PDA

View Full Version : Some Question to those using realistic settings from a newbie

AsSlowAsItGets
01-29-2004, 02:04 PM
Hi,
Im fairly new to this game and it easily is the best combat sim I have ever used, I like using realistic settings as one gets more out of it when they dont die, however im having trouble in a few areas and if anyone could answer some of the following questions or let me know where I will find the answers to them that would be cool.

1. when taking off how are you certain when its your turn to take off as one I believe cant see when the plane in front has taken off, all external views of course are turned off. Is it the second time the leader anounces the vector and height orders? if so then it comes rather late. Several times I have started off only to smash into the plane still in front of me I could not see.

2. some russian models seem to have the compass view blocked by some device just below the gunsight, it looks like a leaver or something, I cant work out what it is or how to get access to the compass, anyone know what im missing? not being able to view your compass on realistic mode is rather fatal.

If in a flight you loose sight of your fellow pilots, is there any obvious way of finding them again? a few times once a mission has been completed I have failed to find the rest of the guys due to dogfighting ect...and have had to make my own way back, this is not fatal of course but im guessing its a bit unrealistic? maybe in the real world if you lost sight and cant find them with the eye then tough?

One other matter that is puzzling me which maybe I have missed out on in the manual is why the leader is anoucing heights and vectors and then does not seem to follow them, for example he might say vector 300 height 3 meaning 3000 I assume and then he sticks at 1500 or something. one can always switch on the autopilot of course but then whats the point in playing if one is going to do that.