PDA

View Full Version : Bug Report: Lighting



Dark_Knight_667
09-03-2003, 10:22 AM
Take up any aircraft, Put the sun behind part of the cockpit, ie one of the metal parts of the canopy. As it is now it darkens the inside of the cockpit (as it should) But also darkens the outside world, ie ground etc as it shouldn't. At least not to the same degree. It acts just as if a cloud is in front of the sun. It shouldn't be to that degree.

Another bug. Firing rockets at trains results in instant death for the player. Either by black screen then crash, or instant explosion when no hits have been taken.

DK

http://members.cox.net/cptdarkknight/bkbanner.jpg


The Knights have arrived. AMD 2700 XP, Radeon 9800 Pro, Turtle Beach Santa Cruz, 30 gig hdd, Gigabyte GA-7VT600-L, 52x cd rom, microsoft intellimouse explorer, Saitek x45 HOTAS

<center><a href="http://www.bloggerheads.com/mash_quiz/" target="mash"><img src="http://www.bloggerheads.com/mash_quiz/images/mash_hawkeye.jpg" width="205" height="95" border="0"

Dark_Knight_667
09-03-2003, 10:22 AM
Take up any aircraft, Put the sun behind part of the cockpit, ie one of the metal parts of the canopy. As it is now it darkens the inside of the cockpit (as it should) But also darkens the outside world, ie ground etc as it shouldn't. At least not to the same degree. It acts just as if a cloud is in front of the sun. It shouldn't be to that degree.

Another bug. Firing rockets at trains results in instant death for the player. Either by black screen then crash, or instant explosion when no hits have been taken.

DK

http://members.cox.net/cptdarkknight/bkbanner.jpg


The Knights have arrived. AMD 2700 XP, Radeon 9800 Pro, Turtle Beach Santa Cruz, 30 gig hdd, Gigabyte GA-7VT600-L, 52x cd rom, microsoft intellimouse explorer, Saitek x45 HOTAS

<center><a href="http://www.bloggerheads.com/mash_quiz/" target="mash"><img src="http://www.bloggerheads.com/mash_quiz/images/mash_hawkeye.jpg" width="205" height="95" border="0"

Dark_Knight_667
09-03-2003, 10:34 AM
More explanation of second bug.

Attacking a railroad yard, 4 Yak 1's, I'm second in flight. Upon approach to target sighted a train somewhat off by itself and rolled in, knowing that 1, 3, and 4 would make short work of the rail yard with their rockets.

Upon approach to the train found it had a gun car towards the back..looked to be second car in, rest of the train was loaded with vehicles of some type under tarps. Both guns on the gun car were firing but missing wide. Fired two rockets into the car at about 600 meters distance and five hundred altitude..slant range approximately 700 meters. soon as the rockets hit (direct hit by the way, tyvm) Black screen..two seconds later showed my smoking crater. Reflew the mission three times, approaching the same train from different angles. Every time I hit the gun car with rockets I either instantly exploaded in mid air, or black screen followed by shot of smoking crater. Plane had not been hit at all.

DK

http://members.cox.net/cptdarkknight/bkbanner.jpg


The Knights have arrived. AMD 2700 XP, Radeon 9800 Pro, Turtle Beach Santa Cruz, 30 gig hdd, Gigabyte GA-7VT600-L, 52x cd rom, microsoft intellimouse explorer, Saitek x45 HOTAS

<center><a href="http://www.bloggerheads.com/mash_quiz/" target="mash"><img src="http://www.bloggerheads.com/mash_quiz/images/mash_hawkeye.jpg" width="205" height="95" border="0"

Hunter82
09-03-2003, 12:08 PM
The read me clearly states to e-mail bug reports...it may not go reported if used here.

=======================================
Ubisoft IL2/Lock On Moderator
ATI Catalyst Driver Beta Tester
Hunter82 wrote:"I did not have technical relations with that question"
Mudmovers (http://www.mudmovers.com/) </center>
=======================================

XyZspineZyX
09-03-2003, 12:13 PM
Can you make a track of that? i'd like to see it. Maybe you hit some debris or something.

XyZspineZyX
09-03-2003, 01:07 PM
Dark_Knight_667 wrote:
- Take up any aircraft, Put the sun behind part of the
- cockpit, ie one of the metal parts of the canopy.
- As it is now it darkens the inside of the cockpit
- (as it should) But also darkens the outside world,
- ie ground etc as it shouldn't. At least not to the
- same degree. It acts just as if a cloud is in front
- of the sun. It shouldn't be to that degree.

If you look into direct sunlight your iris with reduce in size to stop damage to your retina. This has the effect of making ALL the surrounding area of vision darker. Well done to Oleg for getting that right!

I'd never join a club that would have ME as a member!!.

XyZspineZyX
09-03-2003, 01:53 PM
I don't think that Oleg had done this intentionally. It is a bug, nothing else.

Dark_Knight_667
09-03-2003, 07:02 PM
Walk outside on a bright sunny day, take your hand and cover the direction of the sun..does the ground in front of you get darker? No, it does not..only the glare from your eye is removed.

DK

http://members.cox.net/cptdarkknight/bkbanner.jpg


The Knights have arrived. AMD 2700 XP, Radeon 9800 Pro, Turtle Beach Santa Cruz, 30 gig hdd, Gigabyte GA-7VT600-L, 52x cd rom, microsoft intellimouse explorer, Saitek x45 HOTAS

<center><a href="http://www.bloggerheads.com/mash_quiz/" target="mash"><img src="http://www.bloggerheads.com/mash_quiz/images/mash_hawkeye.jpg" width="205" height="95" border="0"

Dark_Knight_667
09-04-2003, 03:08 AM
Found another train bug..it appears that trains want to go cross country sometimes. Uploaded a track to oleg showing this..attacked two trains totally destroying both (guns only, no rockets) one of which was in the middle of a field..not on the track which was approximately 300 meters away.

DK

http://members.cox.net/cptdarkknight/bkbanner.jpg


The Knights have arrived. AMD 2700 XP, Radeon 9800 Pro, Turtle Beach Santa Cruz, 30 gig hdd, Gigabyte GA-7VT600-L, 52x cd rom, microsoft intellimouse explorer, Saitek x45 HOTAS

<center><a href="http://www.bloggerheads.com/mash_quiz/" target="mash"><img src="http://www.bloggerheads.com/mash_quiz/images/mash_hawkeye.jpg" width="205" height="95" border="0"

XyZspineZyX
09-04-2003, 09:50 AM
Trains going cross country is quite well known.

This mainly occurs when asking the FMB to compute a waypoint without manually marking in each turn along the track.

The FMB will do its best to make the waypoints follow the track object, but the waypoints it generates automatically do not always match up with the 3d world.

I believe some people claim they've seen this happen even when manually marking in each turn along the trains path, but I've never found that to be the case myself.

Regarding exploding trains, I think you're probably blowing up a fuel or ammunition car, and the blast is exploding your plane. There is a delayed action blast that destroys surrounding objects whenever any 'explosive' object, such as Zis5Fuel, OpelBlitzFuel, fuel train cars, ammo cars, etc, is destroyed. I'm almost certain that you're flying into this. It's "invisible" in the game world, but it can extend for a good 150+ metres from the point of impact. Place a bunch of static aircraft around a fuel truck in the FMB, and blow up the fuel truck with your guns. Watch how much is destroyed around the truck when it blows.

I've never encountered any such bug in either 1.0, 1.0b8, or 1.1b with using rockets on trains. Try setting your rocket convergence [read: explosive timer for VVS] to a much longer distance and try pegging the trains at longer range.

Dark_Knight_667
09-05-2003, 10:04 AM
This was a cap..the two trains I attacked just happened to be near the cap area..so on the way back..target of opportunity..the mission wasn't to attack the trains..but was for air superiority..

DK

http://members.cox.net/cptdarkknight/bkbanner.jpg


The Knights have arrived. AMD 2700 XP, Radeon 9800 Pro, Turtle Beach Santa Cruz, 30 gig hdd, Gigabyte GA-7VT600-L, 52x cd rom, microsoft intellimouse explorer, Saitek x45 HOTAS

<center><a href="http://www.bloggerheads.com/mash_quiz/" target="mash"><img src="http://www.bloggerheads.com/mash_quiz/images/mash_hawkeye.jpg" width="205" height="95" border="0"