PDA

View Full Version : apparent bug with careers in v1.21



XyZspineZyX
12-08-2003, 12:59 PM
First of all, I have rarely experienced a more perfect and stable running game before. Up until the v1.21 update I had not a single crash or bug, now there seems to be a little compatibility problem:

When I applied the update 1.21 to FB 1.11 I had a few careers saved from the previous version and now they don't seem to work anymore. For example:

I-16 Leningrad August
CAP with 6 I-16's. I'm listed as the third plane.
When I start the mission, all I see is an endless water surface. I have no mouse control of the view. SHIFT+F2 brings up the friendlies on the runway. All I-16's take off without me doing anything.

I tried this mission before in v1.11 and it ran without trouble. Is this a known bug and is it fixable? Or has no one had problems with this in the 1.21 update?

XyZspineZyX
12-08-2003, 12:59 PM
First of all, I have rarely experienced a more perfect and stable running game before. Up until the v1.21 update I had not a single crash or bug, now there seems to be a little compatibility problem:

When I applied the update 1.21 to FB 1.11 I had a few careers saved from the previous version and now they don't seem to work anymore. For example:

I-16 Leningrad August
CAP with 6 I-16's. I'm listed as the third plane.
When I start the mission, all I see is an endless water surface. I have no mouse control of the view. SHIFT+F2 brings up the friendlies on the runway. All I-16's take off without me doing anything.

I tried this mission before in v1.11 and it ran without trouble. Is this a known bug and is it fixable? Or has no one had problems with this in the 1.21 update?

XyZspineZyX
12-08-2003, 01:06 PM
Usually with new patches old campaign saves and old recorded tracks are messed up and cannot be used anymore.

XyZspineZyX
12-08-2003, 01:15 PM
It should work. I never had a problem, but maybe you should do a complete fresh install but first save your campaign files. Reinstalled FB outta the box, then 1.21 on top. Pop back the files of your campaign.




"Tis better to work towards an Impossible Good, rather than a Possible Evil."

SeaFireLIV.
(Spitfire Whiner Member).

XyZspineZyX
12-08-2003, 02:56 PM
Ennosigaios, I had the same problem. When I opened the "problem mission" up in the full mission builder, I found that the aircraft to which I should have been assigned did not have the "player" flag set. I set the flag (you put a tick mark in the "player" box of the aircraft you should fly), saved the mission and the mission worked fine and from there the campaign continued normally. Try this, or if you don't understand what I mean, let me know and I will try to explain it in a bit more detail. Don't re-install just yet...

Regards,
Oryx

BTW, it is interesting that my campaign was also for the I-16, although it was Smolensk, and I was assigned to the second aircraft in the second flight of three. The problem may be specific to the I-16.

XyZspineZyX
12-08-2003, 04:31 PM
The only problem i had with my campaigns & 1.21 was when i finished my German Fighter North campaign it just ended, No final tally for the Berlin map & on the campaign select screen it didnt say 100% finished.

"An attack against a unit of Flying Fortresses was something like controlled suicide...Sometimes 50, Sometimes 80 machine guns were firing at you... You attempted to close your eyes & continue to fire, Frightened to death, Frightened to death."

Oberst Johannes Steinhoff (176 kills)

XyZspineZyX
12-10-2003, 11:50 AM
Thanks Oryx,

I'll try that first.
By the way, I don't consider it normal for patches to affect savegames.

XyZspineZyX
12-10-2003, 03:26 PM
Hi Enosigaios. I agree with you that this potential problem seems to have been overlooked, but the fix is quite minor and easy to do. Please post here if it worked for you.

Regards,
Oryx

XyZspineZyX
12-10-2003, 03:50 PM
Hi,

Interesting reading here when missions saved don,t work again.I encounter ennoying stuttering in D generated missions and in saved campaigns( Smolensk 300 missions). Missions do work but stutters everywhere.On the other hand when I make a mission in FMB stuttering is minimal but is there time to time.Anyone had the same or solution.

XyZspineZyX
12-11-2003, 08:42 PM
My pilot's career did not work with the RC beta, only water with reversed horizon. It now works with 1.21 and is flyable at "excellent" settings (thank you). Only problem encountered was mission I flew from Smolensk... mission was group leader and I and was un eventful until our I 16s were jumped by by two 109s while we were on final approach. Leader did nothing.. I shot down one and the escorting Mig3 got the other. I was pleased.... until the debriefing. Leader was credited with the kill, not me.

I have not flown another mission as yet (been busy learning the mission builder) so I do not know if the character reversal is permanent.

Perhaps I will check in the individual campaign files.... might be interesting to see whats in there anyway.

Cheers