PDA

View Full Version : Refined Topic of my Ram Problem! Urgent!



IZT
09-08-2004, 07:56 AM
This is my mainboard http://www.msi.com.tw/program/products/mainboard/mbd/pro_mbd_detail.php?UID=413

I just bought a kingston memry today 512mb and it cost me some, i don't have much money as a student.

Also both my ram old and new are of the EXACT same speed and size ie. 512mb!

i installed it and poof my computer won't start then when i remove it yes the computer can start. i think my mianboard definitely supports this kingston memory. furthermore, i doubt its compatibility error. Please Help?

posted 08-09-04 06:01
memory type/speed PC2700 333mhz Kingston
What Operating system Win Xp
Any other memory sticks in there? Yes, PC2700 333mhz Nanya
Tried stick alone
NO GO, the computer is all up and running but my lcd screen has no signal.

i tried switching slots for both memory sticks but the computer is u and running whirring sound and all but the lcd screen has no signal same as above. PLease Help!

Look i even checked this site, it says my ram is compatibe with my mother board! And its the KINGSTON website!
http://www.ec.kingston.com/shop/modelsinfo.asp

[This message was edited by IZT on Wed September 08 2004 at 07:05 AM.]

IZT
09-08-2004, 07:56 AM
This is my mainboard http://www.msi.com.tw/program/products/mainboard/mbd/pro_mbd_detail.php?UID=413

I just bought a kingston memry today 512mb and it cost me some, i don't have much money as a student.

Also both my ram old and new are of the EXACT same speed and size ie. 512mb!

i installed it and poof my computer won't start then when i remove it yes the computer can start. i think my mianboard definitely supports this kingston memory. furthermore, i doubt its compatibility error. Please Help?

posted 08-09-04 06:01
memory type/speed PC2700 333mhz Kingston
What Operating system Win Xp
Any other memory sticks in there? Yes, PC2700 333mhz Nanya
Tried stick alone
NO GO, the computer is all up and running but my lcd screen has no signal.

i tried switching slots for both memory sticks but the computer is u and running whirring sound and all but the lcd screen has no signal same as above. PLease Help!

Look i even checked this site, it says my ram is compatibe with my mother board! And its the KINGSTON website!
http://www.ec.kingston.com/shop/modelsinfo.asp

[This message was edited by IZT on Wed September 08 2004 at 07:05 AM.]

Supr
09-08-2004, 08:11 AM
maybe its just a bad stick, does the system boot with only the new ram dimm installed? Have you tried the new ram in another system to see if it works there? if not, first thing i'd do is return it, and try a new stick. Good luck

lil_labbit
09-08-2004, 08:18 AM
If it is the same as the other stick
If it is compatible according to Kingston
If switching sticks does not help

99% possibility it is defective http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

These things are very static-sensitive - ground yourself when handling or at least touch the computer frame for some seconds before handling...

http://members.home.nl/lil.labbit/lilseesya.jpg
Question: Did you back-up your files?
Answer: I didn't know they had a reverse...

horseback
09-08-2004, 08:25 AM
Sounds like you have a bad stick of RAM. It happens. Take it back to the store and get a good one, but this time, put it into the motherboard alone first. That will prove that the new RAM works or doesn't, without the issue of compatibility with the other stick.

Then add your original stick of RAM, and see if they can work together. Sometimes, two perfectly good sticks of RAM just don't want to work together, which is why I tend to stay with one brand (Kingston) as much as possible.

One other issue may be in play here. If you aren't using an ESD (ElectroStatic Discharge) wrist strap, you may be damaging your RAM by handling it when you're improperly grounded. If you don't have one, get one, and use it faithfully whenever you put your hands inside your computer or handle your circuit card assemblies.

I've been working in the electronics field for almost thirty years, and the solid state circuitry we use today is much more sensitive to static shock than the discrete components we were using when I started. Using the strap and putting the components back inside the ESD safe bag or plastic container will cut way down on the chances of you damaging or destroying your circuitry just by touching it.

cheers

horseback

"Here's your new Mustangs, boys. You can learn to fly'em on the way to the target. Cheers!" -LTCOL Don Blakeslee, 4th FG CO, February 27th, 1944

IZT
09-08-2004, 08:30 AM
defective?!? DAMN! i mean the ram actually looks as good as new!

lil_labbit
09-08-2004, 08:38 AM
Looks aren't important - it's character that counts http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/59.gif

http://members.home.nl/lil.labbit/lilseesya.jpg
Question: Did you back-up your files?
Answer: I didn't know they had a reverse...

clint-ruin
09-08-2004, 08:42 AM
On static shocks, I would just like to repeat what was said upthread and say beware. A lot of common hardware components are now so sensitive [and have been for a while] that a shock that you can't feel through your fingers is still enough to fry things. So please get a wrist strap, or at least touch grounded metal very very regularly while you're working.

Goes for just about anything with exposed chips these days, not just memory.

http://users.bigpond.net.au/gwen/fb/leninkoba.jpg