PDA

View Full Version : +++Processer Question+++



All.American.
12-25-2003, 07:33 AM

All.American.
12-25-2003, 07:33 AM

tsisqua
12-25-2003, 08:35 AM
Intel P4 3.06 Front Side Bus: 800
AMD64 3200+, no FSB, Data is moved at 1.6 GIGS!

I have this processor, and I am telling you that, at the moment, it kicks the Pentium's a$$. The unreal part of this is that I won't see what it really can do until the 64bit software is out.

http://www.uploadit.org/files/010903-nedChristie.jpg
Tsalagi Asgaya Equa

All.American.
12-25-2003, 09:44 AM
what kind of RAM do you use with that setup?

http://imageshack.us/files/380th%20siggy.jpg

Cajun76
12-25-2003, 11:01 AM
AMD 3200+ 64 (http://www.amd.com/us-en/Processors/ProductInformation/0,,30_118_9485_9487%5E9493,00.html)

Here's some info on the AMD 3200+ 64

I like mine, too.

Motherboard: MSI K8T NEO-FIS2R K8T800
Proccessor: Athlon 64 3200+ w/400FSB
CPU Cooling: Thermaltake AMD K8 Venus 7+
RAM: GeIL Golden Dragon 1GB
PC3200 400MHz Dual
Channel DDR
Video Card: OC Systems 9700Pro Level III w/ 128Mb (415/730MHz)
CD Drives: Sony 16X DVD 40X CD-ROM
Sony DVD+RW/-RW 4x (8x32x24x10x4)
Hardrives: Western Digital 80Gb 7200rpm w/ 8Mb cache
Western Digital 120Gb 7200rpm w/ 8Mb cache
Case: Lian-Li PC-60 Aluminum Mid-Tower Case
Power Supply: Thermaltake W0011 Dual Fan 480W
Moniter: 19" Samsung flat CRT
HOTAS: (for FB) TM Top Gun Afterburner
TM Cougar (stock, but soon to upgrade)


I almost went with comparable Corsair memory, PC 3200 DDR, but it was a bit more expensive with no real, solid boost in CAS latency settings. Your milege may vary.... http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Good hunting,
Cajun76

"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it."
-Aristotle

Meanwhile, in the 20th century:

BOOM! Yeah, Alright you primitive screwheads, listen up. See this? This is my JUG!! It's has 8 .50cals and 2000lbs+ worth of bombs and rockets. Republic's top of the line. You can find this in the Kick A$$ department. That's right, this sweet baby was made in Farmingdale, Long Island and Evansville, Indiana. Retails for about $82,997.95. It's got a turbo-supercharger, all metal control surfaces with blunt nosed ailerons, and a hair trigger. That's right, shop right, shop Republic. YOU GOT THAT!? Now I swear, the next one of you primates, E-ven TOUCHES me..... - Anonymous http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Cajun76
12-25-2003, 11:03 AM
PS- You can find the GeIL Golden Dragon at www.ocsystems.com (http://www.ocsystems.com)

Good hunting,
Cajun76

"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it."
-Aristotle

Meanwhile, in the 20th century:

BOOM! Yeah, Alright you primitive screwheads, listen up. See this? This is my JUG!! It's has 8 .50cals and 2000lbs+ worth of bombs and rockets. Republic's top of the line. You can find this in the Kick A$$ department. That's right, this sweet baby was made in Farmingdale, Long Island and Evansville, Indiana. Retails for about $82,997.95. It's got a turbo-supercharger, all metal control surfaces with blunt nosed ailerons, and a hair trigger. That's right, shop right, shop Republic. YOU GOT THAT!? Now I swear, the next one of you primates, E-ven TOUCHES me..... - Anonymous http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

LeadSpitter_
12-25-2003, 11:41 AM
Any tech knows the p4 is superior in speed, the new amds are very close and alot lower in price, with the fastest ram and great ati 9800 256k they can run very close. but the p4 3.2 decked out is significantly faster but more $$$

check tomshardwareguide for accurate test results

http://www.geocities.com/leadspittersig/LSIG.txt
VIEW MY PAINTSCHEMES HERE (http://www.il2skins.com/?planeidfilter=all&planefamilyfilter=all&screenshotfilter=allskins&countryidfilter=all&authoridfilter=%3ALeadspitter%3A&historicalidfilter=all&Submit=+++Apply+filters++&action=list&ts=1072257400)

tsisqua
12-25-2003, 12:46 PM
With reference to ram, the AMD64 will not tolerate less than perfect ram. If you have a set of "matched"sticks, they must be correctly matched. If you think that you are ok because you have Corsair, or some other well respected memory, you need to have a look at this thread over at the AMD site. This guy had alot of people test their ram, and guess what . . . I'll let you look for yourself. The RAM manufacturers have been getting away with this for quite some time, but won't anymore. 32 bit processors have been letting this slide, but 64bit will not.
http://forums.amd.com/index.php?showtopic=3413

Now, before you take anyone's word, go here for benchmarks:
http://www.tomshardware.com/cpu/20030923/

http://www.uploadit.org/files/010903-nedChristie.jpg
Tsalagi Asgaya Equa

1.JaVA_Razer
12-25-2003, 12:59 PM
All of this depends on budget dude. At this point,P4. Because a new socket for the AMD's'll be released in a few months and THEN 64' 'll be interesting to buy but for now,don't.
And for the RAM isseu.
Go with corsair or something like that and make sure you have dual channel motherboard and you get lets say 2*512MB of RAM in dualchannel this'll give you one hell of a performance

All.American.
12-25-2003, 04:27 PM
i have not heard anything about the ram problem. im still undecided

http://imageshack.us/files/380th%20siggy.jpg

tsisqua
12-25-2003, 04:47 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by All.American.:
i have not heard anything about the ram problem. im still undecided

http://imageshack.us/files/380th%20siggy.jpg <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I hadn't either. The people that I got my machine from put a gig of ram in it, and it tested good with their diag tools. It wasn't. They sent another stick, and I could show you the final analysis because I have it in writing, but they never arrived at this until I sent my new toy back to Dayton to let THEM figure it out. It said "The stick of DIMM that we sent you (to replace the bad stick) was bad." They had to go through at least FIVE sticks of ram before they found two good ones. If you read the entire thread over at AMD, then you will see that even the Corsair is failing Microsoft's memory test. In almost every case people have one good stick and one bad.

The only reason that I mention this is that it is a problem that doesn't seem to show up with most systems. I think that Cajun is very lucky with the Geil Golden Dragon, and I am definitely going to have a look at this company. I am more than satisfied with my AMD64, but if I had known that we were being ripped of by memory makers, and that it was going to cause me a problem, it would have absolutely influenced my decision the purchase the AMD, and I thought that you should know about it.

Good Luck, and Happy Holidays,

Tsisqua

http://www.uploadit.org/files/010903-nedChristie.jpg
Tsalagi Asgaya Equa

essemm
12-25-2003, 04:50 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by LeadSpitter_:
Any tech knows the p4 is superior in speed, <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I am a tech, and I disagree. I have been running all of the benchmarking for work as we are debating switching to 64 bit, and the 64 bit is faster in all applications than ANY comparable Intel except the Extreme Edition.

Plus, I have run the 64 bit with a 64 bit OS, and it SMOKES! WAY faster than anything Intel puts out..especially their 64 bit stuff.

AMD gets my vote...as well as my company's.

http://server3.uploadit.org/files/141103-warloch_small.jpg

All.American.
12-25-2003, 04:53 PM
hotdamn thanks for your reply, might i ask what company you work for?

http://imageshack.us/files/380th%20siggy.jpg

tsisqua
12-25-2003, 05:12 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by essemm:
I have run the 64 bit with a 64 bit OS, and it SMOKES! WAY faster than anything Intel puts out..especially their 64 bit stuff.

AMD gets my vote...as well as my company's.

<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Oh, man! I want to see this so bad. Did you run it with the Linux 64, or the Microsoft beta? I can't wait till I have a 64 bit OS, even though I know it will be more money outta my pocket.

http://www.uploadit.org/files/010903-nedChristie.jpg
Tsalagi Asgaya Equa

essemm
12-25-2003, 06:14 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by All.American.:
hotdamn thanks for your reply, might i ask what company you work for?

http://imageshack.us/files/380th%20siggy.jpg <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

My pleasure dude. If it's ok with you, I would rather not say who I work for. It's in Canada anyways.

Tsisqua: I was using SUSE Linux Enterprise Server 9, which was built with AMD 64 in mind. It was amazing. I feel I should be up front and mention that I tested Opterons, not the Athlon 64s, but they are VERY similar in architecture, and exactly the same in implementation.

I know what my next upgrade will be. I am interested to see how well Windows 64 runs on the Athlon 64.

http://server3.uploadit.org/files/141103-warloch_small.jpg

All.American.
12-25-2003, 06:17 PM
no problem about your company man, i think im going to go with the athlon 64 3200+ w/ a shuttle Nforce 3 board

http://imageshack.us/files/380th%20siggy.jpg

Menthol_moose
12-25-2003, 06:21 PM
save a heap of cash on the AMD and sink it into other things like more ram or a better video card.

essemm
12-25-2003, 06:30 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by All.American.:
no problem about your company man, i think im going to go with the athlon 64 3200+ w/ a shuttle Nforce 3 board

http://imageshack.us/files/380th%20siggy.jpg <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Excellent choice. Just a heads-up: I don't know if you play LOMAC, but if you do, there are some major issues of playing LOMAC online with NForce chipset-based boards. If you don't play LOMAC online though...no problem.

The 3200 chip is awesome. You will not be disappointed. I am POSITIVE that I will be buying one this year (after I manage to put the fire on my VISA out...Christmas).

Best of luck!

http://server3.uploadit.org/files/141103-warloch_small.jpg

All.American.
12-25-2003, 07:00 PM
haha roger of the visa, i do play lomac online, what is the problem with lomac and Nforce boards?

http://imageshack.us/files/380th%20siggy.jpg

Cajun76
12-26-2003, 06:27 AM
Tsisqua, thanks for the heads up on matched sets, and the link to the utility. I tested the first stick with every single test the program could throw at it, at the most indepth, cache deprived settings. 5 hours later http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_eek.gif it told me it was error free. The next one I didn't have the patience for 5 hours, but I set everything to default and did the #3 expanded test, it was good too.

GeIL Golden Dragon has a lifetime warranty. They are $230 at OC Systems, for 1 GiG of PC 3200 400MHz DDR. I've had no problems with my setup, besides needing to upgrade the builder/operator of the system. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_razz.gif

Good hunting,
Cajun76

"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it."
-Aristotle

Meanwhile, in the 20th century:

BOOM! Yeah, Alright you primitive screwheads, listen up. See this? This is my JUG!! It's has 8 .50cals and 2000lbs+ worth of bombs and rockets. Republic's top of the line. You can find this in the Kick A$$ department. That's right, this sweet baby was made in Farmingdale, Long Island and Evansville, Indiana. Retails for about $82,997.95. It's got a turbo-supercharger, all metal control surfaces with blunt nosed ailerons, and a hair trigger. That's right, shop right, shop Republic. YOU GOT THAT!? Now I swear, the next one of you primates, E-ven TOUCHES me..... - Anonymous http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

NerdConnected
12-26-2003, 06:47 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by All.American.:
Being its Christmas and everything i am going to upgrade my PC but i cant decide what i want to do Should i go with AMD Athlon 64 3000+ or a Pentium 4 3.06 ghz Processor? also DDR SDRAM recmondations would be nice.

thanks and merry X-mas

http://imageshack.us/files/380th%20siggy.jpg <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I say: go with amd64. Even Intel, which stated they will go 32-bits for 5 more years or so (?) , ridiculed AMD's AMD-64 and lauched their Vapor EE, has now X86-64 extensions built in into their next cpu (Register) so x86-64 is not such a bad path.

In addition to the 64 bit mode, a nice bonus is the PowerNow! feature which will lower your power consumption and cooling needs dramatically. Moreover, Windows 64 is on the way....

If you want to have a board/cpu that's still competive for the next one and a halt year or so, go with AMD64. FX is pretty pricey, but the 3200+ is a very good processor.

My 1 cent.

tsisqua
12-26-2003, 08:17 AM
Cajun, I am very pleased that your RAM passed the test, and I have bookmarked the Golden Dragon site. Apparently there IS someone that cares about quality control out there, and I will get rid of this stock RAM as soon as the $$$ becomes available. Even though it is lower-end ram, (I don't even want to say its name LOL) they at least have two sticks in there that pass the tests now . . . I would love to know how many sticks that THEY had to go through before they found two good ones. LOL

Tsisqua

http://www.uploadit.org/files/010903-nedChristie.jpg
Tsalagi Asgaya Equa