PDA

View Full Version : You all upgraded yet?



Slammin_
05-17-2004, 05:37 PM
Long ago I found out that I had to limit the number of ground objects, amount and type of AAA and other 'goodies' due to the varied capability of all the machines out there. Well, for the past few days I have been tweaking maps/missions and adding more 'stuffs'.

Usually, or in the past, this 'stuff' causes video lag for many. I do think that most of us that were playing the original IL-2 have upgraded a component or two since, so I am experimenting some.

I've only tweaked a couple of maps so far but am wanting to tweak the remainder of the rotation. My ultimate goal is for fast action, imminent danger all around and death kicking those with no regard for surviving.

Again, only a few maps are tweaked so far (added ship targets and battle ships, as well as more AAA) and I'm really interested in how this extra load is affecting your machines.

If possible (your machines allowing) I'd really love to create some cool bait-type maps where there is a HUGE prize for the team that can take the bait and still survive. At the same time, the consequences of failure would lead to a MAP CHANGE for the losing team :P

Really, with all the addons we have from our community, the fun factor is, and has been limited by our PC's. I know this for a fact. It still may be the case too, but I wanna reach some here and see where we are. Please bear with me and offer feedback.

Thanks,

S!

Slammin

Slammin_
05-17-2004, 05:37 PM
Long ago I found out that I had to limit the number of ground objects, amount and type of AAA and other 'goodies' due to the varied capability of all the machines out there. Well, for the past few days I have been tweaking maps/missions and adding more 'stuffs'.

Usually, or in the past, this 'stuff' causes video lag for many. I do think that most of us that were playing the original IL-2 have upgraded a component or two since, so I am experimenting some.

I've only tweaked a couple of maps so far but am wanting to tweak the remainder of the rotation. My ultimate goal is for fast action, imminent danger all around and death kicking those with no regard for surviving.

Again, only a few maps are tweaked so far (added ship targets and battle ships, as well as more AAA) and I'm really interested in how this extra load is affecting your machines.

If possible (your machines allowing) I'd really love to create some cool bait-type maps where there is a HUGE prize for the team that can take the bait and still survive. At the same time, the consequences of failure would lead to a MAP CHANGE for the losing team :P

Really, with all the addons we have from our community, the fun factor is, and has been limited by our PC's. I know this for a fact. It still may be the case too, but I wanna reach some here and see where we are. Please bear with me and offer feedback.

Thanks,

S!

Slammin

VW-IceFire
05-17-2004, 05:41 PM
Even with my relatively fast machine (AMD 2700+, Radeon 9700Pro, 512mb RAM, etc.) I can still make things much slower than is preferable by my standards and it doesn't take much.

The biggest problem I find however is when someone puts alot of items all in exactly the same spot. Neat rows of tanks and aircraft...those are killers to the frame rates (I once tried to create a tank factory). Spread out however I notice things are a little easier on the FPS...still hurts overall mind you but thats more of a memory than a video thing.

Not sure which is worse http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Everything in moderation.

http://home.cogeco.ca/~cczerneda/sigs/tmv-sig1.jpg
RCAF 412 Falcon Squadron - "Swift to Avenge"

TgD Thunderbolt56
05-17-2004, 05:47 PM
I run a fairly "stout" rig right now, but am 3/4 done with my newest build.

I currently have this:

P4 2.8 533
1024 RDRam pc800
Intel i850 mobo
FX 5900 ultra 256
Creative Audigy2 Platinum
dual 60 gig eide hd's
Samsung 192N 19" LCD monitor
numerous optical drives and controllers

I'm building this:
P4 3.4 800
1024 registered matched Corsair pc4400
Nvidia 6800 Ultra
Audigy 2ZS Platinum
Dual 120gig maxtor sata hd's
other items the same (oh! and a nice new CoolerMaster aluminum case)

The only thing I lack is the vid card. Maybe it will be out when the patch arrives.

TB
(notice my specs AREN'T in my sig)



http://home.earthlink.net/~aclzkim1/sitebuildercontent/sitebuilderpictures/il2sig2.jpg

Slammin_
05-17-2004, 06:26 PM
Thanks Ice and Thunder. The only thing I know is what does 'work' but I have no idea of what doesn't work for everyone.

I'm kind of an economy husband for my wife, no doubt. I have no bad habits, no really expensive hobbies and all that I ask of her is that when I need to upgrade my box, I can. Wow, should I have to ask? (that's another story)

Compare that to wife and two daughters. They need upgrades constantly! Females are wierd and expensive! Mostly expensive. I know that all of us can't own cutting edge gear, but I do want to add a dimension to online IL-2 that I think our hardware is limiting us from attaining thus far.

Really, how can you imagine a Pacific theater without a sky full of flak with several destroyers and carriers aiming at you?

Sure, it sucks to be hit or shot down by A.I. AAA, but at the same time, you can learn to enhance your chances of survival by jinking, avoiding or having a team mate take out the AAA.

Really, we have not even touched on the capabilities of this sim online. The only limiting factor is our machines and then, our imaginations, as far as I can tell.

Lav69
05-17-2004, 06:29 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Thunderbolt56:
I run a fairly "stout" rig right now, but am 3/4 done with my newest build.

I currently have this:

P4 2.8 533
1024 RDRam pc800
Intel i850 mobo
FX 5900 ultra 256
Creative Audigy2 Platinum
dual 60 gig eide hd's
Samsung 192N 19" LCD monitor
numerous optical drives and controllers

I'm building this:
P4 3.4 800
1024 registered matched Corsair pc4400
Nvidia 6800 Ultra
Audigy 2ZS Platinum
Dual 120gig maxtor sata hd's
other items the same (oh! and a nice new CoolerMaster aluminum case)

The only thing I lack is the vid card. Maybe it will be out when the patch arrives.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

damn dude, you must be rich. Or full of BS.

_______________
I'm fixin to.

LeChuck59
05-17-2004, 07:02 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Lav69:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Thunderbolt56:
I run a fairly "stout" rig right now, but am 3/4 done with my newest build.

I currently have this:

P4 2.8 533
1024 RDRam pc800
Intel i850 mobo
FX 5900 ultra 256
Creative Audigy2 Platinum
dual 60 gig eide hd's
Samsung 192N 19" LCD monitor
numerous optical drives and controllers

I'm building this:
P4 3.4 800
1024 registered matched Corsair pc4400
Nvidia 6800 Ultra
Audigy 2ZS Platinum
Dual 120gig maxtor sata hd's
other items the same (oh! and a nice new CoolerMaster aluminum case)

The only thing I lack is the vid card. Maybe it will be out when the patch arrives.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

damn dude, you must be rich. Or full of BS.

_______________
I'm fixin to.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

So long as he works, he's probobly got $1,200 -$1,500 or so you'd need to put together that system. That's not that expensive.

I just recently put together an overclocked Mobile Athlon system. At 2.6ghz it performs about as well as a 3.2-3.3ghz hyperthreading P4 and it costs significantly less.

In a year or so I'll probobly switch over to AMD's 739 chipset with PCI-E and god knows what else.

Slammin_
05-17-2004, 07:10 PM
Still in the nature of my thread. For reference, the sever is a SuperMicro Dual 1GHZ box with 768MB RDRAM. The box runs AEP sweet with a good GFX card and has been my primary gaming box for several years until my own upgrades.

The box I game on now is a P-4 2.8@3.5, 1GB Kingston HyperX 4000, Abit Max-3, ATI 9800 XT oc'd to 440 core, 401 mem. Everytime I upgrade, a kid gets an upgrade, so I am not evil.

One of my kids has a GforceII Ultra (what a waste of cash) and my favorite child (only because public school is a lot cheaper than college) has an ATI 9700Pro, plus she loves computer games :-) O.K, so I have a favorite child! Really, the oldest is not interested in gaming and only interested in that college diploma. The youngest gets all the hot upgrades (hand-me-downs) and I only upgrade my personal box when I absolutely have to. No, I'm not rich, but I do understand the college budget syndrome, hence this thread.

Also, I've sunk a bunch into this hobby too. Cougar, 22" monitor, rudder peddles etc. and know that many of you have too. What I do think is nirvana is for all of us to be able to enjoy this sim with all the 'stuff' a single American pilot at Pearl Harbor might have endured.

In other words, EXTREMELY DANGEROUS!

The tools are there in the sim. The limit as far as I can tell, are the computers we have.

VonKlugermon
05-17-2004, 07:15 PM
Hmmm, here's what the Falcon I have runs:

P4 3.0 ghz / 533 fsb
ASUS P4T533 850e MOBO
1024 PC1066 RDRAM
Dual 80gb IBM 180GXP HD's in RAID config.
Radeon 9700 Pro 128
Audigy II Platinum

Perfectly smooth offline, however I still experience pauses/slide show effect when playing online in heavy action. Probably will upgrade vid-card in the coming months.

Great server Slammin!

Willy

VW-IceFire
05-17-2004, 07:37 PM
The system that I mentioned above was built on a semi-shoestring budget. I'm a university (Americans call them all colleges, I'll never understand) student and while I'm not desperately poor I'm also not on a signficant budget. I built the system myself last summer, based on old components from a previous system (CD-Roms and burners, etc.) for about $1000 Canadian.

The full specs:

Antec 660AMG + 330W AntecTrue power
AMD 2700+
ASUS A7N8X Deluxe
nVidia SoundStorm
ATI Radeon 9700Pro
512mb PC2700 RAM
CD-Rom/RW (RW is a 10x4x10 http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif)

Aside from adding another 512mb of RAM when prices drop (man are they expensive right now) I'm not going to be doing much upgrading till after Battle of Britain comes out. That'll mean I'll skip another one or two generations of video cards by the next time I upgrade.

So please be gentle...I know I've got a good system and a system better than some here and I'm sure at some places we'll all trade positions once again in the mad rush to stay ontop of technology but in all things there must be some moderation http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

I am quite happy that I eek out about an average of 50 fps with 2X FSAA, 4X Anio, and Perfect mode settings (water level = 0, trees = 3). It serves me well...just don't kill it http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

http://home.cogeco.ca/~cczerneda/sigs/tmv-sig1.jpg
RCAF 412 Falcon Squadron - "Swift to Avenge"

p1ngu666
05-17-2004, 07:53 PM
icefire, consider overclocking http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif
my rig is in me sig, i might take a quick gander at whats out atm again, see if anything worth the upgrade http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif
im unemployed, and i dont really want a job so its gotta be worthwhile upgrade http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

http://www.pingu666.modded.me.uk/mysig3.jpg
&lt;123_GWood_JG123&gt; NO SPAM!

Slammin_
05-17-2004, 07:59 PM
Thanks Willy!

Ice,

I fear you will need another 512 ram, hard to tell though. If not for this, for something else for certain. Everything else you have is definitely up to par for what I want to do, but I bet 512 ram limits your performance on several new titles. Then again, if you don't play those new ones (Far Cry, Lomac etc.) then you are fine.

I'll try my best to keep it user friendly, but my main goal is for ACTION/DANGER.

Call it Air Quake I guess. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif


Live hard - die hard!

UB6MEB9
05-18-2004, 12:34 AM
Slammin,
I flew in your server awhile back now and you had 2 ships attacking an airfield.

The objective was to sink these ships.. blah blah blah.

What I am getting at is that with all the AAA and the ships main guns going off as well as the AAA at the field trying to get the nme aircraft, I only experienced the "player joined" lag. Other than that it was smooth as silk for me, while others came and left complaining of the lag, pauses, warping etc.

I think that while the systems are part of the equation, the connections are important as well to better transfer the (soon to be larger) packets of info. back and forth.

Basic specs:
Winblows XP Pro
P4 1.7
GeForce 4 4600ti 128
768 MB SDram (can not afford the DDR http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif )
ADSL with 700 up and 1900 down (according to PC Pitstop tests)

I like the way you are thinking though, sounds interestingly fun.

T_O_A_D
05-18-2004, 12:47 AM
Asus P4P800 deluxe mobo
2.4 800 Ht Pentium
1024 3200 corsair matched set
Audigy 2
Ti 4600 128
100 gig 8 meg cache HD

I and several of the 131st with similair Machines and cable or DSl Connections were on your server Last Thursday night. We all suffered 2 second lock ups. Nearly all at the same time. I have guys in Canada, New York, and several here in Missouri in the room that night. Was you messing with the map then? I had the a 81 ping third lowest in the room.

Have you checked your Private Topics recently? (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?a=ugtpc&s=400102)
My TrackIR fix, Read the whole thread (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?q=Y&a=tpc&s=400102&f=49310655&m=15310285&p=1)
131st_Toad's Squad link (http://www.geocities.com/vfw_131st/)
http://home.mchsi.com/~131st_vfw/T_O_A_D.jpg

[This message was edited by T_O_A_D on Tue May 18 2004 at 05:00 AM.]

Stalker58
05-18-2004, 04:06 AM
Waiting for socket 939 (144bit mem acces, 12.8 Gb/s bandwith)

Altitude, speed, manoeuvre and.... CRASH!

Willthisnamedo
05-18-2004, 04:24 AM
Slammin, mine's a fair rig, (9700 pro, athlon 2800, nforce2 ASUS deluxe mobo, SATA HD, 512 Meg RAM but the map that kills me is Berlin - it's almost unplayable - and I've turned settings down to cope with it..

Nub_322Sqn
05-18-2004, 04:48 AM
So far I have not run into problems when building maps on my system but I always send it to a Squad mate with the lowest system specs to test it and so far I always had to tone down the map.

My current system:

Asus K8V Deluxe VIA K8T800 chipset
AMD Athlon64 3200+ 1600Mhz fsb 1MB Cache
2x512 MB ADATA PC3200 RAM
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro 256MB DDR
SB Audigy2
2x80 Gigabyte Western Digital IDE HD's with 8MB Cache
18.1" LG LCD Screen

End of next month I will replace a few things on it:

Radeon X800XT 256MB DDR3
IIyama 20.1" LCD
2x80 Gigabte Western Digital SATA HD's with 8MB Cache

After that they can bring on PF. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_cool.gif

http://www.xs4all.nl/~rcma/banners/Nubarusbanner.jpg

VW-IceFire
05-18-2004, 07:23 AM
Yeah a ram upgrade is certainly in order. Just waiting for the price to drop again...maybe in July.

http://home.cogeco.ca/~cczerneda/sigs/tmv-sig1.jpg
RCAF 412 Falcon Squadron - "Swift to Avenge"

perioikos
05-18-2004, 07:34 AM
Has anyone upgraded to above 1GB of RAM or a 256MB video card, or know if doing so is worthwhile?

TgD Thunderbolt56
05-18-2004, 10:45 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by perioikos:
Has anyone upgraded to above 1GB of RAM or a 256MB video card, or know if doing so is worthwhile?<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I've read/heard that more than 1gig of RAM is moot with today's games. Now the games of tomorrow that will have larger levels/maps and more complex models WILL benefit from more RAM. Is BoB one of these?...I don't know but if history is any lesson rest assured 1gig+ programs can only be right around the corner.

Video cards? &gt;256 mb cards likely will be out soon enough also, but the newer architecture is where the real gains are going to come from not the increased VRAM.



http://home.earthlink.net/~aclzkim1/sitebuildercontent/sitebuilderpictures/il2sig2.jpg

TgD Thunderbolt56
05-18-2004, 10:57 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Lav69:
damn dude, you must be rich. Or full of BS.
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


I wasn't going to pleasure this with a response but I keep reading it so...

A. No, I'm not rich. I do however have an active budget for all of my hobbies...this being one of them. I average a new build every 18 months or less with an occassional upgrade here and there. I'm middle-aged with a good job and wonderful family. I'm at a point in my life where I can do these things.

B. Although I banter back and forth on occassion, I usually know of what I'm speaking. and don't make it a practice to...er..."BS". No LAV96...no BS. I posted this info for SLAMMIN_. I can even tell him all the specs for most all of our squad (more than one have stronger systems than mine)



http://home.earthlink.net/~aclzkim1/sitebuildercontent/sitebuilderpictures/il2sig2.jpg

Lav69
05-18-2004, 01:33 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by LeChuck59:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Lav69:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Thunderbolt56:
I run a fairly "stout" rig right now, but am 3/4 done with my newest build.

I currently have this:

P4 2.8 533
1024 RDRam pc800
Intel i850 mobo
FX 5900 ultra 256
Creative Audigy2 Platinum
dual 60 gig eide hd's
Samsung 192N 19" LCD monitor
numerous optical drives and controllers

I'm building this:
P4 3.4 800
1024 registered matched Corsair pc4400
Nvidia 6800 Ultra
Audigy 2ZS Platinum
Dual 120gig maxtor sata hd's
other items the same (oh! and a nice new CoolerMaster aluminum case)

The only thing I lack is the vid card. Maybe it will be out when the patch arrives.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

damn dude, you must be rich. Or full of BS.

_______________
I'm fixin to.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

So long as he works, he's probobly got $1,200 -$1,500 or so you'd need to put together that system. That's not _that_ expensive.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

UHHHH....wrong!!! CPU and vid. card alone are over a $1000. And you build your own? I was also refering to the fact that his current system isn't that old, therefore he just put money down for it.

_______________
I'm fixin to.

Lav69
05-18-2004, 01:38 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Thunderbolt56:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Lav69:
damn dude, you must be rich. Or full of BS.
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


I wasn't going to pleasure this with a response but I keep reading it so...

A. No, I'm not rich. I do however have an active budget for all of my hobbies...this being one of them. I average a new build every 18 months or less with an occassional upgrade here and there. I'm middle-aged with a good job and wonderful family. I'm at a point in my life where I can do these things.

B. Although I banter back and forth on occassion, I usually know of what I'm speaking. and don't make it a practice to...er..."BS". No LAV96...no BS. I posted this info for SLAMMIN_. I can even tell him all the specs for most all of our squad (more than one have stronger systems than mine)<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Sorry....that came across the wrong way. Envious I guess.

_______________
I'm fixin to.

SeaFireLIV
05-18-2004, 01:43 PM
Have I upgraded yet? No. I`m taking my chances...

SeaFireLIV...


http://img12.photobucket.com/albums/v31/SeaFireLIV/mep51.jpg

Odranoel1
05-18-2004, 02:01 PM
I am eagerly waiting to upgrade. I think the new generation of video cards finally do what this sim deserves, that is 1600x1200 http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif with full eye candy http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_cool.gif and good frame rates under any circumstances http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/88.gif.
I found a benchmark of FB with the 6800 and X800. Impressive, but now the bottleneck seems to be elsewhere (CPU or memory bandwidth). So I have decided to wait for socket 939 AMD CPU's and finally build a new system.

Btw, I have been building plenty of rigs for the office. It is very easy and fun too. Not really less expensive, but you can spend the money where YOU want it. I encourage anybody with even a modest level of computer knowledge to try http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/crazy.gif. Yu'll always find a friend to help in case you need help at all... http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

TacticalYak3
05-18-2004, 02:02 PM
Watching those videos of Pacific Fighters got me wondering too about online performance.

I presently script with minimal AA to reduce lag, but given the heavy flak from these ships, not to mention that great wave action, I wonder how all this neat stuff will translate in an online server (dedicated or not).

‚"Throughout the story of air fighting runs the quest for height, for the fighter on top had control of the air battle.‚"Ě (Air Vice-Marshal J.E. ‚"Johnnie‚"Ě Johnson, RAF)

:FI:TacticalS!

KGr.HH-Sunburst
05-18-2004, 04:10 PM
upgrading all the time ,it never stops http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/52.gif

with AEP and heavy maps with lots of targets and stuff together i dont get any frameloss
by them ,well atleast never below 30fps and that is good for me
but running FB smooth over all maps city's ,targets etc.... you need a good system and thats gonna cost you money


my most recent upgrade (week ago) was my RAM
now i got this setup running

AMD XP3200+ OC @2400mhz
1 Gig of GEIL Ultra PC4000 dual channel
Ga-7N400 pro mobo
Sapphire 9800pro OCed beyond XT 425/370mhz
LG 19'' Flatron F900
Maxtor HD 7200rpm

running excellent on 1200x900 on av 70/80fps
with Aniso and AA set to 4 and 4
perfect is running in the 40/50s

http://www.freewebs.com/fightingpumas/
http://img31.photobucket.com/albums/v94/sunburst/sigp51-D9.jpg
''All your Mustangs are belong to us''

Slammin_
05-18-2004, 05:38 PM
I've already redone a couple of maps and have added more flak, some cargo ships and on one map have added battleships way off to the side that you will only encounter if you go after the cargo vessels, and even then they are too far away to cause a huge frame hit.

Now, if you do go after the battleships with anything less than a 9700pro, I think you will not like the experience. I'm adding more static targets too and these do eat up ram on both the client and host box, so having only 512k ram may show some hard drive access related stutter as a result.

I'm trying to limit things and am not just arbitrarily tossing stuff out there, but the effect off shells spashing in the water from a battleship far off just gives me a woody http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

What I'll attempt to do is keep those heavy framerate killers out far enough to where they won't affect everyone, and only those that go after them will be affected. As for base AAA, it's there for a reason. If you cannot effectively engage the enemy right over his base, and even if you can, be prepared to get peppered by flak, or the single AAA gun. Or better yet, send a high-alt bomber in first? Whether the framerate hit or getting nailed by the AAA over enemy base prevents you from attacking, the end result is kind of what I'm shooting for in that case anyway. Might even lead to lifting the no vulch rule. I'll let you all make that call though after some trial.

Thanks again!

Slam

TgD Thunderbolt56
05-18-2004, 10:12 PM
That sounds sweet Slammin_.

I appreciate the effort. That's one of the things that keeps your server busy. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-wink.gif



http://home.earthlink.net/~aclzkim1/sitebuildercontent/sitebuilderpictures/il2sig2.jpg