PDA

View Full Version : AAA looks like a game killer



Pentallion
08-27-2004, 05:57 PM
From the screen shot I saw today, I'd say AAA from ships will be such a hit on frame rates that it will be impossible to simulate attacking a carrier task force. If just one ship is putting up all those tracers, then even a portion of a task force would lock up an online game.

http://www.simops.com/249th/sigs/Wildcard.jpg

Pentallion
08-27-2004, 05:57 PM
From the screen shot I saw today, I'd say AAA from ships will be such a hit on frame rates that it will be impossible to simulate attacking a carrier task force. If just one ship is putting up all those tracers, then even a portion of a task force would lock up an online game.

http://www.simops.com/249th/sigs/Wildcard.jpg

oddglob
08-28-2004, 07:42 AM
I would agree, unless there is some significant coding breakthrough in PF. I did read here a few months back that they were working on improving the AA fire performance hit, but I think the improvements would need to be quite significant.

Even in FB, I'm currently spending some time going through the "base" dynamic campaign mission files and toning down the AA (either removing some of it or replacing it with more frame rate friendly equivalents).

I was flying a mission last night when things really slowed down. When I looked at the mission file, I noticed there was a lot of AA from ground vehicles, and that isn't nearly as bad as what we are going to get in PF with those ships.

All thing considered, I am quite certain PF will need a very beefy machine, despite the vast expanses of water. Although I've been told there won't be any worries, I don't believe it myself. I'll still be buying it the day it comes out, more out of curiosity than anything else. Then it can sit on the shelf until I build my next computer. That way I will enjoy it a lot more.

VW-IceFire
08-28-2004, 07:50 AM
In FB at present, some AAA types are worse than others. The Whirblewind is absolutely terrible for lag inducement while a 20mm or 25mm emplacement causes very little hit.

I too worry about ships and their lag creation but hopefully they have worked things out a bit.

http://home.cogeco.ca/~cczerneda/sigs/tmv-sig1.jpg
RAF No 92 Squadron
"Either fight or die"

Chuck_Older
08-28-2004, 09:52 AM
Please bear in mind that:

Screenshots are almost always a work in progress
Screenshots tend to show "wow" type shots that are meant to impress, not indicate actual gameplay
Not everyone plays online, so many players don't give a hoot about connection lag

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v441/Chuck_Older/BBB3.jpg
Killers in America work seven days a week~
Clash

BPLIzard
08-28-2004, 10:03 AM
I really hope that they'll improve the netcode in PF. Basing on the performance hit of AAA and palm trees in AEP, that would be a total bummer considering that AEP only has one Pacific map. What more if you all the maps have this model of vegetation?


BLITZPIGS (http://www.blitzpigs.com)

fordfan25
08-28-2004, 12:41 PM
yes iv found the palm trees kill fps to.

VF-11 Vadger
08-28-2004, 01:34 PM
Time to upgrade guys

Visit us at http://www.VF-11.com
http://www.highalpharc.com/COD/cod2.jpg

arcadeace
08-28-2004, 01:47 PM
I don't plan on playing perfect. Also when in the middle of the ocean on excellent settings its not nearly as resource hungry as many land scenarios.

If you plan on playing perfect... http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_eek.gif

Da11en47
08-28-2004, 03:09 PM
How about getting rid of the stupid smoke trails that follow AA. That would get rid of the lag.

Maj_Death
08-28-2004, 04:41 PM
No, that wouldn't get rid of any lag, that would increase FPS.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Spelling mistakes left in intentionally to annoy tttiger.

Maj_Death here, I/JG1_Death at HL

I build COOPs and DF maps. If you would like some of them you can get them atmy COOP page (http://www14.brinkster.com/triggerhappy770/default.htm)

I/JG1 Oesau is recruiting axis pilots who prefer to fly maximum realism. We accept both veterans and rookies. We fly in VEF2, VWF and may join other online wars in the future. I am currently the acting CO, if you are interested in joining please PM me here or page me in HL.
http://www.bestanimations.com/Humans/Skulls/Skull-06.gif

LEXX_Luthor
08-28-2004, 08:17 PM
Are we sure that cleaning up AA grafix will increase FPS? http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/52.gif

What causes FPS hits is cpu calculating the path of each AA shell.

Test it by setting up "red" ships and "blue" planes at opposite side of map from Player Plane, and when AA flies your FPS flops but you don't see the AA 100km away.

__________________
http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/10.gif Flyable Swedish "Gladiator" listed as J8A ...in Aces Expansion Pack ( AEP )

"You will still have FB , you will lose nothing" ~WUAF_Badsight
"I had actually pre ordered CFS3 and I couldnt wait..." ~Bearcat99
"Gladiator and Falco, elegant weapons of a more civilized age" ~ElAurens
:
"Damn.....Where you did read about Spitfire made from a wood?
Close this book forever and don't open anymore!" ~Oleg_Maddox http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif

arcadeace
08-28-2004, 09:35 PM
I don't know about FB but I do remember with CFS2 with its open source, making more visible and longer lasting flak caused a huge frame rate hit.

oddglob
08-28-2004, 10:01 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by LEXX_Luthor:
Are we sure that cleaning up AA grafix will increase FPS? http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/52.gif

What causes FPS hits is cpu calculating the path of each AA shell.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Yes, I'm sure. The computer is also spending time calculating what it is doing with the silly smoke trails and the graphics card is waisting bandwidth displaying them.