PDA

View Full Version : ground target icons



gonnagetyou
08-29-2004, 11:27 AM
I'm having a very difficult time tracking and spotting ground targets. I remember that you used to be able to turn on icons for ground targets. They were simple red boxes that would bracket the target when you came within a certain distance.

Is this option still available? If so how do I turn it back on?

gonnagetyou
08-29-2004, 11:27 AM
I'm having a very difficult time tracking and spotting ground targets. I remember that you used to be able to turn on icons for ground targets. They were simple red boxes that would bracket the target when you came within a certain distance.

Is this option still available? If so how do I turn it back on?

-HH- Beebop
08-29-2004, 06:21 PM
F4 for enemy aircraft, F5 for enemy ground. Add Shift to the above for friendly.

Make sure you have the keys assigned in the "Controls" panel in FB.

Hope that helped.

http://img10.imageshack.us/img10/9334/Image6.jpg
HellHounds Virtual Air Wing

h009291
08-29-2004, 06:51 PM
Yes:

F5 - Padlock Enemy Ground ... IF Padlock is enabled in game.

F7 - External Padlock Enemy Ground .... IF External Views is enabled in game.

http://www.medals.org.uk/united-kingdom/images/uk654.jpg

Bearcat99
08-29-2004, 07:44 PM
For ground targets it will put an upside down arrow over the target.

<UL TYPE=SQUARE>http://www.jodavidsmeyer.com/combat/bookstore/tuskegeebondposter.jpg (http://www.tuskegeeairmen.org)[/list]<UL TYPE=SQUARE>vflyer@comcast.net [/list]<UL TYPE=SQUARE>99thPursuit Squadron IL2 Forgotten Battles (http://www.geocities.com/rt_bearcat)[/list]
UDQMG (http://www.uberdemon.com/index2.html) | HYPERLOBBY (http://hyperfighter.jinak.cz/) | Sturmovik Essentials (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?a=tpc&s=400102&f=23110283&m=51910959) | MUDMOVERS (http://magnum-pc.netfirms.com/mudmovers/index.htm)

IMMERSION BABY!!

gonnagetyou
08-29-2004, 07:45 PM
I use F5 a lot. My problem is literally being able to see the targets. I remember that when the game first came out that if you had icons enabled, then ground targets would have either a red or blue square around them similar to icons for aircraft if you came within a certain range. It was very handy. I'm wondering what happened to this function.

gonnagetyou
08-29-2004, 07:49 PM
That's strange Bearcat99. I don't get these arrows you are speaking of. I wonder if I have a bad install or a bug. This is the only problem I've ran into since I reinstalled the game.

steve_v
08-29-2004, 08:06 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by gonnagetyou:
That's strange Bearcat99. I don't get these arrows you are speaking of. I wonder if I have a bad install or a bug. This is the only problem I've ran into since I reinstalled the game.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>No bug or bad install. Run in ogl, not directx. You can get a/c padlock, but not ground targets in directx.

http://home.earthlink.net/~viner45/sitebuildercontent/sitebuilderpictures/airwarfare3.jpg (http://www.airwarfare.com/)

Unofficial Community Created FAQ (http://www.airwarfare.com/sturmovik_101/faq_index.htm)

gonnagetyou
08-29-2004, 09:25 PM
Thanks steve_V!

Tully__
08-30-2004, 02:00 AM
There were never boxes around ground targets except for the arrow over a padlocked ground target. You may be thinking of a different game, some other sims have ground target bracketing with icons on.

=================================================


http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/sig.jpg

Tully's X-45 profile (SST drivers) (http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/fb.zip)

Salut
Tully