PDA

View Full Version : Spitfire IX flaps-error?



CraytonRoberts
06-21-2004, 09:35 AM
The Spit IX dosen't appear to be able to use the "take off" setting manually. I ned to put it on autopilot briefly to use the correct flap setting on takeoff. Is this just me, and if not, how to fix it?. I hope this hasn't been asked before; I've been travelling.
Bob Roberts

CraytonRoberts
06-21-2004, 09:35 AM
The Spit IX dosen't appear to be able to use the "take off" setting manually. I ned to put it on autopilot briefly to use the correct flap setting on takeoff. Is this just me, and if not, how to fix it?. I hope this hasn't been asked before; I've been travelling.
Bob Roberts

horseback
06-21-2004, 10:04 AM
Spitfire flaps were either up or down-there were no intermediate settings, at least in the earlier types modelled in FB. Spits took off without flaps, and if I remember correctly, slowed to around 140 mph before deploying flaps for landing.

cheers

horseback

"Here's your new Mustangs, boys. You can learn to fly'em on the way to the target. Cheers!" -LTCOL Don Blakeslee, 4th FG CO, February 27th, 1944

DeerHunterUK
06-21-2004, 10:58 AM
The following is taken from the Pilot Notes for a Spitfire IX;

"16. Flaps control.-The split flaps have two positions only, up and fully down. They are controlled by a finger lever (5) on the instrument panel."

What a lot of pilots did was to put small wooden chocks in gap between the flaps and the wing to assist taking off with a bombload\fueltanks. These would then be blown out by the force of the wind after takeoff.

No1_Moggy
-----
In memory of 'The Few'
http://www.lima1.co.uk/Sharkey/spitfire.jpg
The Tangmere Pilots - http://www.tangmerepilots-raf.co.uk/
Know your enemy and know yourself; in a hundred battles, you will never be defeated.

horseback
06-21-2004, 11:28 AM
Actually, they'd just drop the flaps once they got airborne and up to speed; the chocks would drop out. I seem to recall reading that one of the Spits about to take off from the WASP for Malta got damaged by one of his comrades dropping his wedges while overflying the ship.

Possibly one of the first uses of the Spit as a bomber...

cheers

horseback

"Here's your new Mustangs, boys. You can learn to fly'em on the way to the target. Cheers!" -LTCOL Don Blakeslee, 4th FG CO, February 27th, 1944

Dunkelgrun
06-21-2004, 11:44 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by CraytonRoberts:
The Spit IX dosen't appear to be able to use the "take off" setting manually. I ned to put it on autopilot briefly to use the correct flap setting on takeoff. Is this just me, and if not, how to fix it?. I hope this hasn't been asked before; I've been travelling.
Bob Roberts<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

This is a bug on more a/c than just the Spit. I-16 and Hurricane come to mind for starters. Watch your AI squadmates, they all use takeoff flaps.
Nothing will be done to correct it now, it's been around too long.
Cheers!

http://www.uploadit.org/igmusapa/tft2.jpg
www.nightbomber.com (http://www.nightbomber.com)

Dunkelgrun aka 242Sqn_Cat

PF_Coastie
06-21-2004, 12:35 PM
Bah, You dont need no stinking flaps for take-off anyway!

PF_Coastie

Coasties Place (http://www.angelfire.com/ultra/coastie0/)

CATALYST 4.2 OGL (http://home.earthlink.net/~bmcoastie/atioglxx.zip)

Coasties FB and ATI settings (http://www.angelfire.com/ultra/coastie0/IL2setup.html)
http://home.earthlink.net/~bmcoastie/images/FS_SIG.jpg
Click here to find out more about FIGHTER SWEEPS 2 (http://663blacktigers.net/FS2index.html)


OFFICIAL ATI BETA TESTER