PDA

View Full Version : how to reduce forcefeedback effects for guns firing?



Saburo_0
05-01-2004, 05:45 PM
I notice with FFB on th 1.92mm guns on the 1940 Mig 3 cause an incredible jump-up motion even if i just tap on them. if i hold them down then it kin of moves back down to the original target, but its really bad. The 12.7 mm nose gun causes no problems.
I want to reduce gun effects but still be able to feel the onset of stalls.
I'm using an old big base Logitech Wingman Force stick BTW
Any help would be great!
Thanks!

Saburo_0
05-01-2004, 05:45 PM
I notice with FFB on th 1.92mm guns on the 1940 Mig 3 cause an incredible jump-up motion even if i just tap on them. if i hold them down then it kin of moves back down to the original target, but its really bad. The 12.7 mm nose gun causes no problems.
I want to reduce gun effects but still be able to feel the onset of stalls.
I'm using an old big base Logitech Wingman Force stick BTW
Any help would be great!
Thanks!

GustavG
05-01-2004, 06:16 PM
I used a free program called "force edit" to alter the amount of force for different guns and so on.
I kept some of the original "forces" but changed guns and cannons. You'll find the files under forcefeedback in the FB-game folder.

Bearcat99
05-01-2004, 07:07 PM
I dont use the gun forces in this sim... I never have in any sim in fact.. too much shaking for me. If you turn off FFB in the FB input menu and maximize the forces in the sidewinder software you will get the max control info but no gun forces at all.

<UL TYPE=SQUARE>http://www.jodavidsmeyer.com/combat/bookstore/tuskegeebondposter.jpg (http://tuskegeeairmen.org/airmen/who.html)[/list]<UL TYPE=SQUARE>vflyer@comcast.net [/list]<UL TYPE=SQUARE>99thPursuit Squadron IL2 Forgotten Battles (http://www.geocities.com/rt_bearcat)[/list]
UDQMG (http://www.uberdemon.com/index2.html) | HYPERLOBBY (http://hyperfighter.jinak.cz/) | IL2 Manager (http://www.checksix-fr.com/bibliotheque/detail_fichier.php?ID=1353) | MUDMOVERS (http://www.mudmovers.com/)

Diablo310th
05-02-2004, 08:11 AM
Great idea Bearcat...I never knew that. I'll test it out today and see how I like it. I hated the jumping all around while firing guns. Maybe I can hit the broadside of a barn now at least untill the .50 cal. dispersion gets fixed.

http://img54.photobucket.com/albums/v166/310thDiablo/Diablos20Sig.jpg

lindyman
05-02-2004, 10:39 AM
If you want to feel buffeting and similar, but get rid of the gun shaking, there's a crude and simple way:

Open the IL-2 folder. There you'll find a ForceFeedback folder. If you open it, you'll find a bunch of .ffe files. Rename the machinegun.ffe and autocannon.ffe files to something else and you're done.
_
/Bjorn.

Saburo_0
05-02-2004, 11:04 AM
Thank you very much gentlemen!

I think I'll trylindymans suggestion,since that seems the easiest.
when i turned off FFB I couldn't flya t all, It's much more difficult without that buffeting effect as you aproach the stall!

Gotta say FFB is really worth having.

blairgowrie
05-02-2004, 01:00 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by lindyman:
If you want to feel buffeting and similar, but get rid of the gun shaking, there's a crude and simple way:

Open the IL-2 folder. There you'll find a ForceFeedback folder. If you open it, you'll find a bunch of .ffe files. Rename the machinegun.ffe and autocannon.ffe files to something else and you're done.
_
/Bjorn.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

That doesn't seem to work for me. I even cut and pasted the autocannon ff file out of FB. Firing cannon still makes my FFSB2 stick jump off my desk.

http://img14.photobucket.com/albums/v41/blairgowrie/FBWebpage.jpg

blairgowrie
05-02-2004, 01:04 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Bearcat99:
I dont use the gun forces in this sim... I never have in any sim in fact.. too much shaking for me. If you turn off FFB in the FB input menu and maximize the forces in the sidewinder software you will get the max control info but no gun forces at all.

http://tuskegeeairmen.org/airmen/who.html_vflyer@comcast.net_ http://www.geocities.com/rt_bearcat
http://www.uberdemon.com/index2.html | http://hyperfighter.jinak.cz/ | http://www.checksix-fr.com/bibliotheque/detail_fichier.php?ID=1353 | http://www.mudmovers.com/<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


How do you maximize forces Bearcat? Move all the sliders for Pitch, Roll, Yaw up to 100?

http://img14.photobucket.com/albums/v41/blairgowrie/FBWebpage.jpg

WereSnowleopard
05-02-2004, 03:20 PM
I prefer leave forcefeed on since it will alert me when I am in near stalling

TAGERT.
05-02-2004, 03:22 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by GustavG:
I used a free program called "force edit" to alter the amount of force for different guns and so on.
I kept some of the original "forces" but changed guns and cannons. You'll find the files under forcefeedback in the FB-game folder.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>Got Link?

http://www.geocities.com/grantsenn/kickme.jpg
TAGERT

blairgowrie
05-03-2004, 06:06 AM
Tagert. You can get Force Editor or Fedit as it is also called here:
http://yaim.host.sk/

If you or anybody else can figure out how it works, please let us know. It has a well written Help Menu which I have read several times but it is beyond me how you adjust the joystick forces.

http://img14.photobucket.com/albums/v41/blairgowrie/FBWebpage.jpg

lindyman
05-03-2004, 06:21 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by blairgowrie:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by lindyman:
If you want to feel buffeting and similar, but get rid of the gun shaking, there's a crude and simple way:

Open the IL-2 folder. There you'll find a ForceFeedback folder. If you open it, you'll find a bunch of .ffe files. Rename the machinegun.ffe and autocannon.ffe files to something else and you're done.
_
/Bjorn.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

That doesn't seem to work for me. I even cut and pasted the autocannon ff file out of FB. Firing cannon still makes my FFSB2 stick jump off my desk.

http://img14.photobucket.com/albums/v41/blairgowrie/FBWebpage.jpg <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Ah... yes, you're right about the cannon. Um, I'm at work now, so I can't check, but I'm sure there's one file named "mortar.ffe". That could be the one. Try them one by one until you find it.
_
/Bjorn.

blairgowrie
05-03-2004, 07:54 AM
Thanks lindyman.I have played around with all of the force feedback files and find that if I rename the "shake" file to shakeold, the shake effect of firing cannon is greatly reduced. It is still there but doesn't yank the gunsight off the target. Just a slight tremor when cannon is fired. All other joystick forces still seem to be there. There is no limpness in the stick movement. I certainly can live with this.

While I was mucking around with change, I may have accidently stumbled on how the Force Editor software works. I may play around with it this afternoon to see what it will do.

http://img14.photobucket.com/albums/v41/blairgowrie/FBWebpage.jpg

TAGERT.
05-03-2004, 08:00 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by blairgowrie:
Tagert. You can get Force Editor or Fedit as it is also called here:
http://yaim.host.sk/

If you or anybody else can figure out how it works, please let us know. It has a well written Help Menu which I have read several times but it is beyond me how you adjust the joystick forces.

http://img14.photobucket.com/albums/v41/blairgowrie/FBWebpage.jpg <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>Thank You! Ill give it a look and let you know what I find out.. but I wont be able to mess with it until this weekend.. thanks again!

http://www.geocities.com/grantsenn/kickme.jpg
TAGERT

blairgowrie
05-03-2004, 04:09 PM
My attempts to change force feedback levels by means of Fedit were not successful. I was able to open the FF files with the software, select the joystick and change the effects on the FF file. I then saved the changes but when I went back in to the files to check on the changes, the settings had reverted back to the original settings.

Hopefully someone can let us know what I am doing wrong. Renaming the shake file is better than it was before but I suspect it will also take the shake out of pre-stall etc. It would be better to modify only the cannon force feedback.

http://img14.photobucket.com/albums/v41/blairgowrie/FBWebpage.jpg

OkieDude
05-04-2004, 05:47 PM
I think this is a bug.

Shake.ffe is used to simulate stall warning shakes as well as cannon fire. I've tested this several times. Changing or removing Shake.ffe affects BOTH the force feedback felt for stalls AND cannon fire.

Does this mean that autocannon.ffe is unused? Not sure yet, haven't tested enough. But if so, there's your bug. Implemented shake.ffe instead of autocannon.ffe when firing cannons.