PDA

View Full Version : More detailed Maps???



jason_peters
07-25-2004, 03:07 PM
Given that in the full mission editor you can add ground objects has anyone released more 'populated' maps as a start point for missions

Or

Are ther any missions out there with lots of additional ground objects?

---------------------------
AMD 64bit 3200; Rad 9800 Pro XT; 1 Gig Ram

jason_peters
07-25-2004, 03:07 PM
Given that in the full mission editor you can add ground objects has anyone released more 'populated' maps as a start point for missions

Or

Are ther any missions out there with lots of additional ground objects?

---------------------------
AMD 64bit 3200; Rad 9800 Pro XT; 1 Gig Ram

LEXX_Luthor
07-25-2004, 03:15 PM
Many place extra "airfield" object stuff at the airfields, and you can download them. Ask where, I make my own but with few objects. Or you can use FMB and place your own objects.


You are in need of more objects...

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>AMD 64bit 3200; Rad 9800 Pro XT; 1 Gig Ram<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


______________
"The American Browning .50 M2 is an undistinguished performer, particularly when compared with its closest competitor, the 12.7 mm Berezin. The relatively small incendiary content in the .50 API (0.9 g instead of 2 g) gives the Soviet round a flying start, which it adds to by its usefully higher rate of fire, then finishes off in style by being lighter as well, and thereby almost twice as efficient overall."
~~&gt; http://www.quarry.nildram.co.uk/WW2guneffect.htm
Tony Williams has been published many times and is a recognized authority on all forms of WWII weaponry, in particular the automatic weapons used by aircraft of that era. ~~ RAF74BuzzsawXO

plumps_
07-25-2004, 04:41 PM
Here's a picture of Tuapse harbour the way I modelled it in the FMB. Follow the link in my sig to download the mission.

http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/zzz-forum-tuapse2.jpg

-----------------------------------
http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/stulogo-banner.jpg (http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/)
My Missions (http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/missionen-en.html)

Dawg-of-death
07-25-2004, 10:45 PM
Nice work on missions. DL a couple of them.

Bad-MF(Mongrel Fighter) AKA .......Dawg-of-death

BS87
07-25-2004, 11:42 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by plumps_:
Here's a picture of Tuapse harbour the way I modelled it in the FMB. Follow the link in my sig to download the mission.

http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/zzz-forum-tuapse2.jpg

-----------------------------------
http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/
http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/missionen-en.html
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I can hear my video car melting already

plumps_
07-26-2004, 12:36 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by BS87:
I can hear my video car melting already<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
Ah no, that's the sound of the harbour cranes unloading the cargo ships.

Seriously, I developed this on a more than one year old P4, 2.6 GHz machine with 1 GB RAM and an ATI 9500 Pro video card. The frame rates will go down when you look at the harbour, but I think it's still acceptable. It won't affect the fights as these take place somewhere else.

-----------------------------------
http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/stulogo-banner.jpg (http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/)
My Missions (http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/missionen-en.html)

PF_Coastie
07-26-2004, 04:30 AM
The biggest bummer to me is that you can not destroy the objects added from FMB. They are invisible to bullets and you can shoot right through them!

PF_Coastie

Coasties Place (http://www.angelfire.com/ultra/coastie0/)

Coasties FB and ATI settings (http://www.angelfire.com/ultra/coastie0/IL2setup.html)
http://home.earthlink.net/~bmcoastie/images/FS_SIG.jpg
Click here to find out more about FIGHTER SWEEPS 2 (http://663blacktigers.net/FS2index.html)


OFFICIAL ATI BETA TESTER

jason_peters
07-26-2004, 06:20 AM
Plumps

Great Tuapse harbour - good work - I've D/l and will check it out tonight

PF_Coastie - I'm sure I hit stuff when I added it in - will chk again tonight.

Maybe we should start a project to populate each map with lots of additional objects and civilian traffic (as per Lockon). I will start to do this anyway as I like things to look nice on the way to the mission http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif Now if only the draw distance was better.......

---------------------------
AMD 64bit 3200; Rad 9800 Pro XT; 1 Gig Ram

TgD Thunderbolt56
07-26-2004, 07:04 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by PF_Coastie:
The biggest bummer to me is that you can not destroy the objects added from FMB. They are invisible to bullets and you can shoot right through them!

PF_Coastie
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


Agreed. Most modelers use the FMB productively by adding triggers inside some of the buildings, but to have a fully destructible 3D environment would be very nice (and make the job of map-builder more fun and interesting)

TB

http://www.greatergreen.com/il2

CraytonRoberts
07-26-2004, 09:51 AM
Re map(and scenery) detail: I wish FB was "open" to the scenery upgrades that you can add on to the stock Flight Sims of M$. Is there some type of copyright regs that won't allow similar upgrades to maps in FB?. However, we do have JustFlight which has added the BoE campaigns (and they are terrific) so it doesn't make a whole lot of sense. Similarly, I'd love to see an upgrade that would allow us to fly from GB to the continent! Bottom line, why are the FB maps so limited in range and detail, unlike the otherwise inept MSFS games?

UberDemon
07-26-2004, 02:34 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by plumps_:
Here's a picture of Tuapse harbour the way I modelled it in the FMB. Follow the link in my sig to download the mission.

http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/zzz-forum-tuapse2.jpg
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

_plumps

This is beautiful... Would you mind it if I included it in my software UQMG (freeware) for the Kuban template? Take a look at www.uberdemon.com (http://www.uberdemon.com)

Demon/UberDemon

plumps_
07-26-2004, 05:33 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by PF_Coastie:
The biggest bummer to me is that you can not destroy the objects added from FMB. They are invisible to bullets and you can shoot right through them!
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Generally that's not the case. I only noticed something like this once when I placed a large building on a runway and was able to taxi right through it. But on my Tuapse map it is possible to destroy buildings and make fuel tanks explode. FB just won't give you any points for doing this.

-----------------------------------
http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/stulogo-banner.jpg (http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/)
My Missions (http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/missionen-en.html)

plumps_
07-26-2004, 05:38 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by CraytonRoberts:
Re map(and scenery) detail: I wish FB was "open" to the scenery upgrades that you can add on to the stock Flight Sims of M$. Is there some type of copyright regs that won't allow similar upgrades to maps in FB?. However, we do have JustFlight which has added the BoE campaigns (and they are terrific) so it doesn't make a whole lot of sense. Similarly, I'd love to see an upgrade that would allow us to fly from GB to the continent! Bottom line, why are the FB maps so limited in range and detail, unlike the otherwise inept MSFS games?<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

The map making tool for FB is copyrighted by Ubisoft. Only staff of 1C:Maddox may use it. That's why even the maps for Justflight's Battle over Europe (Normandy + Ardennes) had to be supplied with one of the official FB patches.

Also it's only available in Russian language and was not designed to be used by outsiders.

-----------------------------------
http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/stulogo-banner.jpg (http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/)
My Missions (http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/missionen-en.html)

plumps_
07-26-2004, 05:42 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by UberDemon:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by plumps_:
Here's a picture of Tuapse harbour the way I modelled it in the FMB. Follow the link in my sig to download the mission.

http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/zzz-forum-tuapse2.jpg
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

_plumps

This is beautiful... Would you mind it if I included it in my software UQMG (freeware) for the Kuban template? Take a look at http://www.uberdemon.com

Demon/UberDemon<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Thanks, UberDemon. Of course I know UQMG. I will send you an email to answer your question!

-----------------------------------
http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/stulogo-banner.jpg (http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/)
My Missions (http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/missionen-en.html)

AdmiralWarlord
07-26-2004, 09:08 PM
Haha - I am not even going to bother downloading - My video card would commit harikiri. What I will say is you make EXCELLENT missions - keep working - we need more like that. I'll play once i get a good vid.