PDA

View Full Version : Error Compiling Movie



Gib007
02-29-2004, 08:47 AM
I hope someone can help me with this error...
I have made this movie in Adobe Premiere Pro 7.0. It is composed of title scenes and 512x384 (at 25 fps) uncompressed AVIs (with in-game sound).

Once I put everything together, it ended up being about 5 minutes and 45 seconds.

Now, what I always do is export the entire movie as an uncompressed AVI to a drive with plenty of free space. I then use Dr.DivX 1.0.4 to encode the entire uncompressed AVI movie into a high quality DivX AVI (retaining sound too).

However, when I try to export the uncompressed AVI from Adobe Premiere Pro 7.0, at about frame 7551 out of 8602, an error pops up saying "Error compiling movie, disk is full."...
However, I've been monitoring the free space of that drive and before exporting the movie, I had 17.1GB free, and just before that error came up, I had 13.2GB free. What's going on!?
I tried exporting the AVI as already DivX-compressed, the only thing is that the video itself becomes distorted on most of the scenes, so I'd rather encode it to DivX using Dr.DivX AFTER exporting the full uncompressed AVI.

Can anyone help me out?
Thanks...

-AMD Athlon XP 2800+ (2.08GHz, 333MHz FSB, 640KB Cache)
-Asus A7N8X (nVidia nForce II)
-1024MB 333MHz DDR SDRAM (PC2700, CAS2.5)
-ATI Radeon 9800Pro 128MB (ATI Catalyst 4.2)
-Microsoft Windows XP Professional Edition (SP1)

Gib007

Gib007
02-29-2004, 08:47 AM
I hope someone can help me with this error...
I have made this movie in Adobe Premiere Pro 7.0. It is composed of title scenes and 512x384 (at 25 fps) uncompressed AVIs (with in-game sound).

Once I put everything together, it ended up being about 5 minutes and 45 seconds.

Now, what I always do is export the entire movie as an uncompressed AVI to a drive with plenty of free space. I then use Dr.DivX 1.0.4 to encode the entire uncompressed AVI movie into a high quality DivX AVI (retaining sound too).

However, when I try to export the uncompressed AVI from Adobe Premiere Pro 7.0, at about frame 7551 out of 8602, an error pops up saying "Error compiling movie, disk is full."...
However, I've been monitoring the free space of that drive and before exporting the movie, I had 17.1GB free, and just before that error came up, I had 13.2GB free. What's going on!?
I tried exporting the AVI as already DivX-compressed, the only thing is that the video itself becomes distorted on most of the scenes, so I'd rather encode it to DivX using Dr.DivX AFTER exporting the full uncompressed AVI.

Can anyone help me out?
Thanks...

-AMD Athlon XP 2800+ (2.08GHz, 333MHz FSB, 640KB Cache)
-Asus A7N8X (nVidia nForce II)
-1024MB 333MHz DDR SDRAM (PC2700, CAS2.5)
-ATI Radeon 9800Pro 128MB (ATI Catalyst 4.2)
-Microsoft Windows XP Professional Edition (SP1)

Gib007

BSR_RuGGBuTT
02-29-2004, 02:39 PM
Sounds like an error w/your project from Premiere. I can't use my version (Premiere 6.0) because it likes to crash at all the wrong moments so I can't be of help in that area. I use the exact same version of Dr.DivX (5.1.1 codecs) and I haven't had that problem unless there was an issue w/the original video. I don't think I've ever seen the same error message you have but I have gotten other ones.

Go back and Defrag your H/D and see if that helps. I had an issue where I was recording movies and some of my OS information was moved. It's not supposed to happen but when defraging I had no "green" portions on my h/d, they were "red" (fragmented). I had to reinstall my OS!!! Not sure who or what was the culprit but make sure you have plenty of h/d space. I've never seen nor heard of that happening before.

I hope some of this helps you.

http://www.teambsr.com/Pictures/ruggbutt01.gif

Gib007
02-29-2004, 04:24 PM
Actually, it turned out to be the file system I was using on the partition I was exporting the video to. I have always used FAT32 file system, and up until recently, I never knew that FAT32 had a limit on the filesize of any single file being a maximum of 4GB. This meant that a full uncompressed AVI of a big movie could not be stored as a single file (if it exceeded 4GB in size). So I changed it to NTFS and I was successful in exporting my movie...

However, I am not sure if FAT32 is better than NTFS, game performance wise...
Can anybody enlighten me on this?
Thanks...

-AMD Athlon XP 2800+ (2.08GHz, 333MHz FSB, 640KB Cache)
-Asus A7N8X (nVidia nForce II)
-1024MB 333MHz DDR SDRAM (PC2700, CAS2.5)
-ATI Radeon 9800Pro 128MB (ATI Catalyst 4.2)
-Microsoft Windows XP Professional Edition (SP1)

Gib007

TDBONE1
02-29-2004, 04:43 PM
ntfs is same as performance wise from all the test i have seen

i use it and there is only one drawback for me at least

if u use a win98 startup disk to boot and then try and look at any files (or even your hard drives) they will not show up

so you cant manually go in and delete files that way

link to my ftp server
http://home.bellsouth.net/p/PWP-aviationlover

msi k7t266 pro ru-2 (ver2.0 6380)
xp1800+
768ddc pc2100
ait 9800xt
sb live gamer 5.1
lne 100tx
logitech 2.4ghz cordless
ms optical mouse
generic keyboard

BSR_RuGGBuTT
02-29-2004, 09:09 PM
NTFS is supposed to be more "secure" so can password your drives.

http://www.teambsr.com/Pictures/ruggbutt01.gif

TDBONE1
03-01-2004, 03:00 AM
and it is!

ghost dont even like to make image files and can not if you try to create the image file from dos as there is no valid hard drives since it is ntfs format

lol
i have to create my image from winxp desktop then i can restore it to a fat32 hard drive format then i boot up and convert it to ntfs
lol

link to my ftp server
http://home.bellsouth.net/p/PWP-aviationlover

msi k7t266 pro ru-2 (ver2.0 6380)
xp1800+
768ddc pc2100
ait 9800xt
sb live gamer 5.1
lne 100tx
logitech 2.4ghz cordless
ms optical mouse
generic keyboard

Gib007
03-01-2004, 08:08 AM
I never make images of my hard drives anyway, I just do a pure format & reinstall! http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_rolleyes.gif
I seem to enjoy formatting... http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_razz.gif

Anyways, the only downside I've seen to using NTFS is the inability to deal with the files on that NTFS drive through DOS. However, I've been told that you can make a specific type of startup disk that actually allows this dealing with files on NTFS drives through DOS. Anyone know where I can obtain such a startup disk?
I don't think I'll need it, but just in case Windows doesn't startup some day and I need to move some files onto another drive through DOS without having to moving the harddisk drive to another computer! http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_razz.gif

-AMD Athlon XP 2800+ (2.08GHz, 333MHz FSB, 640KB Cache)
-Asus A7N8X (nVidia nForce II)
-1024MB 333MHz DDR SDRAM (PC2700, CAS2.5)
-ATI Radeon 9800Pro 128MB (ATI Catalyst 4.2)
-Microsoft Windows XP Professional Edition (SP1)

Gib007

BSR_RuGGBuTT
03-01-2004, 09:29 AM
I've used DriveImage to image a couple of installations on my computer. It's much easier than doing all the windows updates, hardware and software installs etc........

http://www.teambsr.com/Pictures/ruggbutt01.gif

TDBONE1
03-02-2004, 08:38 AM
BSR_RuGGBuTT:

hes right if you do a fresh format and then do a nice install with all updates and drivers etc..

i always have an image made so i dont have to do that all over again

it takes me 10 mins to restore (on a freshly formatted h.d.) my previous image i made

so you still get your format if you want
what you save is going though windows update, direcx9.0 ie6.0 wmp9 moviemaker2
and so much more
that doesnt count setting all your tweaks you do to windows networking, security, power settings, folder options, etc...

make an image it is better

link to my ftp server
http://home.bellsouth.net/p/PWP-aviationlover

msi k7t266 pro ru-2 (ver2.0 6380)
xp1800+
768ddc pc2100
ait 9800xt
sb live gamer 5.1
lne 100tx
logitech 2.4ghz cordless
ms optical mouse
generic keyboard

BSR_RuGGBuTT
03-02-2004, 12:46 PM
I have a fresh install w/Windows XP Pro, All drivers, LOMAC, CoD, FarCry beta, and my printers and scanner (in that order). It compressed down to about 4 gigs and takes 15 minutes to install. Once you image and restore this way you'll never do it the "old fashioned" way again.

http://www.teambsr.com/Pictures/ruggbutt01.gif

Gib007
03-04-2004, 01:09 PM
Sounds like a good thing to try out to be honest...
Especially with a DVD-Writer, wouldn't be a problem having a nice disk image on a DVD+R or even DVD+RW.

I might make an image next time I format...

-AMD Athlon XP 2800+ (2.08GHz, 333MHz FSB, 640KB Cache)
-Asus A7N8X (nVidia nForce II)
-1024MB 333MHz DDR SDRAM (PC2700, CAS2.5)
-ATI Radeon 9800Pro 128MB (ATI Catalyst 4.2)
-Microsoft Windows XP Professional Edition (SP1)

Gib007

BSR_RuGGBuTT
03-04-2004, 01:44 PM
With Drive Image it will automatically split up the data so it will fit on discs.

http://www.teambsr.com/Pictures/ruggbutt01.gif