PDA

View Full Version : Gauges' accuracy



Kapitanleutnant--Martes86--Mix
09-20-2004, 02:18 PM
Yesterday, I was playing SH2 in a Flotilla multiplayer game. I was submerged, with a DD chasing me. After an alarm, I go as deep as I can (we were in Aruba, so the place wasn't very deep) though the maximum that my tiefenmesser indicated me was about 100-110 meters deep. I ordered 95 meters. Ok, then a sudden crash sound. My sub had crashed with the seafloor at 95 meters and the gauge indicated more than 100 maximum. And of course I had to surrender (very serious damage, I wasn't even able to steer) and I lost the game. Those kind of gauge errors really piss me off. I would want those gauge accuracy problems solved in SH3.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Visit my Das Boot album http://img35.photobucket.com/albums/v106/martes86/
http://personales.ya.com/bukanero/banner.jpg

Lead translator and public relations officer for PlanetSHIII.

If you speak Spanish, don't forget to visit the WPL's 24th Flotille: http://www.24flotilla.com/
http://www.24flotilla.com/phpBB2/templates/subSilver/images/logo_24.gif
Member of the SH3 Tracking Commision for the 24th Flotilla.

Kapitanleutnant--Martes86--Mix
09-20-2004, 02:18 PM
Yesterday, I was playing SH2 in a Flotilla multiplayer game. I was submerged, with a DD chasing me. After an alarm, I go as deep as I can (we were in Aruba, so the place wasn't very deep) though the maximum that my tiefenmesser indicated me was about 100-110 meters deep. I ordered 95 meters. Ok, then a sudden crash sound. My sub had crashed with the seafloor at 95 meters and the gauge indicated more than 100 maximum. And of course I had to surrender (very serious damage, I wasn't even able to steer) and I lost the game. Those kind of gauge errors really piss me off. I would want those gauge accuracy problems solved in SH3.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Visit my Das Boot album http://img35.photobucket.com/albums/v106/martes86/
http://personales.ya.com/bukanero/banner.jpg

Lead translator and public relations officer for PlanetSHIII.

If you speak Spanish, don't forget to visit the WPL's 24th Flotille: http://www.24flotilla.com/
http://www.24flotilla.com/phpBB2/templates/subSilver/images/logo_24.gif
Member of the SH3 Tracking Commision for the 24th Flotilla.

HeibgesU999
09-20-2004, 04:14 PM
Were WWII subs able to mention depth under keel?

It seems more realistic too me if you don't know exactly how much depth you have to work with.

Kapitanleutnant--Martes86--Mix
09-20-2004, 04:55 PM
I know, but I wasn't really asking for that. What I meant was that I want that if my gauges say 115 meters, it should really be 115 and not 96.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Visit my Das Boot album http://img35.photobucket.com/albums/v106/martes86/
http://personales.ya.com/bukanero/banner.jpg

Lead translator and public relations officer for PlanetSHIII.

If you speak Spanish, don't forget to visit the WPL's 24th Flotille: http://www.24flotilla.com/
http://www.24flotilla.com/phpBB2/templates/subSilver/images/logo_24.gif

Member of the SH3 Tracking Commision for the 24th Flotilla

SailorSteve
09-20-2004, 08:06 PM
I always use the map/cursor function to see how deep the map says it is.

______________________________

The poster said "Join The Navy, See The World". So I did, and I'm here to tell you, the world is flat and blue.

Leif...
09-21-2004, 12:13 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by HeibgesU999:
Were WWII subs able to mention depth under keel?
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Yes, they could measure depth below keel.

Leif...

Teddy Bar
09-21-2004, 12:21 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Yes, they could measure depth below keel.

Leif...<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
But only with active sonar. Which obviously would not be brought out when hiding from an escort! http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Cheers,

Teddy B¤r

jeroen-79
09-21-2004, 04:18 AM
Would destroyers hear the depthfinding sonar?
It wouldn't need to radiate all around, just down.

And what was the accuracy of the thing?
If both the depth above and below the keel have a +- 5m error then it would be possible to hit the bottom with one needle saying you're at 95m and the other saying that the bottom is at 105m.

If the depthfinding sonar would determine the depth below the keel, would it show undersee hills in front of the sub?

If this happens occasionally then you could just think that you hit a wreck or sandbank.
Come to think of it, manouvering very close to the bottom sounds scary to me.

Kapitanleutnant--Martes86--Mix
09-21-2004, 04:34 AM
Yeah, but if the depth is very deep then you would be able to do some nice evasive tactics.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Visit my Das Boot album http://img35.photobucket.com/albums/v106/martes86/
http://personales.ya.com/bukanero/banner.jpg

Lead translator and public relations officer for PlanetSHIII.

If you speak Spanish, don't forget to visit the WPL's 24th Flotille: http://www.24flotilla.com/
http://www.24flotilla.com/phpBB2/templates/subSilver/images/logo_24.gif

Member of the SH3 Tracking Commision for the 24th Flotilla

Joe the Killerman
09-21-2004, 07:06 AM
As far as I know, the first experimental sonar were able to give depth with an acuracy of milimeters. Of course, currents and termal layers may give an error.

I supose you hit the bottom because the nose of the ship is deeper during diving, not because the gauge were inacurate. If your ship is about 100 mts long and you're at a five or more degrees, asuming that you're rotating arround the center of your ship (leaving 50 meters per side), your nose is at a depth of 95 + 4,3578 = 99,36 meters. So if your ship is longer or the acuracy of the sonar is to be measured in meters, you shall touch bottom.

Das Panzerkunst!

Gerd_Schopfel
09-21-2004, 07:32 AM
That's the best explanation for it man. Now tell me something Joe...are you a ManKILLER??!! http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_eek.gif

bertgang
09-24-2004, 09:14 AM
A little percentage of error, when executing orders or reading instruments, seems quite realistic.
But, even when the depth measurement is right, a sub could hit an underwater rock, previously not detected.
We dive in diagonal, not like a lift.

Jose.MaC
09-24-2004, 09:18 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Gerd_Schopfel:
That's the best explanation for it man. Now tell me something Joe...are you a ManKILLER??!! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_eek.gif <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

That's what my colleagues in martials arts say about me. Btw, seems that I cannot use such a long name (Joe the Killerman), so I changed to this other. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

The more men I kill, the more women I can reach! :P