PDA

View Full Version : trackIR went back to NaruralPoint.



XyZspineZyX
07-07-2003, 10:05 PM
Yup, unfortunately i had to send it back. I loved the damn thing...But, apparently it has some issues with XP Pro while runs perfectly with XP Home. Technical support gave a long solution on how to fix this problem and after that trackIR worked perfectly, but computer wouldn`t shut down or had problems starting up, i meant it would, but after 10 minutes lol. After toying with it for almost 3 weeks i decided to send it back /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif . Tech support rep told me that new drivers are coming out in 60 days that should fix all XP Pro problems and maybe i`ll purchase it again.
Don`t get me wrong, not trying to dicurage anyone from buying it, but if you have WinXP Pro corporate, you might wanna think about it...just a little warning.

I still think that trackIR is da best thing since joystick /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif


Regards,
VFC*Crazyivan
http://www.rmutt.netfirms.com/ivan-reaper.gif

"No matter how good the violin may be, much depends on the violinist. I always felt respect for an enemy pilot whose plane I failed to down." Ivan Kozhedub

XyZspineZyX
07-07-2003, 10:05 PM
Yup, unfortunately i had to send it back. I loved the damn thing...But, apparently it has some issues with XP Pro while runs perfectly with XP Home. Technical support gave a long solution on how to fix this problem and after that trackIR worked perfectly, but computer wouldn`t shut down or had problems starting up, i meant it would, but after 10 minutes lol. After toying with it for almost 3 weeks i decided to send it back /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif . Tech support rep told me that new drivers are coming out in 60 days that should fix all XP Pro problems and maybe i`ll purchase it again.
Don`t get me wrong, not trying to dicurage anyone from buying it, but if you have WinXP Pro corporate, you might wanna think about it...just a little warning.

I still think that trackIR is da best thing since joystick /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif


Regards,
VFC*Crazyivan
http://www.rmutt.netfirms.com/ivan-reaper.gif

"No matter how good the violin may be, much depends on the violinist. I always felt respect for an enemy pilot whose plane I failed to down." Ivan Kozhedub

XyZspineZyX
07-07-2003, 10:09 PM
I've run trackIR with XP Pro for almost a year with no issues. I've done nothing elaborate or any long solutions. I would be interested in seeing what they recommended. FWIW, this is the third XP Pro system I've run it on with no troubles...

XyZspineZyX
07-07-2003, 10:09 PM
No problems with Windows XP Pro nor Home.

Works great

S!
609IAP_Recon

Forgotten Wars Virtual War
Forum: http://fogwar.luftwaffe.net/forums/index.php
Website: http://forgottenwars.dyndns.org
Visit 609IAP at http://takeoff.to/609IAP

http://www.leeboats.com/609/sig/609_recon3.jpg

Agnus Dei, Qui Tollis peccata mundi, Miserere nobis. Dona nobis pacem

XyZspineZyX
07-07-2003, 10:16 PM
It just doesn't like people from New Jersey. /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-tongue.gif

XyZspineZyX
07-07-2003, 10:27 PM
No problems with TrackIr and XP Pro here. All I did was install it and use it.

Leutnant Jaeger, Jagdgeschwader 3 "Udet" I/Gruppe

XyZspineZyX
07-07-2003, 10:29 PM
DefterLizard wrote:
- It just doesn't like people from New Jersey.

lol DL...maybe you are right...or maybe it`s even further problem...it doesn`t like russian ppl from NJ /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

I don`t remember exactly what the solution was step by step. But apparently one of the windows updates was causing this problem... that would created instability in USB devices. I had to deistall all natural point software, clean the registry then they gave me a date of that MS update and i restored version of windows prior to that update (That i did not like at all, but was willing to go for it) after that trackIR worked perfectly but system become unstable. So i decided to back off for now.

Regards,
VFC*Crazyivan
http://www.rmutt.netfirms.com/ivan-reaper.gif

"No matter how good the violin may be, much depends on the violinist. I always felt respect for an enemy pilot whose plane I failed to down." Ivan Kozhedub

XyZspineZyX
07-07-2003, 10:32 PM
I don't see the startup problem, but I do have occaisional shutdown issues. I just exit the software before shutting down and problem is solved.



<font face="Courier New">
&nbspBaldieJr
_____ | _____
_\__(o)__/_
./ \.
Whiners don't play vulchers
(er, winners)
</font>

XyZspineZyX
07-07-2003, 10:35 PM
Microsoft strikes again... Win2kPro for me and it works great. Sorry to hear dude and hope you get it back again. (Can you fly without it?) /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif



<p align="center"> http://www.1stclassproperties.ca/mr/Spit.jpg
Tongue-tied & twisted,
just an earthbound misfit,
I.
</CENTER>
</p>

XyZspineZyX
07-07-2003, 10:37 PM
Ya Dex, i can fly without it hehe...

Regards,
VFC*Crazyivan
http://www.rmutt.netfirms.com/ivan-reaper.gif

"No matter how good the violin may be, much depends on the violinist. I always felt respect for an enemy pilot whose plane I failed to down." Ivan Kozhedub

XyZspineZyX
07-07-2003, 10:49 PM
Same problem with shutting down, among others like not remembering my absolute mode settings but it's just an extra mouse click to shut it off before powering down.

Why would you send it back with all the shipping charges if you are just going to get it again in a month or two?

It's a little bit inconvenient to have to open the driver, click the radio button for Enhanced Mode, press F8 then F12 to center before starting FB but to me it's still way better than not flying with it! /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif I could fly without it...but I won't. /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

Good luck either way, man!

Next stop: CH Pro Throttle USB, then some pedals.



<center>http://members.rogers.com/4xtreme/chbanner.jpg

XyZspineZyX
07-07-2003, 10:53 PM
same here,I have to exit software then shut down...

BTW, I luuuuv my trackir!!


Airmikey


<center>http://www.bloggerheads.com/mash_quiz/images/mash_hawkeye.jpg (http://www.bloggerheads.com/mash_quiz/)</center>

XyZspineZyX
07-07-2003, 10:55 PM
Ivan,

Funny you should mention that. I have XP Home, and have those long shut downs. Then it won't want to start up, because it says it was shut down wrong. I cured it by never shutting down anymore. I had no idea it was TrackIR doing it. Falcon has been going nuts trying to figure it out. Hmmmmmm..

Da Buzz
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
<center> Butcher Bird
<center>
http://www.histoiredumonde.net/images/20_eme_siecle/avions/fw190/intro.jpg

<center.
http://perso.wanadoo.es/francesclleonsi/corsair2SKY.gif

XyZspineZyX
07-07-2003, 10:57 PM
Never had a problem with Pro. The only thing is that I've gotten into the practice of quiting TrkIR before rebooting or shuting down because of hang problems.

DW

XyZspineZyX
07-07-2003, 10:58 PM
Sorry to hear that - FWIW - I've had TrackIR for a month now on XP Pro and haven't had a problem yet. Just plugged it in, slapped the dot on my head, and headed for the skies!

<center> http://www.autumnhullphoto.com/fbsig.jpg

.

XyZspineZyX
07-07-2003, 10:59 PM
*cough*

Just another nail in the coffin for trackIR.

Thanks for keeping us informed Ivan.

<img src=http://lafayettefederation.com/screenshots/repository/turo/tn-Numbaone.jpg>
"The Force is strong with this one." -What an ace said of RayBanJockey during a fight when he was still a newbie.
<a href=http://www.theinformationminister.com/press.php?ID=612109283>news update</a>

XyZspineZyX
07-07-2003, 11:02 PM
Pretty small nail Ray. I was told it's better to keep your system on all the time anyway. It will always reboot, it just didn't like being shut completely off.

Da Buzz
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
<center> Butcher Bird
<center>
http://www.histoiredumonde.net/images/20_eme_siecle/avions/fw190/intro.jpg

<center.
http://perso.wanadoo.es/francesclleonsi/corsair2SKY.gif

XyZspineZyX
07-07-2003, 11:13 PM
LOL Ray....as Buzz said...it just a little nail, more of the warning then nail lol. I got the RMA number, but still, i did not ship it yet /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif . Might reconsider. I got 15 days and may give it another shot. We`ll see.

Regards,
VFC*Crazyivan
http://www.rmutt.netfirms.com/ivan-reaper.gif

"No matter how good the violin may be, much depends on the violinist. I always felt respect for an enemy pilot whose plane I failed to down." Ivan Kozhedub

XyZspineZyX
07-07-2003, 11:17 PM
I wouldn't give up on it Ivan. I'd never fly any other way now. I've finally gotten used to it, and taken padlock off my stick completely. It also freed up my little mini stick for something else. Prop pitch maybe.

Da Buzz
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
<center> Butcher Bird
<center>
http://www.histoiredumonde.net/images/20_eme_siecle/avions/fw190/intro.jpg

<center.
http://perso.wanadoo.es/francesclleonsi/corsair2SKY.gif

XyZspineZyX
07-07-2003, 11:19 PM
BuzzU wrote:
- It also freed
- up my little mini stick for something else.
-
- Da Buzz

/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif

On the serious note...i`ll play with it tonight, one more time. Then i`ll let ya all know.

Regards,
VFC*Crazyivan
http://www.rmutt.netfirms.com/ivan-reaper.gif

"No matter how good the violin may be, much depends on the violinist. I always felt respect for an enemy pilot whose plane I failed to down." Ivan Kozhedub

XyZspineZyX
07-07-2003, 11:24 PM
You should reformat and reinstall windows and then see if it really works or not.

<img src=http://lafayettefederation.com/screenshots/repository/turo/tn-Numbaone.jpg>
"The Force is strong with this one." -What an ace said of RayBanJockey during a fight when he was still a newbie.
<a href=http://www.theinformationminister.com/press.php?ID=612109283>news update</a>

XyZspineZyX
07-07-2003, 11:25 PM
I can't fly without it! On the odd occasion when I forget to start TRI before getting into the pit, I'm hit by a feeling of claustrophobia. Feels like I'm flying in a neck br too.

I've been flying flight sims since the 8bit days. I evolved through snap views and PL, but was never happy with any of the viewing methods offered.

Then I tried TRI, and my enthusiasm for flight sims has never been higher.

I may build a three projector curved surround screen one day, but until then TRI is the best and most realistic method.

XyZspineZyX
07-07-2003, 11:38 PM
Leave the software up, run the shutdown and start the hang, than pull your USB devices one at a time. It might not be the trackir causing it. Whatever device that is causing the hang, once you pull the plug the shutdown will commence immediatly upon pulling that plug. In my case it was actually the cougar stick causing the hanging with the trackir software on. Cure, put the cougar plug in a new USB spot and reinstall it's drivers, no more hanging.

XyZspineZyX
07-07-2003, 11:42 PM
BfHeFwMe wrote:
- Leave the software up, run the shutdown and start
- the hang, than pull your USB devices one at a time.
- It might not be the trackir causing it. Whatever
- device that is causing the hang, once you pull the
- plug the shutdown will commence immediatly upon
- pulling that plug. In my case it was actually the
- cougar stick causing the hanging with the trackir
- software on. Cure, put the cougar plug in a new USB
- spot and reinstall it's drivers, no more hanging.
-
-

Done all that, not once mate, thanks for info anyways.

Regards,
VFC*Crazyivan
http://www.rmutt.netfirms.com/ivan-reaper.gif

"No matter how good the violin may be, much depends on the violinist. I always felt respect for an enemy pilot whose plane I failed to down." Ivan Kozhedub

XyZspineZyX
07-07-2003, 11:48 PM
RayBanJockey wrote:
- You should reformat and reinstall windows and then
- see if it really works or not.


RBJ's probably right on this. My Matrox card requires Microsoft .NET to work properly (don't ask, I'm not impressed by this), and initial install of .NET and Matrox drivers caused me some grief. Reinstalling my OS on a new partition cleared up my shutdown problems and also allowed my trackIR to work properly since it wasn't prior to this.



<p align="center"> http://www.1stclassproperties.ca/mr/Spit.jpg
Tongue-tied & twisted,
just an earthbound misfit,
I.
</CENTER>
</p>

XyZspineZyX
07-08-2003, 12:24 AM
reinstall will clear up any registry or old driver conflicts but if the problem is generic may not do much. Still worth a ry though.


*wonders if RBJ has thought of mapping trim to trackir*

XyZspineZyX
07-08-2003, 02:06 PM
Might be obvious and you probably tried already BUT - do you have TrackIR launching on Startup? If so then try disabling it?

JG5_UnKle

"Know and use all the capabilities of your airplane. If you don't sooner or later, somebody who does, will kick your ***"


http://homepage.ntlworld.com/victoria.stevens/jg5_logo.jpg

XyZspineZyX
07-08-2003, 03:19 PM
I've run the software on both XP Pro and XP Corp with no issues.

Having said that, I've never tried to shut the system down with TIR software still running, I always open and close everything to do with FB manually and the only thing in my startup folder is Zonealarm.

Hope you get it resolved!

SSS

XyZspineZyX
07-08-2003, 03:22 PM
BaldieJr wrote:
- I don't see the startup problem, but I do have
- occaisional shutdown issues. I just exit the
- software before shutting down and problem is solved.

Same here. TIR runs great under XP, I just have to shut down the software before shutting Windoze down ... or else I have to wait for eternity.