PDA

View Full Version : Are the Assassin's anarchists?

joshoolhorst
10-22-2016, 08:58 PM
I hear people compare them to that and I'm no expert on it so are they similar?

Sigma 1313
10-23-2016, 07:00 AM
Assassin's generally believe in freedom for all. From what we've seen, this is generally accomplished by fighting back against the authority. I think at the root of assassin ideology is a desire for true anarchy (no government), and only the wills of free men and women limiting people. Templars on the other hand recognize that humans are greedy, violent, and will do whatever it takes to rule. There are many Templars we've seen that seemed to wish for a completely fascist government, more controlling than Big Brother in 1984. That said, many other Templars like Haytham are the happy middle. Man is corruptible, we can't allow man to access the PoE, and must have a strong leader and government to help guide people. There were some Assassins who were honestly more authoritarian as well, such as Mirabeau in Unity, who was a member of the political elite. Other Assassins have very little care for the creed and ideology (a la Jacob, and partly Evie). I actually think communism is a beautiful simile for the Assassins. It promises and desires anarchy (no government) so that all can be equal and free, but in order to keep the people free and safe, a government must be put into place, which has in every practical application been authoritarian.

TL;DR it's a complex ideology that has many characters interpreting it in different ways, and twisting it to their benefit. In a perfect world it would be:
Assassin - Anarchist (no government)
Templar - Authoritarian (government controls everything)

Lysette88
10-23-2016, 12:22 PM