PDA

View Full Version : A Post for the Noobs. -ADVICE- Experianced flyers please add to this.

XyZspineZyX
10-06-2003, 02:46 PM
Hey fellas,

Now I make no Impressions of being a brilliant pilot, but I feel I might be Above average. I thought it would be good to have a post, that possibly the Mods could make "Sticky" so that Newbies can get some advice for flying fighters in IL-2 FB.

I started playing online recently, and did not do all that well, untill I read the quote I am about to give, I'm still not a triple ace, but I feel my Kill/Death ratio has changed dramatically. I find I am more often spinning in than being shot down, or tearing the wings off in Dives (Damn LaGG's /i/smilies/16x16_robot-very-happy.gif and people dare complain about hurricanes!)

Anyway, these "Ten Rules for Air Fighting" were developed by Squadron Leader, later Group Captain Adolf "Sailor" Malan. A south African serving in the RAF durning the Battle of Britain, he issued these to his Squadron members, and they eventually circulated through fighter command.

1. Wait untill you see the Whites of his eyes. Fire Short bursts of one or two seconds, and only when your sights are definatly 'ON'.

2. Whilst Shooting, think of nothing else, brace the whole of your body and have both hands on the stick, consentrate on your ring sight.

3. Always keep a sharp lookout. 'Keep your finger out!'

4. Height gives YOU the initative.

5. Always turn to face an attack.

6. Make your Decisions proptly. It is better to act quickly even though your tactics are not the best.

7. Never fly straight and level for more than 30 seconds in the combat area.

8. When Diving to attack the enemy, always leave a proportion of your formation above to act as top Gaurd.

9.'Inititive', 'Aggression', 'Air Dicipline' and 'Teamwork' are all words that 'Mean' something in air fighting.

10. Go in quickly - Punch Hard- Get out.