PDA

View Full Version : Why USSR failed so miserable in the first stages of GPW

crazyivan1970
02-11-2004, 01:43 PM
Another view on the subject by HSU PStigo.
Taken and translated from his memoirs, go easy on me, i am not a pro http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

"In early 40s The level of our technology was much lover then Germany had at that time
And that`s exactly why german fighters ME-109 we much better then our I-16, I-153 and even new Lagg-3. German bombers JU-88 and HE-111 were completely superior to our TB-1, TB-2, TB-3, SU-2, SB-5.
German tanks were inferior to our T-34s, but we had so few of those, it`s a shame.
Germany was producing automatic weapons in great scale, while our command were pretty sure that we can acheive victory with Mosin`s rifle 1891-1930 build.
When it comes to our airforce, it`s not a big secret now that experiance of Spanish war was wrongfully adopted. In Spain fought our best of the best, very experianced pilots, true aces in full meaning of this word. They could successfully fight even on outdated planes and acheive victories in airbattles. Actually encounters in the skies of Spain already showed inferiority our planes toward their german opponents.
Of couse, long distance flights completed by Gromov, Chkalov and Grizodubova were a big success for our country. But were they truly reflecting condition of our military aviation? All those planes were build specifically to acheive all those records and could not be used in the military as is. For example the height (altitude) record by Kokinakki , that plane had everything removed to make it lighter, even pilots seat was made out of cloth materials. Regardless, all those acheivemnts were making us happy and careless.