PDA

View Full Version : Warning: Installing 4.1s requires reactivation of XP?!



JRH147
01-21-2004, 08:25 AM
Has anyone else had this problem?

Downloaded new 4.1 CATs.
Removed old ones (3.7) with control panel.
Rebooted into safe mode.

Got a warning message during boot that the "hardware has changed significantly" and that I was required to reactivate windows.

What?!!

Reactivated it, but I only get 3 activations, right?

Why did this happen? Hunter?

JRH147
01-21-2004, 08:25 AM
Has anyone else had this problem?

Downloaded new 4.1 CATs.
Removed old ones (3.7) with control panel.
Rebooted into safe mode.

Got a warning message during boot that the "hardware has changed significantly" and that I was required to reactivate windows.

What?!!

Reactivated it, but I only get 3 activations, right?

Why did this happen? Hunter?

Rajvosa
01-21-2004, 08:31 AM
Dude, I can't help you, but it looks like something very bad has happened to the registry. I installed 4.1 yesterday and everything was smooth, as usual.



Golf GTI Edition 2.0 16v

FrankoFighter
01-21-2004, 08:32 AM
I installede the 4.1 with no problems at all. Just so you know.

Used the same procedure as you, but got no error messages what so ever.

FrankoFighter
-------------------------------
Barton XP2500@2800
ATI radeon XT9800
1024 MB PC2700
Asus KT400 MB
Audigy 2

oFZo
01-21-2004, 08:33 AM
No problems here whatsoever either! (even in case of a so-called necessary reactivation http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif )

-oFZo
http://homepage.ntlworld.com/paul.bryant3/ETSigHolland.gif
Founding member and Offical Keeper of The Herbs of the Eurotrolls.

"The Lord is coming. Look busy."

Rajvosa
01-21-2004, 08:38 AM
BTW, what is this reactivation thing? What does it make you do? Doesn't sound like fun to me! http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_eek.gif



Golf GTI Edition 2.0 16v

FI.Red.Lichtie
01-21-2004, 08:42 AM
If you change your hardware after a number of times, XP asks for your cd key again.
Mine has been asked for several times as I upgrade quite a lot. However the last time it asked for the key it told me that it has been used too many times and to phone a number!
I spoke with a MS peeps who sorted it out.
painless really.

ELEM
01-21-2004, 09:03 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by FI.Red.Lichtie:
If you change your hardware after a number of times, XP asks for your cd key again.
Mine has been asked for several times as I upgrade quite a lot. However the last time it asked for the key it told me that it has been used too many times and to phone a number!
I spoke with a MS peeps who sorted it out.
painless really.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

That's XP Home edition only isn't it? XP Pro does not have that feature. Loaded up the 4.1's last night NP.

I wouldn't join any club that would have ME as member!

[Gypsy]
01-21-2004, 09:12 AM
Installed the CAT 4.1 last nite (XP Home).. no problems...

"Gypsy"

310th FS Opps Officer
CO Bravo Wing

http://imageshack.us/files/Gypsy%20Sig2.jpg

Bearcat99
01-21-2004, 09:17 AM
Mine went in smoothly as well... I wouldnt worry about the 3 activations thing if I were you. I have noticed from my experience with MS as far as thier tech support goes..... they are just people and have a lot of latitude in how they can help you.

<UL TYPE=SQUARE>http://www.jodavidsmeyer.com/combat/bookstore/tuskegeebondposter.jpg (http://tuskegeeairmen.org/airmen/who.html)[/list]<UL TYPE=SQUARE>vflyer@comcast.net [/list]<UL TYPE=SQUARE>99thPursuit Squadron IL2 Forgotten Battles (http://www.geocities.com/rt_bearcat)[/list]
UDQMG (http://www.uberdemon.com/index2.html) | HYPERLOBBY (http://hyperfighter.jinak.cz/) | IL2 Manager (http://www.checksix-fr.com/bibliotheque/detail_fichier.php?ID=1353) | MUDMOVERS (http://www.mudmovers.com/)

Zayets
01-21-2004, 09:21 AM
Hehehe,
this is the world Bill created for you.You have to accept it.Beside , MS should have a 24/24 call center.Praise Bill and his stuffs http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Zayets out

FI.Red.Lichtie
01-21-2004, 09:43 AM
I use XP Pro

so I guess both editions ask http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

crazyivan1970
01-21-2004, 10:05 AM
"Reactivated it, but I only get 3 activations, right?" No, all you have to do is pick up the phone and call them. They will give you a new key.

I have XP PRO and did not experiance this problem.

V!
Regards,

VFC*Crazyivan aka VFC*HOST

http://www.rmutt.netfirms.com/ivan-reaper.gif

Kozhedub: In combat potential, the Yak-3, La-7 and La-9 fighters were indisputably superior to the Bf-109s and Fw-190s. But, as they say, no matter how good the violin may be, much depends on the violinist. I always felt respect for an enemy pilot whose plane I failed to down.

JRH147
01-21-2004, 11:30 AM
Hmmmm....this registry thing has me concerned.

Should I completely reinstall XP Pro?

It seems to be running fine, but if no one else had problems I wonder if something got screwed up and I just don't know it.

The other option I have is to roll back with a System Restore - I set one just before making all these changes.

What should I do?

Cess-Harp
01-21-2004, 03:57 PM
It's not your Reg, it is M$ , making sure you are not hacking there Op system.. this will happen if you change too many parts or even if you change main line drivers.. it is what is compiled into there code to see if you are running this on another computer.. like some used to do..
Pull the HD out and put it into an other machine..

And yes it does it on XP Pro and well as Home.
It is easy to fix , just dial the number it give you and they will ask what happend and you tell them , then they will give you a new number.. but after you do that the first time , you will have to call the number each time you change a major part...
What bothers me is I did not see any where on the box when I bought it about leasing the software.. and that is how leasing software works on most systems..

RichardI
01-21-2004, 04:29 PM
JRH147:-
Before you re-install Windows I suggest you go and get a free registry cleaner. I use one called RegClean (not the one from Microsoft). It's a free download and it will help you find out what is in your registry that doesn't belong there. Try that first. Re-install???......Ughh

Rich http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_cool.gif

Rajvosa
01-22-2004, 02:28 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by crazyivan1970:
"Reactivated it, but I only get 3 activations, right?" No, all you have to do is pick up the phone and call them. They will give you a new key.

I have XP PRO and did not experiance this problem.

V!
Regards,

VFC*Crazyivan aka VFC*HOST

http://www.rmutt.netfirms.com/ivan-reaper.gif

Kozhedub: In combat potential, the Yak-3, La-7 and La-9 fighters were indisputably superior to the Bf-109s and Fw-190s. But, as they say, no matter how good the violin may be, much depends on the violinist. I always felt respect for an enemy pilot whose plane I failed to down.

<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

He he... I'm not sure they'd be very glad if I called them.
"Hi, I've got an illegal copy of XP Pro. Yes, and now, the damned thing is giving me problems. Can you help please? No...? WTF do you mean no? It's yer friggin job, you lousy...." http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif



Golf GTI Edition 2.0 16v

FI.Red.Lichtie
01-22-2004, 02:46 AM
Even if you reinstall and you have previously activated XP several times it will say your key is now invalid and to phone MS.

No worries if your legit tho http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif even though I think this is the dumbeest bit of MS tosh, as why should I re activate if I have bought the OS and already activated it!

Zayets
01-22-2004, 03:05 AM
Hack Bill!
Crack Bill!

Hehehehe,never activated my WinXP box , maybee is time to do so http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Zayets out