PDA

View Full Version : [Uplay] Start with Windows minimized feature



UTAVATU
11-07-2015, 12:45 PM
Dear Ubisoft

I would like you to add new feature, which is very known in the IT world, I mean I would like to have an option to choose, if my Uplay client will autostart with Windows, but as minimized icon to system tray. At the moment there is no such feature and of course there is a solution to start Uplay client with Windows, but it launches always as a visible window or even maximized.

There are other clients such as Steam and Origin, where I can choose to start with Windows and automaticaly it's loaded to system tray as 99% of softwares on the market. If you don't want to add such feature, then please reply, which argument should I add to .exe file, to launch it minimized for example:


Steam.exe -silent
Origin.exe /StartClientMinimized

...will launch that clients minimized to system tray.

Any chance to add such simple feature? You already have feature close to system tray, so I think there should be no problem with start with Windows minimized to system tray.

I would be glad for your help and support.

Thank you in advance.

Sincerely

Ubi-Kay
11-07-2015, 04:16 PM
Hey, indeed this would be nice to have. Thanks for the suggestion.

UTAVATU
11-07-2015, 04:35 PM
Dear Ubi-Kay


Hey, indeed this would be nice to have. Thanks for the suggestion.

I don't know, that you realize, but today is very important day for Uplay community, because of two simple points. First one, you have replied to my post! Great, because I have sent such suggestion on this forum for last 2 years without success. Second one, you have agreed with my suggestion, so I hope you will force it to the Uplay Development Team to add such feature in I hope next release?

Thank you once more for your reply.

Sincerely

daish0
11-27-2015, 02:16 PM
Just a reminder, I don't really understand why this is still not a thing in uPlay client which we are FORCED to use. Even the pretty new Galaxy Client by GoG has this feature!

BuLwinkL.
11-28-2015, 02:12 PM
Agreed.

I don't automatically launch Uplay for this exact reason.

RdJ1
12-01-2015, 04:56 PM
Why would you absolutely need to start Uplay with Windows? Especially if you feel like you are forced to use it. You probably use Steam to chat with other gamers in that case anyway.

DarkOneX
05-26-2016, 02:57 PM
For the love of God why is this still not added?! Every other game launcher software has had this feature day 1, and now that I've been playing the crud out of The Division I really need this to be an option please!

sbradfor
07-14-2016, 06:58 PM
Yeah minimized auto start is a standard feature from just about every other app of this type. Why is this taking so long to add?

Biyakuga
08-05-2016, 09:35 AM
What take so long ??? this is not rocket science

jamey101
09-23-2016, 03:51 AM
Ubisoft just doesn't give a crap.

globus5000
10-14-2016, 04:20 PM
hope it coms sune

ATG_WIZz
10-16-2016, 11:51 PM
I've had enough of this uplay opening on desktop start rubbish, If like me your not happy with uplay in your face every single startup then it looks like your forced to stop uplay starting with windows due to ubisofts arrogance!

They don't even include the option to disable auto startup with windows so you have to stuff around in msconfig, they force it open in your face on startup and offer no option to stop it starting up, yet another reason not to buy games from these ignorant tools!

globus5000
10-17-2016, 12:16 AM
thats not true

RdJ1
10-17-2016, 12:27 PM
It's possible to disable that (because I did), but I can't find it in the settings menu. I think it's somewhere on the login screen. So to disable the auto start you'll have to logout and then you should be able to disable it. This option should really be in the settings menu though...

RomanosAssassin
01-28-2017, 08:49 PM
I know one think!
Everytime I install Rainbow Six Siege and The Division after a few get in to the games and get out start to minimize the window when the game starts at windows10..
Any idea for help? Compatibility mode is not a solution because The Divisio is running at DX 12, at least it says in my pc when i enable DX12 it says get out to enable DX12 and when i get in it is again disabled..BUT the major problem is the games minimized at windows10 taskbar everytime they launch.. So oin coclusion i can start the games for 5-6 times and then again reinstall?
My pc full system spects:

MOBO: ASUS RAMPAGE V EXTREME \ 3.1
CPU: I7 6800K @3.4GHz (Clocked for daily use @4.2GHz)
GPU: DUAL SLI MSI GAMING 4G GTX 970 (PCI 3.0 16\16)
RAM: CORSAIR VENGEANCE LPX 32GB (4x8GB) DDR4 DRAM 2400MHz
BOOTABLE DISK: OCZ RD 400M2
STORAGE SSD: OCZ ARC 100 120GB + OCZ ARC 100 120GB @ RAID 0
STORAGE HDD: WESTERN DIGITAL CAVIAR BLACK 2TB
STORAGE HDD: WESTERN DIGITAL CAVIAR BLACK 2TB
STORAGE HDD: WESTERN DIGITAL CAVIAR BLACK 1TB
STORAGE HDD: WESTERN DIGITAL CAVIAR BLUE 1TB
EXTERNAL STORAGE HDD: MY BOOK USB 3.0 2TB
EXTERNAL STORAGE HDD: MY BOOK USB 3.0 2TB
PSU: CORSAIR HX 1200i
CPU COOLING: CORSAIR H100i V2
UPS: POWERWALKER VI 2000VA\1200W LCD LINE INTERACTIVE
MONITOR: SAMSUNG SYNCMASTER 23’
TV MIRRORING FOR GAMES & MOVIES: LG PK 350 50’
SOUND CARD: SOUND BLASTER Z
HEADSHET: SOUND BLASTER TACTIC 3D RAGE 3D (WIRELESS USB VERSION)
KEYBOARD: COOLERMASTER TRIGGER –Z + COOLERMASTER DEVASTATOR II
MOUSE: CORSAIR M65 + COOLERMASTER DEVASTATOR II
GAMING SPEAKERS: LOGITECH Z506 5.1 SPEAKERS
MUSIC SPEAKERS: HI-FI BY SONY
CASE: CORSAIR GRAPHITE 780T FULL TOWER
TOWER COOLING: 5 X COOLERMASTER JET FLO 120
JOYPADS: X-BOX ONE ELITE + X-BOX ONE STOCK + X-BOX 360 WIRELESS X1
OS: WINDOWS 10 PRO X64

Kliamovich
03-07-2017, 06:12 AM
As of 03/06/2017, boot at system startup and start minimized to tray are still not options native to the Uplay client.

Furthermore, the client lacks the ability to remember my PC and requires two-step authentication nearly every time it is launched.

aNoRSWE
03-08-2017, 10:00 PM
As of 03/06/2017, boot at system startup and start minimized to tray are still not options native to the Uplay client.

Furthermore, the client lacks the ability to remember my PC and requires two-step authentication nearly every time it is launched.

Why the heck don't they just add this feature?
I like to fire up my comp when I get home and be sure that origin, steam and uplay updates any stuff available, so I can sit down and just start the game of my choice later.

And yeah, I'm also asked about the 2-step auth every third time I launch it.... *sigh*

Ubisoft, just give me the source and I'll add it myself, it's a few lines of code and a checkbox ffs :-(

ATG_WIZz
03-27-2017, 02:44 AM
Why the heck don't they just add this feature?
I like to fire up my comp when I get home and be sure that origin, steam and uplay updates any stuff available, so I can sit down and just start the game of my choice later.

And yeah, I'm also asked about the 2-step auth every third time I launch it.... *sigh*

Ubisoft, just give me the source and I'll add it myself, it's a few lines of code and a checkbox ffs :-(

It's just plain rude beyond belief.

I tried this but it didn't work. https://www.cnet.com/au/how-to/how-to-automatically-start-a-program-minimized-in-windows/

It doesn't make good business sense to infuriate your customers!

I hope an unfortunate accident befalls the person or persons responsible for failing to implement this!

UTAVATU
05-10-2017, 09:46 PM
Dear Ubi-Kay


Hey, indeed this would be nice to have. Thanks for the suggestion.


Hello,

This feature is on the roadmap, but at the moment I can't give you an idea when it may be implemented. It's simply a matter of priorities.

Thanks.

Buahahahahaha... Seriously? :) Two years later still no such option! ;) Yes, priorities and roadmap. To add such option is 2 minutes for mediocre specialist - do you have any in your team? ;)

Thank you in advance for your help and support.

Sincerely

avimanyu786
05-23-2017, 01:05 PM
Wrote my own scripts. After a lot of experimenting, I finally got it to work:

https://github.com/avimanyu786/UplayStartupMinimize

EvilTwinTepe
08-02-2017, 05:52 PM
So I used a bit of avimanyu786's script and wrote one that works pretty well using Powershell.
Some caveats:
* Only tested on Windows 10
* You need to have RemoteSigned (https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ee176961.aspx)scripts allowed to run

The whole script is below:


# make sure SWF is ready to go
[void] [System.Reflection.Assembly]::LoadWithPartialName("System.Windows.Forms")

# add a C# class to access the WIN32 API SetForegroundWindow
Add-Type @"
using System;
using System.Runtime.InteropServices;
public class StartActivateProgramClass {
[DllImport("user32.dll")]
[return: MarshalAs(UnmanagedType.Bool)]
public static extern bool SetForegroundWindow(IntPtr hWnd);
}
"@

# wait for Uplay launcher to start running by looking for it's PID
$uplayRunning = Get-Process upc -ErrorAction SilentlyContinue
$mwhLimit = 1 # if Uplay is already running set the window limit to 1
If ( $uplayRunning -eq $null ) {
Do {
Sleep 1
$uplayRunning = Get-Process upc -ErrorAction SilentlyContinue
Start-Process "C:\Program Files (x86)\Ubisoft\Ubisoft Game Launcher\Uplay.exe"
} While ( $uplayRunning -eq $null )
$mwhLimit = 2 # if it ws not running it sets the window limit to 2
}
# if it is NOT running launch it

# OK time to start counting windows - when Uplay launches clean it has 2 windows "Loading' and the actual Uplay client
$uplayMWH = @()
Do {
Sleep 1
$mwh = (Get-Process upc -ErrorAction SilentlyContinue).MainWindowHandle
If ( $mwh -ne 0 ) {
If ( $mwh -ne $uplayMWH[-1] ) {
$uplayMWH += (Get-Process upc -ErrorAction SilentlyContinue).MainWindowHandle
}
}
} While ( $uplayMWH.Count -lt $mwhLimit )
# counts the number of unqiue windows Uplay loads - again this should be 2, the last of which is the client itself
[StartActivateProgramClass]::SetForegroundWindow($uplayMWH[-1]) # make the client the foreground (active) window
sleep 1
[System.Windows.Forms.SendKeys]::SendWait("%{F4}") # now close it

Save this as LaunchUplay.PS1 file to your C: someplace - I like c:\ps-scripts

Set up a new Task in Task Scheduler.
Control Panel -> Administrative Tools -> Task Scheduler
Action -> Create Task
General Tab: Name it something useful like "Uplay Launcher"
Triggers Tab: New...
Begin the task: At Startup
Delay the task for: 30 seconds
Actions Tab: New...
Program Script: powershell.exe
Add arguments: -windowstyle hidden "c:\ps-scripts\LaunchUplay.ps1"
Click 'OK'

That's it, you're done.

EvilTwinTepe
08-02-2017, 06:15 PM
Follow-up : If you are impatient and start doing things the moment Windows starts, be aware that the script isn't THAT picky. If you see Uplay launching and start working on thigs, and don't give it that 1 second it needs to set it to Foreground and ALT+F4 it, it'll clsoe whatever window you are currently in.

I safely set that last Sleep 1 statement to Sleep -m 500 (hald a second) to help with that, but since I cannot edit my post, I have to put it here.

ATG_WIZz
08-31-2017, 02:06 PM
Thanks EvilTwinTepe that works great, I appreciate you taking the time to share this and explain how to set it up. :)

Now if only I could get it to minimize Discord, unfortunately I could only get it to run Discord, powershell had a scrolling list of errors.

ATG_WIZz
09-01-2017, 09:06 AM
Is there no way to stop the script window from displaying?

tehKD
10-11-2017, 02:46 PM
Any news on this topic?
I'm really not willing to run some scripts to get this done.

Oh and while you're at it... please stop the client to pop-up everytime i quit a game.
Thank you.

avimanyu786
11-05-2017, 07:36 AM
So I used a bit of avimanyu786's script and wrote one that works pretty well using Powershell.
Some caveats:
* Only tested on Windows 10
* You need to have RemoteSigned (https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ee176961.aspx)scripts allowed to run

The whole script is below:


# make sure SWF is ready to go
[void] [System.Reflection.Assembly]::LoadWithPartialName("System.Windows.Forms")

# add a C# class to access the WIN32 API SetForegroundWindow
Add-Type @"
using System;
using System.Runtime.InteropServices;
public class StartActivateProgramClass {
[DllImport("user32.dll")]
[return: MarshalAs(UnmanagedType.Bool)]
public static extern bool SetForegroundWindow(IntPtr hWnd);
}
"@

# wait for Uplay launcher to start running by looking for it's PID
$uplayRunning = Get-Process upc -ErrorAction SilentlyContinue
$mwhLimit = 1 # if Uplay is already running set the window limit to 1
If ( $uplayRunning -eq $null ) {
Do {
Sleep 1
$uplayRunning = Get-Process upc -ErrorAction SilentlyContinue
Start-Process "C:\Program Files (x86)\Ubisoft\Ubisoft Game Launcher\Uplay.exe"
} While ( $uplayRunning -eq $null )
$mwhLimit = 2 # if it ws not running it sets the window limit to 2
}
# if it is NOT running launch it

# OK time to start counting windows - when Uplay launches clean it has 2 windows "Loading' and the actual Uplay client
$uplayMWH = @()
Do {
Sleep 1
$mwh = (Get-Process upc -ErrorAction SilentlyContinue).MainWindowHandle
If ( $mwh -ne 0 ) {
If ( $mwh -ne $uplayMWH[-1] ) {
$uplayMWH += (Get-Process upc -ErrorAction SilentlyContinue).MainWindowHandle
}
}
} While ( $uplayMWH.Count -lt $mwhLimit )
# counts the number of unqiue windows Uplay loads - again this should be 2, the last of which is the client itself
[StartActivateProgramClass]::SetForegroundWindow($uplayMWH[-1]) # make the client the foreground (active) window
sleep 1
[System.Windows.Forms.SendKeys]::SendWait("%{F4}") # now close it

Save this as LaunchUplay.PS1 file to your C: someplace - I like c:\ps-scripts

Set up a new Task in Task Scheduler.
Control Panel -> Administrative Tools -> Task Scheduler
Action -> Create Task
General Tab: Name it something useful like "Uplay Launcher"
Triggers Tab: New...
Begin the task: At Startup
Delay the task for: 30 seconds
Actions Tab: New...
Program Script: powershell.exe
Add arguments: -windowstyle hidden "c:\ps-scripts\LaunchUplay.ps1"
Click 'OK'

That's it, you're done.

Thanks for taking the time to improve it :) ...

habiwan
11-20-2017, 08:54 PM
Follow-up : If you are impatient and start doing things the moment Windows starts, be aware that the script isn't THAT picky. If you see Uplay launching and start working on thigs, and don't give it that 1 second it needs to set it to Foreground and ALT+F4 it, it'll clsoe whatever window you are currently in.

I safely set that last Sleep 1 statement to Sleep -m 500 (hald a second) to help with that, but since I cannot edit my post, I have to put it here.

The last one only? Thanks man! works great like this, you're a star!


# make sure SWF is ready to go
[void] [System.Reflection.Assembly]::LoadWithPartialName("System.Windows.Forms")

# add a C# class to access the WIN32 API SetForegroundWindow
Add-Type @"
using System;
using System.Runtime.InteropServices;
public class StartActivateProgramClass {
[DllImport("user32.dll")]
[return: MarshalAs(UnmanagedType.Bool)]
public static extern bool SetForegroundWindow(IntPtr hWnd);
}
"@

# wait for Uplay launcher to start running by looking for it's PID
$uplayRunning = Get-Process upc -ErrorAction SilentlyContinue
$mwhLimit = 1 # if Uplay is already running set the window limit to 1
If ( $uplayRunning -eq $null ) {
Do {
Sleep 1
$uplayRunning = Get-Process upc -ErrorAction SilentlyContinue
Start-Process "C:\Program Files (x86)\Ubisoft\Ubisoft Game Launcher\Uplay.exe"
} While ( $uplayRunning -eq $null )
$mwhLimit = 2 # if it ws not running it sets the window limit to 2
}
# if it is NOT running launch it

# OK time to start counting windows - when Uplay launches clean it has 2 windows "Loading' and the actual Uplay client
$uplayMWH = @()
Do {
Sleep 1
$mwh = (Get-Process upc -ErrorAction SilentlyContinue).MainWindowHandle
If ( $mwh -ne 0 ) {
If ( $mwh -ne $uplayMWH[-1] ) {
$uplayMWH += (Get-Process upc -ErrorAction SilentlyContinue).MainWindowHandle
}
}
} While ( $uplayMWH.Count -lt $mwhLimit )
# counts the number of unqiue windows Uplay loads - again this should be 2, the last of which is the client itself
[StartActivateProgramClass]::SetForegroundWindow($uplayMWH[-1]) # make the client the foreground (active) window
sleep -m 500
[System.Windows.Forms.SendKeys]::SendWait("%{F4}") # now close it

Oh and I found this:

mshta vbscript:Execute("CreateObject(""Wscript.Shell"").Run ""powershell -NoLogo -Command """"& 'C:\ps-scripts\LaunchUplay.ps1'"""""", 0 : window.close")

here:
https://stackoverflow.com/questions/1802127/how-to-run-a-powershell-script-without-displaying-a-window

So a Task scheduled of mshta would have the arguments vbscript:Execute("CreateObject(""Wscript.Shell"").Run ""powershell -NoLogo -Command """"& 'C:\ps-scripts\LaunchUplay.ps1'"""""", 0 : window.close") and would run hidden

unmog
05-19-2018, 10:21 AM
Really? We still dont have this in 2018?

WTF!?

avimanyu786
05-19-2018, 02:07 PM
Updated my version recently :) :

https://avimanyu786.github.io/UplayStartupMinimize/

Forum thread: https://forums.ubi.com/showthread.php/1872923-UplayStartupMinimize

shouldy2011
06-20-2018, 06:44 PM
This seemed to work for me.
https://www.cnet.com/how-to/how-to-automatically-start-a-program-minimized-in-windows/

Carschde
06-22-2018, 03:27 AM
Hello buddies,

Did you miss, that this feature is available since the last release?
There is the possibility to enable startup automatically with the Windows logon. :p
At least in the German version. I hope this is available worldwide... :o

Best wishes
Carsten

ATG_WIZz
08-31-2018, 10:29 AM
My Uplay client has started loading open on the desktop again, maybe they released a new version and removed it. :(

Carschde
08-31-2018, 01:46 PM
On my Windows, too!

WTF?!?!?! :(

ATG_WIZz
09-01-2018, 02:35 AM
Back to normal today wierd

Carschde
09-01-2018, 10:24 AM
It is working for me too.
Perhaps it was affecting the UACL of Windows and therefore for the first launch it appeared?
Don't know...