PDA

View Full Version : P-40: Where's the fuel guage?



mike_espo
02-18-2004, 07:40 AM
I flew on virtualpilots yesterday and tried out the P-40. Could not find the fuel guage? Does it have one? Does it work?

thanks

mike_espo
02-18-2004, 07:40 AM
I flew on virtualpilots yesterday and tried out the P-40. Could not find the fuel guage? Does it have one? Does it work?

thanks

BaldieJr
02-18-2004, 08:09 AM
Lower-right, 3-meter-movement cluster, if I'm not mistaken.

<pre class="ip-ubbcode-code-pre">
______ _____
(, / ) /) /) , (, /
/---( _ // _(/ _ / __ ,""""]
+----/ ____)(_(_(/_(_(__(__(/____/__/ (__--------,' /---+
| / ( / ,' NR / |
|(_/ ..-""``"'-._ (_/ __,' 42 _/ |
+-.-"" "-..,____________/7,.--"" __]-----+

</pre>

HarryVoyager
02-18-2004, 08:41 AM
Actually, it's on the floor, somewhere around the control column.

Harry Voyager

Cess-Harp
02-18-2004, 08:59 AM
Floor , look down and you will see it by the stick.

BaldieJr
02-18-2004, 09:19 AM
What the heck have I been looking at then?

<pre class="ip-ubbcode-code-pre">
______ _____
(, / ) /) /) , (, /
/---( _ // _(/ _ / __ ,""""]
+----/ ____)(_(_(/_(_(__(__(/____/__/ (__--------,' /---+
| / ( / ,' NR / |
|(_/ ..-""``"'-._ (_/ __,' 42 _/ |
+-.-"" "-..,____________/7,.--"" __]-----+

</pre>

Multimetal
02-18-2004, 09:51 AM
If I remember correctly, the 3-gauge unit is cylinder head temp, oil pressure, and fuel pressure. The fuel gauge is on or near the floor.

h009291
02-18-2004, 09:57 AM
Take a look here:

In the bottom RH corner of the cockpit:

http://img5.photobucket.com/albums/v22/h009291/grab0000.jpg

http://www.medals.org.uk/united-kingdom/images/uk654.jpg

ZG77_Lignite
02-18-2004, 11:14 AM
In the screenshot above, the guage pictured shows Fuel Pressure (along with Temperature and Oil Pressure), not amount of fuel in fuel tanks.

I believe the actual fuel guage is (as mentioned above) located 'underneath' of the right rudder pedal (it is mostly obscured). Though I'm no expert, I'm not sure if it has been confirmed if this fuel guage is actually working; instead it is just a texture. (?)

T_O_A_D
02-18-2004, 11:58 AM
Here it is

http://home.mchsi.com/~tagalong/P-40_fuelgauge.jpg

Its between your feet you will have to zoom in and do a roll and a stall and a shimmy and a shake and do the hoky poky and turn yourself around hehehehe Oh and have plenty of altitude when doing all this http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

TO SEE IT!.

My best guess is it is configured like a Lawnmower fuel gauge with a cork float on a spiral stem. Oh and last I checked it doesn't work.

Have you checked your Private Topics recently? (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?a=ugtpc&s=400102)
131st_Toad's Squad link (http://www.geocities.com/vfw_131st/)
My TrackIR fix, Read the whole thread (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?q=Y&a=tpc&s=400102&f=49310655&m=15310285&p=1)
2.11 drivers (http://home.mchsi.com/~131st-vfw/NaturalPoint_trackIR_2_11.exe)
http://home.mchsi.com/~131st_vfw/T_O_A_D.jpg

SithSpeeder
02-18-2004, 12:43 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>and last I checked it doesn't work.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I'm gonna have to have some words with my mechanic, then. No wonder why I ran out of gas in that baby last night.

* _54th_Speeder *

http://members.cox.net/~ijhutch/_images/400x200sig.jpg

Copperhead310th
02-18-2004, 12:49 PM
Yeah same here! & Cookie (my crew chief) keeps sugesting i take that fulke gauge a shove it up my....well you know....every time i complain about it.

Serously it should really be moved back some so we can see the damn thing. why even have it if we can't use it. Then agin i'm all for haveing fuel & Ammo dipsplayed along with the speed bar.

http://imageshack.us/files/copper%20sig%20with%20rank.jpg
310th FS & 380th BG website (http://www.members.tripod.com/tophatssquadron)

T_O_A_D
02-18-2004, 01:04 PM
Its there because Oleg is such a stinker for realistic http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif I guess then they didn't work then either. hehehe

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Copperhead310th:
Yeah same here! & Cookie (my crew chief) keeps sugesting i take that fulke gauge a shove it up my....well you know....every time i complain about it.

Serously it should really be moved back some so we can see the damn thing. why even have it if we can't use it. Then agin i'm all for haveing fuel & Ammo dipsplayed along with the speed bar.

http://imageshack.us/files/copper%20sig%20with%20rank.jpg
_http://www.members.tripod.com/tophatssquadron
_<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Have you checked your Private Topics recently? (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?a=ugtpc&s=400102)
131st_Toad's Squad link (http://www.geocities.com/vfw_131st/)
My TrackIR fix, Read the whole thread (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?q=Y&a=tpc&s=400102&f=49310655&m=15310285&p=1)
2.11 drivers (http://home.mchsi.com/~131st-vfw/NaturalPoint_trackIR_2_11.exe)
http://home.mchsi.com/~131st_vfw/T_O_A_D.jpg

Bansai Potato
02-18-2004, 01:12 PM
Use SHIFT + F1 to set your pilot back in his seat then press whatever button you use to zoom in/out, zoom all the way out and voila you can see most of the fuel gauge.

p.s i dont think it works, whether i load full fuel or 1/4 fuel it only shows the same amount.

http://homepage.hispeed.ch/Ede_EAF92/EAF/24890632.92EastIndiaSquadronpersonnel.jpg