PDA

View Full Version : Need 2nd Opinion



Grubenstein
04-06-2004, 05:24 AM
I am lookin to upgrade, but can't make my mind up whether to get a ATI Radeon 9800 Pro 128mb for 145 and replace GF4 card or upgrade to 1gb memory 171 (will need to replace 2 256mb dimms as mother board will only take 2 slots at PC2700)

Which do you think will be the most beneficial to my system in terms of IL2FB play and other sim for that matter???

As you can see there is not alot in the price diff so tough choice for me.

Let me know what you think

Grubes

Grubenstein
04-06-2004, 05:24 AM
I am lookin to upgrade, but can't make my mind up whether to get a ATI Radeon 9800 Pro 128mb for 145 and replace GF4 card or upgrade to 1gb memory 171 (will need to replace 2 256mb dimms as mother board will only take 2 slots at PC2700)

Which do you think will be the most beneficial to my system in terms of IL2FB play and other sim for that matter???

As you can see there is not alot in the price diff so tough choice for me.

Let me know what you think

Grubes

B16Enk
04-06-2004, 05:31 AM
Would be better placed on the Community Help forum..but.

You will get a more dependable answer if you post your Dxdiag, Dxdiag Instructions (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?a=tpc&s=400102&f=49310655&m=314103891&r=305103092#305103092) if needed.

Which GF4 card is it?
What CPU do you have?

THe dxdiag will help to make sure you get the most out of whatever you choose - BTW I went from a GF4Ti4200 to an ATI 9800 (XT) and was blown away!

Tully__
04-06-2004, 05:32 AM
While the consensus (mostly) seems to be that the 9800 gives better graphics than the GF4, I suspect that you'll get better gameplay improvement out of the mem upgrage, particularly if you're flying offline campaigns on the Gulf of Finland (Leningrad) map or the Berlin map, or really busy coops/DF's.

=================================================


http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/sig.jpg

IL2 Forums Moderator
Forum Terms of Use (http://www.ubi.com/US/Info/TermsOfUse.htm)

Salut
Tully

B16Enk
04-06-2004, 05:36 AM
Well said Tully!

I should have added that I already had 1Gb RAM.

Grubenstein
04-06-2004, 05:37 AM
Sorry half the massage did not copy through

I have a

AMD ATHLON XP 2000+
512MB DDR RAM PC2700
NVIDIA GEFORCE 4 TI4600 128MB
AUDIGY SOUNDCARD

Tully__
04-06-2004, 05:52 AM
Now that we have system spec, RAM. Those annoying pauses will mostly disappear http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

=================================================


http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/sig.jpg

IL2 Forums Moderator
Forum Terms of Use (http://www.ubi.com/US/Info/TermsOfUse.htm)

Salut
Tully

Grubenstein
04-06-2004, 06:30 AM
Thanks 4 advice, though imo ram is expensive at mo so might wait till price drops thanks

Grubes