PDA

View Full Version : How to get Kph



Wannabe-Pilot
01-20-2004, 12:46 PM
How can i change the digital indicator in the bottom left of my screen to show kph instead of mph? I'm European so i can't "think" in miles only kilometers. Whenever i do a speed check i have to multiply it by 1,6 and by the time I do all that calculating, the battle is usually over with me falling down in flames, my wings broken... http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif I've tried the in-game menu and such but i can't find such an option anywhere.

Wannabe-Pilot
01-20-2004, 12:46 PM
How can i change the digital indicator in the bottom left of my screen to show kph instead of mph? I'm European so i can't "think" in miles only kilometers. Whenever i do a speed check i have to multiply it by 1,6 and by the time I do all that calculating, the battle is usually over with me falling down in flames, my wings broken... http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif I've tried the in-game menu and such but i can't find such an option anywhere.

BlitzPig_Ritter
01-20-2004, 12:50 PM
How on earth did you get it to MPH? Mine has always been KPH. As a result (I'm from the US) I actually do have a better grasp for the metric system now.

______________________________
Formerly Known as: Die_Ritterkreuz
http://ritterkreuz.freewebspace.com/images/sig2ubi.jpg (http://www.il2skins.com/?action=list&authoridfilter=Ritterkreuz&ts=1067024271&comefrom=credits)

carguy_
01-20-2004, 12:58 PM
AFAIK speedbar is always in kph,only cockpit gauges depend on da plane.

http://carguy.w.interia.pl/tracki/sig23d.jpg

AirBot
01-20-2004, 01:04 PM
I'm sorry to say you've been trying to convert KPh to KPh all this time http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif
Speedbar is always in KPh, cockpit gauges may vary according to country (but most in FB use the metric system).

jamieandnici
01-20-2004, 01:14 PM
As Homer once said, Dohhhhhh!!!!! LOL

Wannabe-Pilot
01-20-2004, 01:15 PM
It can't be kph, I've never managed to get it above 400 and some in a level flight with full throttle and no maneuvaring. And these aircraft can go over 600 easily. Therefore it must be mph. Once I got an 190 to go over 500 in a dive (which is slightly over 750 kph, about right for an aircraft in a steep dive).

Wannabe-Pilot
01-20-2004, 01:34 PM
OK I've just done a quick test. I took a 109K-4, went to full throttle and MW50 and - nothing. I can't break 450. And this aircraft was supposed to go over 700 kph. How do you explain that? I have no other explanation than that it must be mph.

Maple_Tiger
01-20-2004, 01:42 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Wannabe-Pilot:
OK I've just done a quick test. I took a 109K-4, went to full throttle and MW50 and - nothing. I can't break 450. And this aircraft was supposed to go over 700 kph. How do you explain that? I have no other explanation than that it must be mph.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Well for example the BF109K4 use's the metric system. The speed bar on ur screen is indicated and so is the gauge in your cockpit.

Now while your in a plane and want to find out how fast it can go at any altitude then you need TAS(True air Speed) not indicated.

To get TAS just press CTRL and F1, you may need to press it twice to get back into your cockpit though. The higher you go the more of a differance there will be between TAS and indicated.

KGr.HH-Sunburst
01-20-2004, 01:44 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Wannabe-Pilot:
OK I've just done a quick test. I took a 109K-4, went to full throttle and MW50 and - nothing. I can't break 450. And this aircraft was supposed to go over 700 kph. How do you explain that? I have no other explanation than that it must be mph.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


At what altitude did u test that ? do u use cockpit on or off ?

cus if u read the speedbar IAS=indicated air speed and u are at lets say 7000m and ur speedbar says ur doing 450 ur TAS=true airspeed can be much higher like 650 kph

so give us a bit more detail

http://www.warhawks.tk/
http://www.digital-d.nl/fotos/sunburstsig.jpg

Wannabe-Pilot
01-20-2004, 01:56 PM
Actually I was at 7000 meters. I had cockpit on, of course. I didn't quite understand what you wrote can you elabotrate a bit.

oFZo
01-20-2004, 02:06 PM
The speed on the gauge in cockpit and the speedbar show IAS,Indicated Air Speed. This is not the same as TAS, True Air Speed, which is (much) higher, depending on alt. There's a conversion chart on disk2 IIRC.

-oFZo
http://homepage.ntlworld.com/paul.bryant3/ETSigHolland.gif
Founding member and Offical Keeper of The Herbs of the Eurotrolls.

"The Lord is coming. Look busy."

michapma
01-20-2004, 03:02 PM
What they say is correct, the speedbar is in kph. Not 100% sure it's IAS though, I've seen lots of significant variation between IAS in metric cockpits and the speedbar reading.

If you can't get these planes going as fast as they should, you should maybe check that you're doing everything correctly. As stupid as it sounds, check even that you have the flaps up. You can surely get a Focker Wulf up to 750kph in a dive.

Get in a German plane and compare the speedbar setting to the airspeed indicator, they should be the same.

http://www.baseclass.modulweb.dk/69giap/fileadmin/Image_Archive/badges/69giap_badge_chap.jpg (http://giap.webhop.info)

The ongoing IL-2 User's Guide (http://people.ee.ethz.ch/~chapman/il2guide/) | Forgotten Skies (http://www.forgottenskies.com/)

tttiger
01-20-2004, 03:29 PM
Did you remember to raise your landing gear?

(Sorry, I couldn't resist....http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif)

The TAS versus IAS difference can be huge at high altitude. The gauges and speed bar are showing you Indicated Air Speed. I don't have a conversion chart handy, but if I recall, at around 30,000 feet the True Air Speed is about 60% higher than the IAS your gaugaes are showing.

I think there is a chart in Disc 2 or just do a Google search for one on the web. Temperature is a variable but I know there are conversion charts out there for basic calculations.

Try it at sea level where the two should be pretty much equal. And compare what you get against the data provided in the game. Should be pretty close.

I suspect altitude is the factor you aren't considering.

Or...your gear is still down http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

ttt

"I want the one that kills the best with the least amount of risk to me"

-- Chuck Yeager describing "The Best Airplane."

[This message was edited by tttiger on Tue January 20 2004 at 02:39 PM.]