PDA

View Full Version : newbie questions



XyZspineZyX
10-12-2003, 07:06 AM
So is this battle of britian thing for il-2 or that ms game?

Also, where do you guys play il-2 online? do you need FB to play online? I've been at this game for like a day or so and I still suck, but I can rip into the AI fighters pretty successfully. I want some humans to shoot.

Where's the gauge that counts ammo expenditure? I keep running out of ammo because i'm never sure when i'm running low and my cockpit is in russian...

I really like this game.

XyZspineZyX
10-12-2003, 07:06 AM
So is this battle of britian thing for il-2 or that ms game?

Also, where do you guys play il-2 online? do you need FB to play online? I've been at this game for like a day or so and I still suck, but I can rip into the AI fighters pretty successfully. I want some humans to shoot.

Where's the gauge that counts ammo expenditure? I keep running out of ammo because i'm never sure when i'm running low and my cockpit is in russian...

I really like this game.

XyZspineZyX
10-12-2003, 07:12 AM
WingDragger wrote:
- So is this battle of britian thing for il-2 or that
- ms game?
BOB=Battle of Britain is for Il2 FB in 2005
and there is going to be a bob for CFS3 too.

- Also, where do you guys play il-2 online? do you
- need FB to play online?

http://hyperfighter.jinak.cz/

download hyper lobby v3.3.55 and install and then Check your Six!.

And Welcome/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

----------------------------------------
<center>
http://defence-data.com/storypic/spitfire.jpg

"Take off,is only the beginnigg
Bail out, is YOUR end."

Message Edited on 10/12/0312:13AM by Juego

XyZspineZyX
10-12-2003, 07:28 AM
WingDragger wrote:
- So is this battle of britian thing for il-2 or that
- ms game?

It's a new flight sim that is created by the same company that developed IL-2 Sturmovik & IL-2 Forgotten Battles. It's not due to be released to the public until 2005.

- Also, where do you guys play il-2 online? do you
- need FB to play online?

If you bought the game and have the disk you should be able to play online on Ubi. When you open the game up, click on the multiplayer tab. Then click on the "Play on Ubi" tab. First time around doing this, pay attention and follow the directions. It sets your computer up to connect to the Ubi server and it's easier to do it right the first time.

You can play online with either game, you just have to have the disk.


- I've been at this game for
- like a day or so and I still suck, but I can rip
- into the AI fighters pretty successfully. I want
- some humans to shoot.

On line is where you need to be to shoot real live virtual fighter pilots. Don't get discouraged right away though. AI doesn't come close to being comparable with the real deal. Yes AI are somewhat intelligent. But the operable word there to be aware of is "artificial". And that is what they are. You will realize this soon enough though.


- Where's the gauge that counts ammo expenditure? I
- keep running out of ammo because i'm never sure when
- i'm running low and my cockpit is in russian...
-
- I really like this game.

There's two settings for ammo. Limited and Unlimted. You will have to read the planes specs that you are going to fly. You should find a link on the www.il2sturmovik.com (http://www.il2sturmovik.com) web site. The link is on the left side of the page and should be pretty obvious.


Hope this helps. I'll be looking for you in the virtual skies. There is a program called HyperLobby that is used in the same way that the Ubi server does. I personally like it better. A lot more people fly there. But Ubi is a good place to start. I still fly there every now and again. I ~S~ you sir. Good Luck!
PBNA-Striker

XyZspineZyX
10-12-2003, 08:16 AM
hyperlobby is spot. its set up for online competitions too

www.fighterjocks.net (http://www.fighterjocks.net) home of the 11 time Champions Team AFJ. 6 Years Flying. Semper Invictus! <img src ="http://www.onpoi.net/ah/pics/users/ah_120_1065509047.jpg">

XyZspineZyX
10-12-2003, 08:33 AM
- Where's the gauge that counts ammo expenditure? I
- keep running out of ammo because i'm never sure when
- i'm running low and my cockpit is in russian...

One thing you can do is to take your plane on a quick mission, then fire your guns and count the seconds till you run out of ammo. Then you know how many seconds your ammo will last. So when you´re playing, if you fire in one second bursts, you´ll know how much ammo you have left.

XyZspineZyX
10-12-2003, 10:46 AM
If you're playing in-cockpit mode only, there's no ammo gauge in Russian planes - you tend to find out the hard way when your bullets run out. In the German planes there are three (sometimes four) vertical bars in the centre of the panel - middle one(s) for cannon ammo, the ones on the end for MG ammo. Hope that helps.