PDA

View Full Version : CH Pro throttle key assignments? RBJ? Anybody?



XyZspineZyX
09-26-2003, 01:06 AM
I just picked up one of these and I must say I'm impressed with the quality and multitude of functions. There are so many that I thought I would benefit from others who have found a good key assignment for them.

Any suggestions are welcome.

TB





http://home.earthlink.net/~aclzkim1/sitebuildercontent/sitebuilderpictures/il2sig2.jpg

XyZspineZyX
09-26-2003, 01:06 AM
I just picked up one of these and I must say I'm impressed with the quality and multitude of functions. There are so many that I thought I would benefit from others who have found a good key assignment for them.

Any suggestions are welcome.

TB





http://home.earthlink.net/~aclzkim1/sitebuildercontent/sitebuilderpictures/il2sig2.jpg

XyZspineZyX
09-26-2003, 02:25 AM
I sorta get tired of saying similar things over and over again, so hopefully you'll forgive me if I just post a couple of links. Feel free to PM me with questions.

http://forums.ubi.com/messages/message_view-topic.asp?name=us_il2sturmovik_gd&id=zcdwo

http://forums.ubi.com/messages/message_view-topic.asp?name=us_il2sturmovik_gd&id=zbzan

------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"When my brother and I built and flew the first man-carrying flying machine, we thought that we were introducing into the world an invention which would make further wars impossible..."

Orville Wright, 1917

XyZspineZyX
09-26-2003, 01:08 PM
Thanks Lead. /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif




http://home.earthlink.net/~aclzkim1/sitebuildercontent/sitebuilderpictures/il2sig2.jpg

XyZspineZyX
09-26-2003, 05:35 PM
VERY WELL PUT TOGETHER STICK! I just use the hotas feature in the game.. Also, whats nice the the trimming the stick from the dials so nicely provided for ya on the stick already.. I fly with this stick religously.. WOuld not fly without it!!

XyZspineZyX
09-26-2003, 06:32 PM
Cdn.401WOOD wrote:
- VERY WELL PUT TOGETHER STICK! I just use the hotas
- feature in the game.. Also, whats nice the the
- trimming the stick from the dials so nicely provided
- for ya on the stick already.. I fly with this stick
- religously.. WOuld not fly without it!!


What dials? It's got buttons and a thumbstick.

Put your trim on the throttle wheel of the MS FFB2.


"The Force is strong with this one." -What an ace said of RayBanJockey during a fight when he was still a newbie.
<a href=http://www.theinformationminister.com/press.php?ID=612109283>news update</a>

XyZspineZyX
09-26-2003, 10:55 PM
I don't know enough about FB yet to say how effective trim is, but after viewing that "news" flash, I know that this RayBan dude is funny. LOL

"Remember, that's war. We're all in one boat. He who thinks only of himself will destroy himself too. Such selfishness will not be tolerated!"


Kambei Shimada, Seven Samurai

http://www.filmsondisc.com/images/7samurai4.jpg

XyZspineZyX
09-27-2003, 01:04 AM
You mean USB or Gameport version.. ? I have gameport, and I could send my profiles.. though they are not that special, but they work well for me /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

____________________________________



Official Sig:



<center>http://koti.mbnet.fi/vipez/shots/Vipez4.jpg </center>

XyZspineZyX
09-27-2003, 03:20 AM
I've had the CH throttle for three or four months now. Still very impressed with it.

Don't know that this will be much help, but here is my set up...

I created the following image to help me set up the button assignments-- (and remember them later if for some reason I lose the settings). The tags are shorthand, but you should figure out what they are.

I tried to put all the view controls in the most easily accessible locations as that's what I spend most of my time doing... looking around. I'm trying out that NewView app. and it has taken over some of my padlock keys. So far its working great.

The only thing on the throttle that I haven't found a use for is the mouse thing. Anyone got a good use for that thing?


DxyFlyr



http://home.earthlink.net/~sim4812/images/Control%20Mapping-lo.jpg

DxyFlyr

XyZspineZyX
09-27-2003, 04:06 AM
All of these have helped very much. What I finally ended up doing is sitting down for an hour or so and wrote down most all of the commands I use most in the game, then tried to figure the most ergonomic way of applying them to the throttle. I sketched a rough pic of the device and assigned the commands until I got a set up that seemed decent.

I've still got some tweaking, but it's coming along. When I'm done, I'll post my final setup. I also just discovered that CH has a JPEG that is available for DL to aid in the mapping process but have been unable to get it to open.

here is the link: http://www.chproducts.com/retail/Maps.htm

At the bottom of the page is a link for the "Keeboard JPG" for the Pro Throttle. If anyone can obtain this, please let me know as I would very much like to use it too.

Thanks

TB



http://home.earthlink.net/~aclzkim1/sitebuildercontent/sitebuilderpictures/il2sig2.jpg

XyZspineZyX
09-27-2003, 10:50 AM
CH:
To download JPG : Mouse right button then 'save target as...'

There are pdf templates at :
http://www.fubarsquad.com/ -> see CH products

Bye

XyZspineZyX
09-27-2003, 04:19 PM
CH-products are the most long-lasting.. I bought mY CH F-16 Combat Stick + Pro throttle on christmas year 1992 or 93 (don't remember /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif .. means These things are over 10 years old, and still fully working ..



____________________________________



Official Sig:



<center>http://koti.mbnet.fi/vipez/shots/Vipez4.jpg </center>

XyZspineZyX
09-27-2003, 08:09 PM
O.K. Here's another question. I want to map 2 hotkeys for my TrackIR to buttons three and four on the throttle. (specifically, "Toggle on/off" and "center".) I went into the TIR manager and tried using the key assignment window, but the TIR doesn't seem to recognize the buttons.

Any ideas?

Thanks guys

TB

http://home.earthlink.net/~aclzkim1/sitebuildercontent/sitebuilderpictures/il2sig2.jpg

XyZspineZyX
09-27-2003, 08:25 PM
I'm not familiar with the TrackIR stuff since I don't own one, but I think I know what you need to do. Try setting keyboard commands for the functions in the TrackIR software, then programming the Pro Throttle to send those keystrokes. To do this in Control Manager, click on the button you want to assign, then uncheck the DirectX box. If the keyboard command is something like Ctrl-K or a function key (i.e. F10) you need to right-click on the keystroke box and select "Record Keystrokes".

------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"When my brother and I built and flew the first man-carrying flying machine, we thought that we were introducing into the world an invention which would make further wars impossible..."

Orville Wright, 1917

XyZspineZyX
09-27-2003, 08:28 PM
Thunderbolt56 wrote:
- O.K. Here's another question. I want to map 2
- hotkeys for my TrackIR to buttons three and four on
- the throttle. (specifically, "Toggle on/off" and
- "center".) I went into the TIR manager and tried
- using the key assignment window, but the TIR doesn't
- seem to recognize the buttons.
-
- Any ideas?
-
- Thanks guys
-
- TB

Try to map everything in CH Manager. Assign button 3 to F9 and button 4 to F12. Why to rub your left ear with right hand? I allways try to map everything in one single manager to keep track of mappings. Imagine mapping some functions in trackIR manager, some in CH Manager and some in Sidewinder software and you will have a complete mess...

XyZspineZyX
09-27-2003, 08:37 PM
Hell yeah! My brain is scrambled from staying up til 2 a.m. setting up the new monitor and programming the throttle and re-learning to fly with my right hand. I knew I saw something like this, but had little or no idea of where to start.

Big thanks /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

TB

http://home.earthlink.net/~aclzkim1/sitebuildercontent/sitebuilderpictures/il2sig2.jpg


Message Edited on 09/27/0310:36PM by Thunderbolt56

XyZspineZyX
09-27-2003, 11:22 PM
If you need to map ANY keys to control TIR in flight you can't have it set up properly.

I just have to press f12 once to centre the view after loading the software and that's it. Centre view is always on the money, all night long. With a good dead zone you don't have to ever pause TIR to shoot.

I even have a wheeled chair on a hardwood floor and can get up to get another drink if necessary, come back and ready to fly.


<center>http://mywebpage.netscape.com/nyngje/charvel.JPG