PDA

View Full Version : Ping Rating On-Line



tonywizzz
04-04-2004, 06:24 AM
I get a ping which seems to average 120/130, when I play (taken form pressing "S" when playing). Is this good, bad, in-different?

http://img26.photobucket.com/albums/v79/Tony_Wizzz/il2/RAF%20307%20Squadron%20Wijaszko/

http://www.geocities.com/skrzydla/

tonywizzz
04-04-2004, 06:24 AM
I get a ping which seems to average 120/130, when I play (taken form pressing "S" when playing). Is this good, bad, in-different?

http://img26.photobucket.com/albums/v79/Tony_Wizzz/il2/RAF%20307%20Squadron%20Wijaszko/

http://www.geocities.com/skrzydla/

lil_labbit
04-04-2004, 08:52 AM
A ping of 1-100 is excellent.
A ping of 100-200 is good.
A ping of 200-300 is hmmm OK. (just playable - stutters)
A ping higher than 300 is bad. (unplayable - laaaag)

Ping is sort of an echo time, your computer sends a signal to the computer hosting the game, that computer sends it back to yours, the time between is "ping time" (measured in 1/1000th of seconds).
Ping is also heavily dependant on the distance between the two computers though.
e.g. I'm in Europe and when I play a game thats hosted in the USA I get a 100 ping for free just because of the signal crossing the Atlantic...
Closebye I can get pings as low as 10 http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif
Ping is also dependant on number of "hops" (this is computers-in-between [network nodes]).

http://members.home.nl/lil.labbit/lilseesya.jpg
Night is better than Day

tonywizzz
04-04-2004, 09:17 AM
Tks, so is there a way of telling in HyperLobby or in UBI where the host is located?

I also noticed some host stating they have placed static aircraft to reduce lag, how does this help?

I have noticed lag even when playing with ping below 100, is this normal, ie off-line does this when planes spawn, same on-line?

Theres one more question, on a server last night a host told a player who joined in a jet he was increasing lag, explanation please?

Wait one more, if I were to host, how would I restrict the plane set? (ie no jets)

http://img26.photobucket.com/albums/v79/Tony_Wizzz/il2/RAF%20307%20Squadron%20Wijaszko/

http://www.geocities.com/skrzydla/

mllaneza
04-04-2004, 09:20 AM
Placing static aircraft forces the players' systems to load the aircraft before the game starts. Otherwise, everytime someone switches planes you'd have to load the new one into RAM. It's a stutter-avoiding mechanism.

Veteran - Bermuda Triangle Expeditionary Force. 1993-1951.

lil_labbit
04-04-2004, 09:25 AM
The game can tell where the host is located - for a player to play a game the IP address must be known (otherwise no communication), on some servers (like WarClouds) you will see "Welcome <playername> from <country>".

If you want some info on what causes lag and why read the post by SPaRX :
http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?q=Y&a=tpc&s=400102&f=23110283&m=427100692&p=1

I dont think jets will induce lag, but dropping parachutes over AAA definitely will...

http://members.home.nl/lil.labbit/lilseesya.jpg
Night is better than Day