PDA

View Full Version : Need to get rid of unlimited fuel



il2rookie
09-02-2004, 06:49 AM
Hi, I am playing a dynamic campaign and it seems some option somewhere makes my fuel unlimited. The fuel gauge always stays at full, and even when both of my fuel tanks are busted, I still can fly forever. My realism settings are all set to real-life except for plane markers, so I assume there's an option somewhere to set fuel to limited/unlimited. Anybody knows what's the trick here?

il2rookie
09-02-2004, 06:49 AM
Hi, I am playing a dynamic campaign and it seems some option somewhere makes my fuel unlimited. The fuel gauge always stays at full, and even when both of my fuel tanks are busted, I still can fly forever. My realism settings are all set to real-life except for plane markers, so I assume there's an option somewhere to set fuel to limited/unlimited. Anybody knows what's the trick here?

VW-IceFire
09-02-2004, 06:52 AM
Sure you're looking at the right guage?

Which plane are you flying?

http://home.cogeco.ca/~cczerneda/sigs/tmv-sig1.jpg
RAF No 92 Squadron
"Either fight or die"

il2rookie
09-02-2004, 06:57 AM
Several planes, Mig-3, Yak-1, Lagg-3, etc. There's a gauge in Yak-1 that says "litres," and it's the only gauge that resembles fuel indicator. I once got my fuel tank shot twice, and I kept flying to see if I run out of fuel, and I never did.

lil_labbit
09-02-2004, 07:06 AM
I don't know if you can change settings during dynamic campaign, but unlimited fuel is set before starting any game under "Difficulty"... - on the second page http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Also you must realize that if a fuel gauge is at 100% - that does NOT mean you have a full tank!
Fuel gauges do not allways work that way... several just show the last 100 litre of fuel (and then only in the main tank)...

http://members.home.nl/lil.labbit/lilseesya.jpg
Question: Did you back-up your files?
Answer: I didn't know they had a reverse...

GerritJ9
09-02-2004, 07:07 AM
Check your settings to see if "limited fuel" isn't switched off. If the petrol tank gets holed, sooner or later you WILl run out, regardless of what you are flying.

Tully__
09-02-2004, 09:18 AM
Check difficulty settings, if you have it set up as you describe "Limited Fuel" will be switched on.

When looking at the fuel guages you need to be aware that in this game they are calibrated in most aircraft to only read up to 300 litres. As some aircraft carry more than 700 litres it can be a very long time before the fuel guage begins to move down when you start with full tanks.

=================================================


http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/sig.jpg

Tully's X-45 profile (SST drivers) (http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/fb.zip)

Salut
Tully

El Turo
09-02-2004, 09:48 AM
Hey, why don't you check the difficulty settings for the "unlimited fuel" switch!

http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

Callsign "Turo" in IL2:FB & WWIIOL
______________________
This place
was once
a place
of worship
I thought,
reloading my rifle.

~V.

Wallstein
09-02-2004, 03:08 PM
NOTICE THIS: in addition what lil_labbit said, you have to set all of the realism settings BEFORE STARTING the campaigne. During the campaigne YOU CAN NOT fix them. So, they are what they are as you had set them before you started the campaigne.

Xnomad
09-02-2004, 03:35 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by il2rookie:
Several planes, Mig-3, Yak-1, Lagg-3, etc. There's a gauge in Yak-1 that says "litres," and it's the only gauge that resembles fuel indicator. I once got my fuel tank shot twice, and I kept flying to see if I run out of fuel, and I never did.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I rarely fly these planes but as far as I remember the Yak 1 doesn't have a fuel gauge, and several other Russian planes don't have one either.

http://server6.uploadit.org/files/Xnomad-Sig.jpg

WTE_Galway
09-02-2004, 05:30 PM
well not entirely true

the yaks had fuel gauges in the top of the tanks set into the wing visible form the cockpit

these are not modelled in IL2

it could be claimed that IL2 is correct to ignore them as apparently they rarely worked properly and were often painted over with cammo under the assumption that no gauge at all was better than a misleading one

LEXX_Luthor
09-02-2004, 08:04 PM
Many fuel guages don't show a drop until they get below a certain point. You can experiment in FMB or QMB by setting fuel to something like 10%. Then you can see if your fuel guage is working...and see how long you can fly by the cockpit clock if your plane has one.

__________________
http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/10.gif Flyable Swedish "Gladiator" listed as J8A ...in Aces Expansion Pack ( AEP )

"You will still have FB , you will lose nothing" ~WUAF_Badsight
"I had actually pre ordered CFS3 and I couldnt wait..." ~Bearcat99
"Gladiator and Falco, elegant weapons of a more civilized age" ~ElAurens
:
"Damn.....Where you did read about Spitfire made from a wood?
Close this book forever and don't open anymore!" ~Oleg_Maddox http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif

TacticalYak3
09-03-2004, 10:15 AM
Agree about there may not being a fuel gauge for those early war Yaks modelled in the game. Been a while since flying Eastern Front planes (or so it seems), but almost certain no fuel guage is available in the Yak-1B for instance. Find a cockpit reference for those planes and double-check if you haven't set the campaign with unlimited fuel.

Regards

___________________________________________

"My Luftwaffe is invincible . . . And so now we turn to England. How long will this one last - two, three weeks?" (Hermann Goring, June 1940)

:FI:TacticalS!

il2rookie
09-04-2004, 06:12 AM
Thanks for the answers guys. My campaign settings were all set to realism except for markers, so the limited fuel option was turned on. It's true that Yak-1 doesn't have a fuel gauge, but I'm pretty sure Mig-3 does. And it always shows full. The test I did was when I got hit twice in the fuel tank and kept flying for quiet a long time, the fuel never ran out. Anyway, I guess it would eventually run out after a couple hours or something.