PDA

View Full Version : Track playback issues in 1.22



WUAF_Co_Hero
01-22-2004, 01:29 AM
I'm not entirely sure if it is infact 1.22 that caused this, but for some reason all of the track I have recorded post 1.22, I cannot se my own plane shooting in them. THe other planes shots are visible, and the damage I do to them is even visible... but not me shooting at all.

Build a man a fire, keep him warm for a day...

Set a man on fire, keep him warm for the rest of his life.

WUAF_Co_Hero
01-22-2004, 01:29 AM
I'm not entirely sure if it is infact 1.22 that caused this, but for some reason all of the track I have recorded post 1.22, I cannot se my own plane shooting in them. THe other planes shots are visible, and the damage I do to them is even visible... but not me shooting at all.

Build a man a fire, keep him warm for a day...

Set a man on fire, keep him warm for the rest of his life.

plumps_
01-22-2004, 02:02 AM
Confirmed. In 1.22 only the player's first burst is visible in .ntrks. The damage caused by the invisible shots is still shown. Other planes than the player's are not affected.

If you replay the new tracks in an earlier version of FB the firing becomes visible. So the bug is probably not in the recording engine but in the replay engine.

-----------------------------------
http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/stulogo-banner.jpg (http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/)

Kampagne für IL-2 1.2: I-16 - Kampf im Kaukasus (Deutsch) (http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/kampagne.html)

SeaFireLIV
01-22-2004, 04:51 AM
It`s funny, but I actually had this happen in 1.21 replay, but it only happened once, so I never worried about it.

What I`m going to do is back everything up and install the full 1.22. Might work.

SeaFireLIV...
Slowly mutating into a Hurricane Ordnance Whiner...

http://img12.photobucket.com/albums/v31/SeaFireLIV/littlelaff.jpg

Larry the LA5 soon realised the sound improvement in 1.22 was not so great....

Wolkenbeisser
01-22-2004, 06:45 AM
If the bug is really there (I have no confirmation, because I'm at work now), please fix it asap.

Why? Because as soon as the addon arrives, we need the *.ntrks (again) to learn from.

Thx

Fliegergrüsse

http://home.tiscalinet.ch/meyera/Bilder/Wolkenbeisser1a.jpg

xTHRUDx
01-22-2004, 02:18 PM
i recorded a 1.22 track last night in which a tb3 lost one engine but to everyone else it seemed like he lost all his engines. all of his props stopped moving and he continued to stay in formation with us. to him he had 3 turning but to the rest of us, none were.

jurinko
01-23-2004, 07:16 AM
i sent allready the bug report to 1C concerning this. Did you notice after first burst the GUNPODS on Bf 109 disappear?? :-/

VMF513_Viper
01-23-2004, 09:41 PM
S! Hero,

This is going to be an issue for the movie makers out there because we do enjoy the muzzle flashes and such for our movies. I hope they get this fixed soon.

S! Viper

<table style="filter:glow[color=Navy Blue, strength=3"><tr><td> <font color=white>Viper
Commanding Officer VMF-513
http://www.vmf513.com
UBI Movie Maker Forum Moderator
Virtual War Cinema Admin
http://www.virtualwarcinema.com
"Chance Favors The Prepared Mind"

</font></td></tr></table>

SeaFireLIV
01-24-2004, 04:46 AM
See the top topic in GD, guys.

This problem is due to the anti-cheat programming that`s in the 1.22 patch.

SeaFireLIV...
Slowly mutating into a Hurricane Ordnance Whiner...
http://img12.photobucket.com/albums/v31/SeaFireLIV/littlelaff.jpg

Scragbat
01-24-2004, 10:07 AM
From Oleg regarding the implementation of speedhack checking..

'Because of this, the NTRK tracks no longer display recording player's cannon and MG shots, even though the track does record these events, and their damage is correctly displayed. This was necessary because of the changes listed above.
We will attempt to rectify the NTRK situation in the Ace Expansion Pack, which will also contain an even higher anti-cheating protection ensuring continuously stable online play in the future.'

So... This patch was released by the developers knowing that it had screwed up track playback for ntrk tracks.
But it was still released...?

There may be cheating online, but is there enough of it to justify releasing a broken patch?
Track playback is now screwed.

You may know that I make the odd movie now and then, so it is quite an issue with me.
It is also an issue because people do like watching and sharing tracks.

Please fix it. Sooner rather than later. This is annoying... http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-mad.gif
It would also be a nice gesture to fix it before the expansion pack is released. It is not right for the people who support this game to have to pay for something that has been broken by the devs. Something that was working previously.

http://www.appy55.dsl.pipex.com/FB/squigsig.gif
Home of Scragbat's Forgotten Battles Virtual Movies (http://www.appy55.dsl.pipex.com)
Virtual Cinema created with IL-2

SeaFireLIV
01-24-2004, 10:27 AM
I must agree with Scragbat here.

It really destroys the creativity of some of these great filmmakers that Oleg should be proud of. Playback was one of the best things about IL2/FB.

I too wish for this to be quickly fixed.

SeaFireLIV...

http://img12.photobucket.com/albums/v31/SeaFireLIV/ijolly.jpg

plumps_
01-24-2004, 11:12 AM
I would also like to see this fixed, because it concerns ntrk-videos in human made campaigns, too.

For those who make films or just want to watch their ntrks: Until it's fixed use FB 1.21 as track player for ntrks. Copy your FB folder and apply patch 1.21 to the copy. Then you have two versions and can run 1.22 for playing or 1.21 for watching/editing ntrks.

-----------------------------------
http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/stulogo-banner.jpg (http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/)

Kampagne für IL-2 1.2: I-16 - Kampf im Kaukasus (Deutsch) (http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/kampagne.html)

Steaky_361st
01-24-2004, 11:13 AM
So we have to wait for the Addon for this to be fixed??????????????????????????

well...uhhh...that kinda stinks....

Frankly id rather there be some cheating online and still have my playback...i was about to start a movie...

Scragbat
01-27-2004, 03:14 PM
Bump

Are we gonna get this fixed before the expansion pack or have we got to pay for the fix?
Is this a marketing ploy?

http://www.appy55.dsl.pipex.com/FB/squigsig.gif
Home of Scragbat's Forgotten Battles Virtual Movies (http://www.appy55.dsl.pipex.com)
Virtual Cinema created with IL-2

F19_Ob
01-27-2004, 03:50 PM
mr oleg said they would " try" to fix the track bug to next patch.......hmmm so they arent sure if thy can ???
http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

oh why couldnt they have left the tracks be and fix the cheating thing later ????????
they took away half the game and now they got me whining also

( ob cursing in finnish and swedish shaking his fist )

uncheers

RidgeR5
01-27-2004, 04:14 PM
It'll be fixed, we will just have to pay $45 to get the fix.... http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-mad.gif

S!

Ridge

BBloke
01-27-2004, 05:00 PM
The issues are a true pain. I duplicated my installation to have both versions running, recorded a track on online coop (Just myself) and it recorded the traces.

Tried the same using single mission and that didn't work. Now I'm confused!!! Although I can still do some movie work for myself.

Thought I would share!

BBloke

plumps_
01-27-2004, 08:32 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by BBloke:
Tried the same using single mission and that didn't work. Now I'm confused!!! Although I can still do some movie work for myself.
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I guess you were recording the single mission in .trk format and not .ntrk. Trks have never been compatible between different versions of IL-2 or FB. And there is no need to watch your .trks in a different version as they are not affected by the new.ntrk bug.

-----------------------------------
http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/stulogo-banner.jpg (http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/)

Kampagne für IL-2 1.2: I-16 - Kampf im Kaukasus (Deutsch) (http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/kampagne.html)

BBloke
01-28-2004, 02:22 AM
I'd have to check but all my tracks are recorded the same way. Right mouse click assigned to quick record.

Thanks

BBloke

karost
01-28-2004, 09:13 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>
From: Oleg

We will attempt to rectify the NTRK situation in the Ace Expansion Pack, which will also contain an even higher anti-cheating protection ensuring continuously stable online play in the future.'
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


I hope before "Ace Expansion Pack" release, Oleg & team please check the expansion pack that be able to open and play track files (trk, ntrk) from pervious version like 1.21 and 1.22 because they have many good track like training track and movice track were post on community and that are very good material for helping new pilot.

S!

fabianfred
01-30-2004, 07:15 AM
i posted this thread more than six months ago and still no joy.........


Something strange is happening to my 'quick...ntrk.' files!!
Are they mainly intended for On-line use?
Should we record a normal full .trk file, then use the quick....ntrk to edit it?
I have just written a mission which goes something like this....
There is a river crossing beside a destroyed bridge; a large build-up of tanks and other vehicles are arriving on the East bank awaiting their turn to cross; most are 'stationary objects' or 'stationary armour', but there are also artillery pieces, moving armour and a few vehicle columns moving down the route to the crossing. They cannot actually cross the temporary bridge, which is constructed of item 126 in the 'objects' menu.
On the West bank are some more 'stationary objects' vehicles and 'stationary armour' tanks which appear to have crossed. The road heading West from the destroyed bridge has a large column of German vehicles and tanks composed of 'stationary objects' only. Their purpose is to be destroyed in order to provide the scene with a 'burnt-out column' left by the retreating forces; because destroyed objects are not available as an item to be placed on the landscape, I have also put on the West bank several 'armour' tanks in one's, two's and three's which are waypointed to move down the enemy column, destroying every vehicle as they go. Artillery fire from the East bank also assist in the destruction.
Further to the West, the road goes past a wood, about 7 km. from the river crossing. In the area are several artillery pieces including Panzerwerfer rockets (the only ones with the range to reach the river.) These are the main target for the il2's in the mision, because they are threatening the bridgehead. Three German vehicle columns are on the move, starting half-way between the river and the wood, and waypointed to move along the road, past the wood, and to the edge of the city (Frankfurt-an-der-Oder).
The tanks on the West bank, having completed the desruction of the column, are waypointed to return to the bridgehead area. I did this, because the Panzerwerfers are firing at extreme range; so they are very inaccurate; but I wanted their fire to land sometimes at the bridgehead area and destroy the occasional vehicle; but they would only fire at the 'closest' enemy; so if I didn't withdraw the tanks, their eventual destruction by direct hits would need a long time to complete before fire was then switched to the next 'closest' enemy, the bridge area.
Now we come to the problem.............
Several times whilst flying the mission (personally or on Autopilot), I have started the Quicktrack recording as the il2's cross the river and are 'one minute to Target'. By this time, the german vehicle columns are passing the wood, except for a few victims of Katyusha fire; and the Russian tanks some of which are usually destroyed by 'friendly-fire' have returned from their column destruction to the bridge area. All continues normally....................I usually stop the quick track recording when the main action is over, or a Primary target complete message is given.
Upon viewing the quick...ntrk afterward............... it lies!
From the start of the quick...ntrk the russian tanks on the West bank are ressurected (if they were destroyed) and all returned to their start positions, and they move off once again on their original journey. They have nothing to do though, because the German destroyed vehicles remain destroyed. The second anomaly is like this..... all the AA equipped vehicles disappear from their columns (with appropiate gaps showing in the ranks) and return to restart from their first waypoints; the rest of the columns carrying on as usual from their real position. This means that the il2's are now flying over AAA before reaching the target, which did not occur in the actual mission.
I have yet to see any of the planes hit by this 'ghost' fire, so do not know if they could be destroyed in the .ntrk file when they weren't in the mission.
curiouser and curiouser..................
the mission is called 'Bridgehead!' and is available for download from www.sim-outhouse.com (http://www.sim-outhouse.com) and www.mudmovers.com (http://www.mudmovers.com)

'loon'


I never played on-line and prefer ground attack to dogfighting....... hence my need for good ground action.
it seems that right from the beginning the noisy minority.... the on-line dogfighters..... do all the complaining and the patches are usually aimed at appeasing them...
whereas the silent majority are forced to suffer the results...
no landing AI remain after a few minutes...
ntrks messed up to stop cheating.... AI dont cheat... theyre just dumb sometimes...
when are the makers of this glorious sim going to pay attention to the majority and iprove things of importance such as the FMB.......??