PDA

View Full Version : Is it time to assassinate Assassin's Creed?

king-hailz
01-06-2017, 09:45 PM
I agree. What about you guys?

https://youtu.be/wqq91-B1V3M

cawatrooper9
01-06-2017, 11:29 PM
I agree. What about you guys?

Nope ;)

JamesFaith007
01-07-2017, 12:04 AM
No.

Who wants to quit can go but why destroy fun to others?

Helforsite
01-07-2017, 12:17 AM
It's a very one-sided video and I disagree, because there is so much that AC still has to offer.

Farlander1991
01-07-2017, 12:59 AM
I won't go too in-depth (because that would require spending too much time), but here's what I can say about his points:

1. Regarding seeing the mechanics - that's inevitable the more time you spend with a game, as all games are sets of mechanics and eventually you figure them all out. He just hasn't spent as much time with Uncharted as he did with AC (even if he did replay Uncharted a bunch of times). Personally, as a game designer, I just automatically analyze the mechanics and game structure and everything, but it doesn't prevent me from being immersed or enjoying experiences that I like.

2. Core pillars - I've already talked about this in-depth in some other thread on Ubi AC forums, but in short - core pillars are a basic foundation of design and decision-making process. Each game and each franchise has those. It's not a blocker for innovation or whatever it's implied in the video.

3. Basis of the story - if you go into such simplifications, then you can call the basis of every Uncharted story 'uncovering an ancient mystery', basis of every GTA story 'committing crimes', and basis of every Star Wars story 'light side and dark side fight each other'. Yeah, there's Assassins and Templars in every game, but there's a lot that can be done in terms of what and how to tell. Heck, a bunch of AC games are an example of that, so...