PDA

View Full Version : Will fuel gauges ever be fixed?



LeadSpitter_
01-12-2004, 12:33 AM
Will fuel gauges ever be fixed and almost half the aircraft?

the fuel tachs dont even move on some aircraft the same fuel 2 gauges the yak3 has for fuel works but the same gauge does not work on the yak1 and 7b las, same with many us aircraft and overheat temp gauges.

http://www.geocities.com/leadspittersig/LSIG.txt
VIEW MY PAINTSCHEMES HERE (http://www.il2skins.com/?planeidfilter=all&planefamilyfilter=all&screenshotfilter=allskins&countryidfilter=all&authoridfilter=%3ALeadspitter%3A&historicalidfilter=all&Submit=+++Apply+filters++&action=list&ts=1072257400)

LeadSpitter_
01-12-2004, 12:33 AM
Will fuel gauges ever be fixed and almost half the aircraft?

the fuel tachs dont even move on some aircraft the same fuel 2 gauges the yak3 has for fuel works but the same gauge does not work on the yak1 and 7b las, same with many us aircraft and overheat temp gauges.

http://www.geocities.com/leadspittersig/LSIG.txt
VIEW MY PAINTSCHEMES HERE (http://www.il2skins.com/?planeidfilter=all&planefamilyfilter=all&screenshotfilter=allskins&countryidfilter=all&authoridfilter=%3ALeadspitter%3A&historicalidfilter=all&Submit=+++Apply+filters++&action=list&ts=1072257400)

pourshot
01-12-2004, 01:19 AM
Yes I would very much like to able to know how much fuel my p40 has.It makes long coops imposible.

http://members.optusnet.com.au/~andycarroll68/mybaby.jpeg.JPG
Ride It Like Ya Stole It

waterinthefuel
01-12-2004, 11:38 PM
The FAA only requires fuel gauges be correct when the tanks are completly empty. The gauge must show empty.

Doesn't make sense to me either.

plumps_
01-13-2004, 12:59 AM
IMO they do work, but not the way you would think. On russian aircraft they don't show the total amount of fuel, but only the last XXX liters. So they won't move as long as there is still more than XXX available.

-----------------------------------
http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/stulogo-banner.jpg (http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/)

Kampagne für IL-2 1.2: I-16 - Kampf im Kaukasus (Deutsch) (http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/kampagne.html)

SodBuster43
01-14-2004, 01:39 AM
Maybe I can tear the fuel gauge out of my car and adapt it to my 109 cockpit and tank. As far as know it works fine.

The nice thing is that when I reach a quarter tank the idiot light will come on and I'll know it is time to head for home http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

swingman
01-14-2004, 04:25 AM
Do it the way one learns when learning to fly. Know your planes fuel capacity and fuel consumption. Know the time you've spent flying on each tank (we don't have to worry about tank selection in FB, though, which makes it a bit easier.)

I have yet to see an aircraft fuel gauge that's anywhere near reliable.

I don't know why they're so notoriously unreliable. One reason is of course that wing tanks are long, wide and thin, which makes for huge variations with small pitch changes. That doesn't seem to be the whole story, though.
_
/Bjorn.

Ugly_Kid
01-14-2004, 04:43 AM
Hmm rather than gauges, how about fixing the fuel consumption differences between the different aircraft...