PDA

View Full Version : dedicated Server behind Router



XyZspineZyX
11-05-2003, 12:56 PM
Which port do I need to foward in order to get it to work behind a router??? Need to host dedicted server /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

<center>http://www.gbg.bonet.se/bjorta/F19-Orheim-IDCard-sm.gif

<center>


http://www.gbg.bonet.se/bjorta/F19%20VS%20banner%20B.jpg (http://www.f19vs.tk)

</center>

XyZspineZyX
11-05-2003, 12:56 PM
Which port do I need to foward in order to get it to work behind a router??? Need to host dedicted server /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

<center>http://www.gbg.bonet.se/bjorta/F19-Orheim-IDCard-sm.gif

<center>


http://www.gbg.bonet.se/bjorta/F19%20VS%20banner%20B.jpg (http://www.f19vs.tk)

</center>

Hunter82
11-05-2003, 01:00 PM
21000

=======================================
Ubisoft IL2/Lock On Moderator
ATI Catalyst Driver Beta Tester
Hunter82 wrote:"I did not have technical relations with that question"
Mudmovers (http://www.mudmovers.com/) </center>
Catalyst Bug Reporting (http://apps.ati.com/driverfeedback/) </center>
=======================================

XyZspineZyX
11-05-2003, 01:13 PM
Hmm yeah it is open. I cant connect.. time out all the time. Maybe something in the INI files. I cant say that the Readme helped a lot.

Anyone?

<center>http://www.gbg.bonet.se/bjorta/F19-Orheim-IDCard-sm.gif

<center>


http://www.gbg.bonet.se/bjorta/F19%20VS%20banner%20B.jpg (http://www.f19vs.tk)

</center>

XyZspineZyX
11-05-2003, 01:16 PM
Make sure you've got it open for UDP...

It was the mistake I made /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

XyZspineZyX
11-05-2003, 01:27 PM
UDP?

ah ok.. hmmm i dont think that that is the prob

<center>http://www.gbg.bonet.se/bjorta/F19-Orheim-IDCard-sm.gif

<center>


http://www.gbg.bonet.se/bjorta/F19%20VS%20banner%20B.jpg (http://www.f19vs.tk)

</center>


Message Edited on 11/05/0301:36PM by F19_Orheim

XyZspineZyX
11-05-2003, 01:44 PM
Hmm...

I'm not sure of the differences between dedicated and just merely hosting, but I had to make sure that:

Firewall allowed UDP traffic across port 21000 in both directions, and that the router port forwarded all requests to the hosting machine (mine).

Questions that I can think of include...

Are you using HL from other PCs behind the router? You'll need to change some port numbers around within HL's config if you do.
Does the server have more than one network card? Again you have to specify which one to use.
Have you specified the internet IP address in the config file? If I remember correctly, you have to tell IL2 what it's IP will be to people connecting to you from the internet, otherwise it won't connect (something about detectip=0 I think).

This is all off the top of my head, and like I said, I don't run a dedicated box, I just host from behind a router.

Oh, and which router is it...you may be able to get more specialised advice or find someone who's done exactly what you're trying to do.

XyZspineZyX
11-05-2003, 01:48 PM
Behind a router you prob cant /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif
thanx a lot ubi (their fault)

read this

http://www.mudmovers.com/tech/conn.htm



hope it helps but fear the worst /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

<center> http://members.home.nl/lil.labbit/lilseesya.jpg
Night is better than Day</center>


Message Edited on 11/05/0301:49PM by lil_labbit

XyZspineZyX
11-05-2003, 02:04 PM
Dont know if this helps, but on my system the dedicated server will only connect to the internet ip if i first disconnect my LAN connection (pull the plug out). Otherwise the dedi server will only run on my internal network address.

I do not use a router though. I use a server connected directly to the internet via usb modem and Lan connection to another comp.

Porky

XyZspineZyX
11-05-2003, 04:17 PM
Are you trying to host your server on UBI?

If you are, I know of no way to host FB on UBi from behind a router. You can host via Direct IP or on Hyperlobby from behind a router if you forward port 21000 or DMZ (not recomneded) the internal IP of the computer you wish to be the host but UBI is a no go.

Until UBI ADMITS that there is a problem and resolves to fix it, then I don't know how to host on UBI using a NAT.

It is FB specific, because I can host GR on UBI with no problems on UBI.

TinMan

XyZspineZyX
11-05-2003, 05:58 PM
just restared the thing and VIOLA! no probs.. Thanx guys

<center>http://www.gbg.bonet.se/bjorta/F19-Orheim-IDCard-sm.gif

<center>


http://www.gbg.bonet.se/bjorta/F19%20VS%20banner%20B.jpg (http://www.f19vs.tk)

</center>

XyZspineZyX
11-05-2003, 06:00 PM
So can you host via UBI behind a router then?

:S

if you can, i'd like to know how so that i can host there

TinMan

XyZspineZyX
11-05-2003, 06:19 PM
Hi

I can get up and running through my router it's a linksys 4 port only problem is it timeouts after 40 minutes of none activity or when the last player leaves a game.
I had to setup forwarding on the linksys thats about it

I am on hyperlobby as bolt dedicated

Boltblue

XyZspineZyX
11-05-2003, 06:30 PM
rgr

Hyperlobby is not a problem, UBI is.

i can host on hyperlobby, and direct IP, just not on UBI.

XyZspineZyX
11-05-2003, 06:33 PM
UBI is the same

Boltblue

XyZspineZyX
11-05-2003, 06:41 PM
I use the IL-2 Server launcher it does show errors when loading but continues. the error is (timeout 3600000 f gc.cmd !!!!!)

XyZspineZyX
11-05-2003, 07:44 PM
rgr,

i bet you are running a 2000 machine. That error comes up on a 2000 machine, but the server still launches.

yet another issue UBI won't ackowledge

TinMan