PDA

View Full Version : Mistake in Emil 109



XyZspineZyX
10-26-2003, 02:31 AM
Ive noticed that the 109E runs out of fuel way faster than it should, so I looked up info on the 109 E-4 and the range it had was 663 km (412 miles), and the 109E-4 in FB is 480 km. So this is a mistake, Ive looked up several websites that confirm it had range of 663 km. Also that the service ceiling of the E-4 was 36,000 ft. and in FB its 11,000. Mabey its a mistake on my part, or its an FB mistake, I will let you decide if it is. By the way, the skin of the E-4 needs an update it still has the old IL-2 look skin. Thanks for your time.


http://www.warbirdsresourcegroup.org/LRG/bf109e.html

http://www.bf109.com/frameset.html



http://pilotosdelaluftwaffe.tripod.com/avi/erichhartmannsabre.jpg
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
"Out of all of my accomplishments, Ive never lost a wing man"- Erich Hartmann
He fought for hes country, not for hes leaders.


Message Edited on 10/25/0306:31PM by Wetwilly87

XyZspineZyX
10-26-2003, 02:31 AM
Ive noticed that the 109E runs out of fuel way faster than it should, so I looked up info on the 109 E-4 and the range it had was 663 km (412 miles), and the 109E-4 in FB is 480 km. So this is a mistake, Ive looked up several websites that confirm it had range of 663 km. Also that the service ceiling of the E-4 was 36,000 ft. and in FB its 11,000. Mabey its a mistake on my part, or its an FB mistake, I will let you decide if it is. By the way, the skin of the E-4 needs an update it still has the old IL-2 look skin. Thanks for your time.


http://www.warbirdsresourcegroup.org/LRG/bf109e.html

http://www.bf109.com/frameset.html



http://pilotosdelaluftwaffe.tripod.com/avi/erichhartmannsabre.jpg
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
"Out of all of my accomplishments, Ive never lost a wing man"- Erich Hartmann
He fought for hes country, not for hes leaders.


Message Edited on 10/25/0306:31PM by Wetwilly87

XyZspineZyX
10-26-2003, 03:13 AM
Hello Wetwilly,

There's also a cockpit error in the E-4. Take a look at the port side of the instument panel. There's a diagnal canopy bar with a small window below it. If you look at the starboard side that window isn't there. However,if you go to an external view and look at the canopy,they are both visable. I'll post a screenshot later showing it. =S=

Semper Fi!! Carry On!! /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

Squirral aka Wolf_Fangs

<marquee>Wolf Pak Squadron</marquee>

<center>http://www.sanfords.net/DarK_Wolfs_free_demonic_graphics/wolf15.gif </center>

<center>The King Is Coming! Do You Feel The Fear?</center>

XyZspineZyX
10-26-2003, 04:15 AM
Hi willy

About the range you may be right, but about the ceiling you are very wrong.The service ceiling of the 109E was about 11,000 METERS which is about 36,000 FEET. Common mistake, happens to the best of us. 36000 meters is almost into orbit /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

S!
Cirx

http://www.triplane.net/remlink/misfits_cirx.JPG

XyZspineZyX
10-26-2003, 04:18 AM
My mistake, Im used to using feet than meters, and I forgot that in Russia they use awhole entire diffrent system than we do in America.

http://pilotosdelaluftwaffe.tripod.com/avi/erichhartmannsabre.jpg
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
"Out of all of my accomplishments, Ive never lost a wing man"- Erich Hartmann
He fought for hes country, not for hes leaders.

XyZspineZyX
10-26-2003, 04:23 AM
And the cockpit mistake. That litle window is there, it is just not in your field of view. Look carefully and you will see it. This concurs with my experiences in the E3 cockpit and my photo's and those of others of the E series. The 109 series cockpits in IL2 are amongst the most accurate in the game, some minor issues aside.

S!
Cirx

http://www.triplane.net/remlink/misfits_cirx.JPG

XyZspineZyX
10-26-2003, 05:35 AM
Cirx wrote:
- And the cockpit mistake. That litle window is there,
- it is just not in your field of view. Look carefully
- and you will see it. This concurs with my
- experiences in the E3 cockpit and my photo's and
- those of others of the E series. The 109 series
- cockpits in IL2 are amongst the most accurate in the
- game, some minor issues aside.
-
- S!
- Cirx

Hello Cirx,

Here's two screenshot's showing what I was talking about. The first screenshot is of the port side. The shot was taken from inside cockpit view. There's also a smaller screenshot taken from the external view showing the port side that you see in cockpit view. The second screenshot is of the starboard side. The shot was also taken from inside cockpit view. And there's also a smaller screenshot taken from the external view showing the starboard side that you see in cockpit view.

You can clearly see through the little window under the diagnal frame bar. You would be able to see an airplane if there was one down there. This window you can see in the external view.

Port Side
http://www.tazsdesignshop.com/wolf/E-4 Port Window.jpg

As you can see there's no small window under the diagnal frame bar. It's just black as if there was a piece of sheet metal placed there. No way to see an airplane down below on this side. External view show's the window.

Starboard Side
http://www.tazsdesignshop.com/wolf/E-4 Starboard Window.jpg

If I remember correctly in the original IL-2 Sturmovik you could see through the starboard window under the diagnal frame bar. I haven't played the original since I bought IL-2:FB though so I can't be totally sure. I'll look again though. You will also notice the model error in the lower corner in the starboard cockpit view shot. I hope they fix that. =S=

P.S. Yes I agree,Oleg and team have done an excellent job modelling the cockpit's for each aircraft.

Semper Fi!! Carry On!! /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

Squirral aka Wolf_Fangs

<marquee>Wolf Pak Squadron</marquee>

<center>http://www.sanfords.net/DarK_Wolfs_free_demonic_graphics/wolf15.gif </center>

<center>The King Is Coming! Do You Feel The Fear?</center>

XyZspineZyX
10-26-2003, 05:42 AM
Use the standard view instead of Shift-F1...your window is there, be sure.



Lixma,

Blitzpig.

XyZspineZyX
10-26-2003, 06:00 AM
Lixma wrote:
- Use the standard view instead of Shift-F1...your
- window is there, be sure.
-
- Lixma,

Hello Lixma,

Okay nevermind. /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif I completely forgot about the Shift+F1. I almost never use the standard view when flying. That window is pretty much useless anyhow. /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif But they still need to fix the model error in the bottom corner. /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif =S=




Semper Fi!! Carry On!! /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

Squirral aka Wolf_Fangs

<marquee>Wolf Pak Squadron</marquee>

<center>http://www.sanfords.net/DarK_Wolfs_free_demonic_graphics/wolf15.gif </center>

<center>The King Is Coming! Do You Feel The Fear?</center>

XyZspineZyX
10-26-2003, 07:05 PM
*BUMP*

http://pilotosdelaluftwaffe.tripod.com/avi/erichhartmannsabre.jpg
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
"Out of all of my accomplishments, Ive never lost a wing man"- Erich Hartmann
He fought for hes country, not for hes leaders.

XyZspineZyX
10-26-2003, 10:10 PM
Wetwilly87 wrote:
- My mistake, Im used to using feet than meters, and I
- forgot that in Russia they use awhole entire
- diffrent system than we do in America.
-

Not only in Russia, we use the decimal metrical system in the whole civilized world. But I suppose this leaves anglo-saxon countries out, so fond of their rustic medieval measures! /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

- Dux Corvan -



http://www.theinformationminister.com/press.php?ID=612322300

</span></blockquote></font></td></tr>

XyZspineZyX
10-26-2003, 10:46 PM
Dux made the comment I wasa bout to post
Damn you are fast! /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

http://rumandmonkey.com/widgets/tests/damned/reincarnation.jpg (http://rumandmonkey.com/widgets/tests/damned/)
Are you damned? (http://rumandmonkey.com/widgets/tests/damned/)
<

XyZspineZyX
10-26-2003, 11:23 PM
Not all Anglo-Saxon countries are still using the "rustic medieval measures".

On a side note, are you saying Anglo-Saxon countries are not civilized?/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif I can think of a few contries using the metric system that are definately not "civilized".


DuxCorvan wrote:

-
- Not only in Russia, we use the decimal metrical
- system in the whole civilized world. But I suppose
- this leaves anglo-saxon countries out, so fond of
- their rustic medieval measures!


http://www.thundercycle.com/photos/dropdead2.gif



"Only a dead 'chamber pot' is a good 'chamber pot'!"

XyZspineZyX
10-27-2003, 01:09 AM
Here goes the Imperial VS Metric debate. Keep in mind that Canada, Australia, New Zealand, and a lesser extent England are metric. That covers a pretty significat amount of that anglo saxon stuff mentioned above.

Its only the US that is really hanging onto the older system http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

It still confuses me however...I'm used to dealing in KPH but I still judge altitude in feet so when I see that I'm at 5000 meters I have no idea where I am. But I'll get over it http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

http://freespace.volitionwatch.com/icefire/icefire_tempest.jpg
"Never in the field of human conflict was so much owed by so many to so few." - Winston Churchill

XyZspineZyX
10-27-2003, 03:21 AM
thing about metric/imprial
whoo go speelin /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif
metric is easier and better for most things
but imperial is better for manly/meaty things
mph, torque
/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif @ remmbering that thingy blasting into mars 3x too fast cos americans using feet, brits using metric

XyZspineZyX
10-27-2003, 07:50 PM
Think a little:

1) A meter is the 1/10000000 the length of the Earth meridian that goes through Paris.

2) A kilometer has 1000 meters. A decimeter is exactly 1/10 of a meter.

3) A litre is a cubic decimeter, this is, 1000 cubic centimeters.

4) A litre weighs exactly 1 kp. and has an exact mass of 1 kg., this is, 1000 grames.

5) To rise 1 ºC degree the temperature of 1 grame (this is 1 c.c.) of water, you need an energy of 1 cal.

6) To boil a litre of water you have to rise its temperature to 100º C, and to freeze it, to low it to 0º C.

Now, translate this into miles, yards, feet, inches, gallons, pounds and Fahrenheit degrees, and you'll see what I'm talking about. /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

What a mess! Please, US youngsters, don't hold too much on tradition... or you'll never pass Physics. /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif


- Dux Corvan -



http://www.theinformationminister.com/press.php?ID=612322300

</span></blockquote></font></td></tr>

Message Edited on 10/27/0306:51PM by DuxCorvan

XyZspineZyX
10-28-2003, 04:14 AM
hey, if you think your measurements are so great, look into the real determination of those measurements you listed and you'll find that the metric definitions are as "easy" to work with as english units - they are only easier for doing calculations.

*One second is the time taken by 9 192 631 770 oscillations of the light of a specified wavelength emitted by a cesium-133 atom

*The meter is the length of the path traveled by light in a vacuum during a time interval of 1/299 792 458 of a second


the si units are better for doing calculations, but outside of that, there are similar approximations to the ones you suggested that make the use of english units justified. My preference is for SI units.

*Physics majors have no friends

XyZspineZyX
10-28-2003, 05:03 AM
Oooh I hate calories. Engineers use Jules. I do prefer the si system when doing work, but since I live in the US I need to know how to use both. What I dont like is thee whole Jules, calories, newton-meter, system of energy, why is there 3 different ones in the si system? Both system has their own stupid quirks.

"Ich bin ein Wuergerwhiner"

"The future battle on the ground will be preceded by battle in the air. This will determine which of the contestants has to suffer operational and tactical disadvantages and be forced throughout the battle into adoption compromise solutions." --Erwin Rommel

http://lbhskier37.freeservers.com/Mesig.jpg
--NJG26_Killa--