PDA

View Full Version : Assassin's Creed: Unity - Illogical Prologue

qmagnet
01-24-2016, 06:35 PM
Hello people.
I am new here but I wanted to discuss some logic issues with the Assassin's Creed saga. I just started playing Unity, after finishing Rogue. Yes, I'm a bit behind, but the price of new games is too much for me. Regardless, this post will contain a minor insignificant spoiler - it happens withing a 15 minutes of the game.

So if you're a long time AC fan, such as myself, you understand the Animus, and how it uses ancestor DNA to replicate genetic memories. This is means for someone's experience to be played through, that ancestor would have to pass that memory along to his/her offspring.

In the opening prologue of Unity, we play a Templar, who begins chasing an Assassin to recover a stolen book. MINOR SPOILER Well, the Templar ends up catching the Assassin and gets the book back. Shortly after, the Assassin kills the Templar (kills you).

How is this possible? If the Animus/Helix uses ancestor memories, how could you see a memory of death? Either the Templar has no kid, which means there would be no memory, or the kid was already born and the kid would not have that memory because the kid's DNA was established at conception.

Now I haven't played much of the game yet, but I assume this Templar isn't mentioned again. One possible theory I came up with is that this Templar didn't die, but got knocked unconscious. But I'm not sure what kind of the crappy Assassin this would have to be to not kill a Templar with such an easy opportunity. Another theory is that this is just a past experience outside the Animus, but the following scene with Bishop clearly shows you were in the Animus.

I wrote a blog about it with a bit more detail here:
http://negativepositivegamer.blogspot.ca/2016/01/assassins-creed-unity-genetic-memory.html

What do you think? Am I missing something here? Will it make sense later on?
What are your thoughts and theories?

Farlander1991