips to each heads (a super glue - cyanoacrilate - should do it better) and then recalibrated it and the problems are gone. A quick fix ofcourse but it works.

Mine is a Logitech Attack 3 joystick but I do think that other types arent so much different.

Ok, that's all. Hope that helps.

http://img78.photobucket.com/albums/v351/Aero_Shodanjo/Sig/a86d9f37.jpg

JRJacobs
08-10-2004, 09:38 AM
not an LT man but thank-you for taking the time

"if you're a story teller and someone listens while you tell that story you're an artist..."
"If you're a story teller and no-one is listening while you tell that story you're schizophrenic..."
"It is well that war is so terrible, lest we grow too fond of it."
-- Robert E. Lee
www.virtualjake.com (http://www.virtualjake.com)
Virtual Movie Forum at http://www.blacksheepwebdesign.net/VirtualWarCinema/

http://jrjacobs.mystarband.net/images/squad%20logo.jpg

Jasko76
08-12-2004, 12:47 AM
I'll try that!

But I still think that the problem lies in software as well. Say I've got a screwed ip stick, no way to properly calibrate it (I do, actually!). If I unplug the stick from USB port and replugg it, everything is fine. I calibrate the stick and play for some 10 mins, and the problem returns. Nothing but a headache for us poor (stupid?) Logitech owners!

Regards,

Jasko
http://users.skynet.be/orbus/Images/husein_kapetan.jpg

Zmaj od Bosne

F19_Ob
08-12-2004, 02:31 AM
Well done http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

I have a logitech freedom 2.4 (cordless)
Thnx for the info. I guess the sensors are not too different in my stick and if they are loose or adjustable this may work...........
I dont dare do it quite yet though. It must act up a bit more before I try.( my mendingskills gives unexpected results)

If anyone else succeed, give us notice
Perhaps each Logicrap owner can send a tube of glue to Logitech so they can fix the sensors from start.
http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/icon_twisted.gif

nachwuchs
08-12-2004, 03:42 AM
Thanks for the info !!

I have an Attack 3 too and it can't move to the right while calibrating or slowly moves to the centre. So I've un-installed logitech software and use windows default.

It's better now but if the problem arises again I'll have to re-start a few times my PC and go into calibration, mostly more than once.

Now without logitech software there's no FF for my MOMO racing wheel.

Could it be un-compatible software ??

Aero_Shodanjo
08-12-2004, 06:17 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Jasko76:
I'll try that!

But I still think that the problem lies in software as well. Say I've got a screwed ip stick, no way to properly calibrate it (I do, actually!). If I unplug the stick from USB port and replugg it, everything is fine. I calibrate the stick and play for some 10 mins, and the problem returns. Nothing but a headache for us poor (stupid?) Logitech owners!

Regards,

JaskoZ<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Exactly what ive experienced. I thought it was software related too but even with Windows default calibration program, the problems were still there. So my guess is when you re-plug the joystick, windows detected its position as exact centering until you play for a few minutes later.

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by F19_Ob:
Perhaps each Logicrap owner can send a tube of glue to Logitech so they can fix the sensors from start.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Couldnt agree more. Anyone care to start a collection point? http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/784.gif http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/59.gif

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by nachwuchs:
Now without logitech software there's no FF for my MOMO racing wheel.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

If the problem is really about software compatibility, try using windows default for the joystick (disable the logitech game profile first) and use the profile only for the racing wheel.

I would like to hear some other opinions about this. I really want to know whether this quick fix solves the problems for other simmers or not. Frankly speaking, my Logicrap http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif still works perfectly after that fix.

S!

http://img78.photobucket.com/albums/v351/Aero_Shodanjo/Sig/a86d9f37.jpg

Red_Storm
08-12-2004, 06:30 AM
I have a Logitech Wingman Extreme Digital 3D (my third) and each had rudder problems. They don't calibrate correctly and rudder control is really eratic. Perhaps there's a rudder motion sensor on the wingman digital 3D that needs tightening too, to solve the problem? Anyone know?

---

Aero_Shodanjo
08-12-2004, 07:18 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Red_Storm:
I have a Logitech Wingman Extreme Digital 3D (my third) and each had rudder problems. They don't calibrate correctly and rudder control is really eratic. Perhaps there's a rudder motion sensor on the wingman digital 3D that needs tightening too, to solve the problem? Anyone know?

---<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

That type was actually my 1st stick. But I wasnt so patient at that time to find out the problem so I get rid of it. Now I feel so stupid http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/cry.gif

lol, anyway, the yaw (rudder) sensor is located inside the handgrip. Take caution if you're trying to disassemble that section cos it contains spring mechanism that can jumps out of its place if you're not careful. And if the sensor is ok (no need to tighten it), then the spring is more likely causing the troubles.

Speaking of it, I think I can open a service centre especially for Logistick joytech http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/mockface.gif. And if anyone of you who have some unused (supposedly broken http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif) Logisticks, and want to send it to me, feel free to do so... http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

http://img78.photobucket.com/albums/v351/Aero_Shodanjo/Sig/a86d9f37.jpg

F19_Ob
08-12-2004, 08:19 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Aero_Shodanjo:

lol, anyway, the yaw (rudder) sensor is located inside the handgrip. Take caution if you're trying to disassemble that section cos it contains spring mechanism that can jumps out of its place if you're not careful. And if the sensor is ok (no need to tighten it), then the spring is more likely causing the troubles.

<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


Good point, and my experience also with other twist sticks. It can be difficult place it back if there is other losose parts to that u have to keep in place at same time.
http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

Zeroneg1
08-15-2004, 12:05 AM
Hi had a Wingman Attack 3 joystick and I opened it like you did and also had the same
calibration problem and mine actually affected only the pitch axis and this happens when I am online playing !!! of course I get shot down because I do not have much maneuverability. I did look at the plastic little round actuators and checked out if they were loose or not. On mine it was not and it was fine. The problem really is that the logitech joystick just seems to become jerky and lose its calibartion after playing for awhile.

Now I got a Saitek X-45 and never looked back. I fly better now although I have not been able to fully play with it yet since I am out of town right now for 3 weeks now. Just I have not been able to test 2.04 that much with my X-45.

Save some money guys and get a better joystick its lik night and day for me...http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif I cannot believe I've had that logitech joystick for like a year!

diesel97
08-15-2004, 02:20 AM
Aero

I have a Wingman 3d digital - after taking out the baseplate screws, how do you get the damn thing off to get at the insides - anyone have a maintanance manual. I too have rudder problems.

Thanx

Aero_Shodanjo
08-15-2004, 06:28 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by diesel97:
Aero

I have a Wingman 3d digital - after taking out the baseplate screws, how do you get the damn thing off to get at the insides - anyone have a maintanance manual. I too have rudder problems.

Thanx<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

If the rudder is the only problem, you dont need to open the base. Its rudder sensor (actuator?) is located in the handgrip.

And, if Im not mistaken, you have to disassemble the handgrip anyway to open its base. After you open the handgrip, beneath its rubber cover and around the stick's axis is the throttle section. This section - again, if im not mistaken - is the reason why you cant open the baseplate so easily. Try to detach the throttle first.

Anyway, Im looking for some manuals. I'll post here if I find any.

http://img78.photobucket.com/albums/v351/Aero_Shodanjo/Sig/a86d9f37.jpg

diesel97
08-16-2004, 02:07 AM
Tks a lot Aero.

[]_---_[] KITT
08-16-2004, 04:11 AM
Bad news eh, i have a logitech extreme 3d pro. Does anyone have a good experience on this stick? Mine is okay right now cos i just bought it, new.

And what's the best joystick (long lasting)
1. below US$50
2. Between US$50-100

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v319/roh_kudus/Sig_Spit.gif
Me:"Do you see that pilot flying the Spitfire in the photo above?" [Brief pause] "That's not me"
Girl of my dream: "So you're the one taking the picture?" [Hopeful and interested]
Me:"Nooo, i'm the one who lent the camera" -God bless you all!

XyZspineZyX
08-16-2004, 08:38 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Red_Storm:
I have a Logitech Wingman Extreme Digital 3D (my third) and each had rudder problems. They don't calibrate correctly and rudder control is really eratic. Perhaps there's a rudder motion sensor on the wingman digital 3D that needs tightening too, to solve the problem? Anyone know?

---<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>



Yeah, pull the stick back just a touch and the rudder kicks left.


In game, (Hardware/ Input) stick sensitivities panel for YAW, set the first slider at 0. The game won't read the stick's glitch.