PDA

View Full Version : Ghost Harbours



teltalker20012000
06-10-2004, 09:54 AM
You all know it, fighting a battle for several days far away from home, coming back with a totally damaged boat, and than.....? Comming back into a harbour without any kind of traffic (ships, houses, cars, people). For what the hell are we fighting for if nobody at home ist waiting for us ?
Hopefully SHIII will bring dynamic harbours into the game....what do you think, captain ?

teltalker20012000
06-10-2004, 09:54 AM
You all know it, fighting a battle for several days far away from home, coming back with a totally damaged boat, and than.....? Comming back into a harbour without any kind of traffic (ships, houses, cars, people). For what the hell are we fighting for if nobody at home ist waiting for us ?
Hopefully SHIII will bring dynamic harbours into the game....what do you think, captain ?

bausbis
06-10-2004, 10:30 AM
well most probaly there wont even be any harbours (only in departure cutscenes) some people even think there might not be a coastline either . but offcourse only the development team knows. maybe its about time now we can get some of the development team to post here to awnser questions like these?

RedTerex
06-10-2004, 10:39 AM
I can only envisage that most if not all of the programming for SH3 will be on the actual 'sub at sea' side of things.
Valuable memory will be saved by having cut scenes for the harbour departure and arrival.

Even though this may seam a trite boring dont forget that in the original Silent Hunter a cut scene was utilised for this and I actually thought it was quite good at the time.

I dont think that harbour scenes equate to a big enough issue in a sub sim as it is just aesthetical appeal and rather too cosmetic.

If it IS included teltalker20012000 then I wont mind but I doubt it very much.

regards

RedTerex

Egan2.0
06-10-2004, 10:54 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by RedTerex:
I can only envisage that most if not all of the programming for SH3 will be on the actual 'sub at sea' side of things.
Valuable memory will be saved by having cut scenes for the harbour departure and arrival.

Even though this may seam a trite boring dont forget that in the original Silent Hunter a cut scene was utilised for this and I actually thought it was quite good at the time.

RedTerex<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

The operative words there are 'At the time' http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif It was cool ten years ago but surely we have a right to expect more? I'd say they were pretty imprtant if they were trying to simulate a living breathing world but i doubt this is the dev overriding concern (not to slight them in any way.)

Like AOD please. Cut scenes in and out of harbour and control of boat in real time to and from patrol area.

If they are going to give us cut scenes for this there had better be tonnage pennants flapping on that Peri!! http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

To be honest i don't think I would be overly upset if we couldn't control the boat right into the pen even though i would like to see it. I will be very annoyed if there is no coast line, though..... http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_mad.gif

jagtigermk2
06-10-2004, 11:02 AM
We need 3d harbours and coastlines, in flight sims do they leave the ground out, no.

Egan2.0
06-10-2004, 11:07 AM
I would like to go on record right now by saying I don't believe for a second they would leave out coastlines......surely, surely not. I just can't see why they would. For one thing it would drastically cut the amount of mission making opportunites available to the community. For another, it would suck. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

bausbis
06-10-2004, 11:30 AM
well if we do get cutscenes for leaving harbour they should make sure its not allways the same .for example when you drive a type II and then you get a type VIIC i would be pretty wierd if you have a cutscene with a type II . but thats only an example . a better one might be when you conning tower took damage you should see it in the cutscene when returning to the pens . i wonder how they are gonna do that!
or what about different home ports? no port looks exacly the same like in sh2! and if you ask me it would me much more easy just to let us drive her into the pens without a cutscene

teltalker20012000
06-10-2004, 11:31 AM
What is a boat without a harbour ? A wale ? A fish ? Believe me guys, if they want to create the greatest subsim ever without a harbour or landscape (whats about diving in shallow water ?) it will just become a (very very good but)50% simulation. By the way, one of the hardest maneuver for a captain is to stop a 60% damaged boat at the landing stage (is it more difficult than to land a plane ? We will never know if we dont have the possibility to try !!!)

bausbis
06-10-2004, 11:37 AM
also , if we get cutscenes for ports and stuff we wont be able to sneak into a enemy port? and if we are able to sneak into the enemys ports and do have cutscenes for departure/home comming would it not be less complicated for them to just make our home base in real 3-d then to have a cutscene for it? you see many thing were unknown about sh3 and now with all the trailers a lot of things are known (and god its sexy) but one of the few remaing big questions here is the one about the harbours and coastlines . i really hope they shed some light on this soon.

RedTerex
06-11-2004, 12:12 AM
It appears that coastlines and harbours is now a big issue almost on par with the Dynamic Campaign issues.

Consequently I would like to request from the Dev Team that we have a posative answer for this so that we can rest this argument/debate/speculation once and for all.

Ulitmate 21st century state of the art programming to create the ' perfect ' SubSim must surely include all of these realisms.
If not, then may I remind you of an old Navy saying:
"dont spare the decks for aypunce worth of tar"

(aypunce btw is old English pronunciation for 8 pence )

regards.

RedTerex

TASKFORCE1x1
06-11-2004, 12:20 AM
I want everything that reality has to offer now. If the game can give us also mines, sub nets, docking at sea and land capability I would be extremely happy. Would be nice if we could custom paint our Uboats with our own paint scheme if we wish. That would be great for internet multiplayer. We could then design our own insignias and Uboat #'s. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

Kapitan_Nereus
06-11-2004, 02:51 AM
Well, if the cutscenes are used they must be done VERY well so they don't blow you out into reality http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

What of in game cutscenes?
rather than pre-rendered ones (which i reckon you're all thinking of) have them inside the game engine (like, ah, GTA3's)
it won't change the "look" just give a cinematic picture of your U-Boat (complete with damage and tonnage pennants http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif) coming into a fully 3d harbour with civilian character models waving, a band playing, navy officers saluting etc. etc. etc.
With the awesome visuals and the obviously large amount of effort that has gone into creating those visuals, the idea of the devs missing out the harbours and coastlines just... well, defies logic http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/53.gif

as for the custom insignia: after a mod to include the swaztica that will be next http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif
but if its included, all the better... http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

"The Hunt is on..."

teltalker20012000
06-11-2004, 06:10 AM
Latest news from the Poll "Dynamic Harbours", which has been posted yesterday:
93% would like to have a dynamic harbour, which is not surprising.

BUT: only 20 captains did post yet, whats about the other captains ? Please vote at "Dynamic Harbours" posted on 10th of june by teltalker20012000. Let me say, it is important, because maybe it is the last chance to get harbours and landscape placed into the game !!!

jagtigermk2
06-11-2004, 09:04 AM
I think the other captains are lost at sea and they cant find any coastlines and harbours. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/59.gif

teltalker20012000
06-17-2004, 09:22 AM
...I thougt there would be more captains interested in dynamic harbours and landscapes, O.K. !
What I saw in the trailor is 1000 times better than SH II, but again, without harbours it is not a full simulation.

jagtigermk2
06-17-2004, 10:59 AM
I want to be escorted in and out of harbour by the R√¬§umbootes.
http://www.berndluedicke.de/Volksmarine/Schiffstypen/Die_1__Boote/MLR-02.JPG

TheAirMarshal
06-17-2004, 02:54 PM
How can they not include harbours or coastlines?

I hope the harbours are simulated down to the degree where we can watch the torpedoes being loaded and the diesel going in. Hopefully (later in the war) there should be a risk of an allied airstrike or two.

teltalker20012000
06-21-2004, 11:46 AM
...any other simulation has graphics which are needed to do so. I think UBI will install it...
http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/88.gif

TASKFORCE1x1
06-21-2004, 08:24 PM
If we can run aground theres got to be a coastline. I just hope there is coral. It shouldnt be too much to program and it wont be memory intensive. SHII never pre-cashed the AA gun,torpedo,map,damage control,radio,control room and helm screens. (although they should of when the game first loaded to prevent a slight pause between screen selections for the first time.) When we get within a certain grid then the shore should be visable and so also our memory shall fill. If we never get near shore the shore models like buildings,trees,military autos, shore battery, port will never be in memory so we dont have to worry for graphic system lag. It will be ok if its programmed so the game loads in chunks rather than everything during the initial load of the game. SHIII is a whole new gaming engine much different from SHII so their approach to efficency should be much better. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

Keep on Smiling'

teltalker20012000
06-24-2004, 06:36 AM
I think it musnt be that much detailed, but I agree, coastlines are really necessary, as well as a harbour.... http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

jeroen-79
06-29-2004, 10:03 AM
Memory shouldn't be that critical.

By the time you reach port you wouldn't have merchants and escorts around to use memory.

Just draw a circle around the base, outside the base is simple and lifeless, inside the base comes to life to welcome another brave U-boat hero.

I'd like to coastlines too.
Model the general shape in 3D and add some landmarks. (lighthouses, beacons)

teltalker20012000
07-07-2004, 12:10 PM
WARSCHAU...I am happy to say, the answers to the FAQ shows, that they are thinking about harbours, and thats not bad. Maybe you can decide, if you want to enter a port manually, or automatically. I like thishttp://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/11.gif.....hopefully it will come.
Another thing is to attack ships in enemy harbours, which should be an option to choose. Nobody said a word about that.....
But I am hopeful now. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/88.gif

Torpedotreffer
07-13-2004, 06:39 AM
If you did follow the chat, it has been mentioned that there will be harbours and coastlines, some detailed, some not so detailed. But I did not hear anything about manoevering the boat into the harbour.

Let us see and wait... http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-indifferent.gif