PDA

View Full Version : A sober word on music, environment, animations, and towns

LinkZeppeloyd
10-02-2015, 05:36 PM
In most games I've ever played, there is always a weird and misguided debate about "gameplay vs graphics." It's as if people think they are two different things.

Lately we PC games have witnessed a generation of games that seem to have regressed. Graphics are uneven at best, sometimes flat out worse than their predecessors, and yet still manage to have terrible performance as IF they had new, shiny graphics. It's hard for us to understand as consumers, yet we play the games because we still love them. I started playing HoMM2 when I was about 9 years old. I've been playing each HOMM game ever since, including H7 (I'm writing this at 22hrs gameplay thus far).

And I want to say this as a long term HOMM fan: "graphics" matter. Not just how good they are, but the overall environment that they provide, along with the music and the animations. What happened after the deep beauty of the environment of Heroes 5? The gorgeous 3d towns, each faction had it's own music, spells had sensory impact and were a marvel to see happen. The combat animations and abilities had a lot of thought put into them and plenty of visual flare.

Then dropped H6. With no town screens. And the entire community's jaw collectively dropped as we politely informed the devs of H6 that no towns in a Heroes game was unacceptable. Full stop. I had never been so flabbergasted in my life regarding a game release. It would be like if they released Mario Kart with no Karts. Battlefield with no guns. Resident Evil 2 with no zombies. So they wisely, for their own sake, put in 2d town screens. These were nothingh compared to H5 towns, yet they themselves were beautiful, and at least restored that sense of "I'm playing Heroes." And the game itself was pretty, not quite as engaged or polished as H5, but it had the right idea. Both of them had simple, pretty, and legible UIs.