PDA

View Full Version : Is Darius the Main Character of Empire?

Sigma 1313
04-11-2016, 11:20 PM
Hello everyone, I'm a long time lurker, first time poster. I've been playing AC since 2008 when I got my 360, and have been speculating where the games will go since the end of Brotherhood. Even though there's no game this year, I've been thinking a lot about the possibility of Empire in 2017. Based on the rumor, we'll be seeing a game set before the crusades, set in Egypt with a possible future game set in Greece and Rome. If that rumor is true, then I believe I figured out a possible time and location just based on history.

In 525 BC the Persian EMPIRE took over Egypt. After the Battle of Marathon in 490BCE (the Greeks won), the Egyptians revolted from the rule over the Empire. They failed. They tried again in 484BCE and in 460BCE. They were only able to break loose in 404BC.

Xerxes 1 ruled the Persian Empire from 486 to 465 when he was assassinated and usurped by Artabanus. In Assassin's Creed Lore Darius uses the Hidden Blade for the first time to assassinate Xerxes. It would make sense that Artabanus was a friend of Darius and used the murder as a way to gain power and do whatever he wished to aid the Assassins before he died in 464BCE.

By 460BCE, the Egyptians are revolting again under the Egyptian Leader Inaros. At the same time, Rome's slaves revolt, which is eventually quelled by the arrival of an army from Tusculum.

All we know about Darius is that he assassinated Xerxes with the first hidden blade. I think it is perfectly possible for him to have been a slave in Egypt and he eventually rebels by joining the Assassins and attempting to emancipate Egypt from Persia. Upon his failure, he travels to Greece and assassinates Xerxes. After his death, Darius goes to Rome to find the vault and aids in the revolt, finds the vault, or apple and transports it to Cyprus, or something like that. So a basic timeline of this story-arc would be something like: