PDA

View Full Version : ATI problem



XyZspineZyX
07-17-2003, 03:05 AM
Originally posted on 07/17/03 12:22AM (server time: GMT 0)

The lighting effects are not working right with my 9700 pro. During the training portion, there was a bright white bar on both sides of Sam when looking up. There are also (light) window projections on the first mission, just started game. Using the 1.2b patch. Tried with effects on high and low and change resolution, but to no evail. Any help appretiated.

XyZspineZyX
07-17-2003, 03:05 AM
Originally posted on 07/17/03 12:22AM (server time: GMT 0)

The lighting effects are not working right with my 9700 pro. During the training portion, there was a bright white bar on both sides of Sam when looking up. There are also (light) window projections on the first mission, just started game. Using the 1.2b patch. Tried with effects on high and low and change resolution, but to no evail. Any help appretiated.

XyZspineZyX
07-17-2003, 04:13 AM
I had the same problem with my Radeon 9700 Pro. So did my friend,who was using a GeForce 4 MX. I don't know what the deal is,but the only way I found to correct it was go into the ATI Control Panel (desktop ->properties->display properties->advanced) and go to the Direct 3D tab. Here, you will want to tick the box next to Anti Aliasing (aka,turn AA completely off). yeah,the game looks like bad,but if you up the resolution 1152x864, it looks decent,even without AA. Hope I could help.

XyZspineZyX
07-17-2003, 07:37 AM
Yeah, you can't use AA on this game unless you run it in 1280x1024 resolution. It also runs faster on that resolution. Give it a try.

My system:

AMD XP 2400+ @ 2.13 Ghz
1 gig of Corsair DDR PC2700 RAM @333Mhz
Radeon 9800 Pro video w/TV out core @434, mem @720
Windows XP SP 1
Microsoft Directx 9.0a
Antec TruePower TrueBlue True480 PSU
16x Antec DVD drive
24x10x40 Plexwriter CD-RW
1 Westerndigital 40 gig harddrive, master
1 Westerndigital 100 gig hdd, slave
XFX KT400 ALH Via mainboard, 4-in-1 4.48

Additional PC version help:

http://scmod.splintercellsource.com

XyZspineZyX
07-19-2003, 05:14 AM
I was running in 1280x1024, still had effect. Also there in 1600x1200. Turned AA to app and that fixed the problem, but I hate not being able to use the card at full potential. I hate to see the jaggies. Does anyone know if Ubi or Ati will have a fix for this problem???
Thanks

XyZspineZyX
07-19-2003, 05:36 AM
Ubi can't fix this problem. It is a bug that is in the programming. It should be fixed in Pandora Tomorrow. I think it's the luck of the draw, because on my desktop, I can run AA. But, some ppl can't no matter what. Even at 1600, you shouldn't have very many jaggies anyway.

My system:

AMD XP 2400+ @ 2.13 Ghz
1 gig of Corsair DDR PC2700 RAM @333Mhz
Radeon 9800 Pro video w/TV out core @434, mem @720
Windows XP SP 1
Microsoft Directx 9.0a
Antec TruePower TrueBlue True480 PSU
16x Antec DVD drive
24x10x40 Plexwriter CD-RW
1 Westerndigital 40 gig harddrive, master
1 Westerndigital 100 gig hdd, slave
XFX KT400 ALH Via mainboard, 4-in-1 4.48

Additional PC version help:

http://scmod.splintercellsource.com