PDA

View Full Version : Joystick plug: 250V, Japan mains: 100V. Is there a way to use my joystick in Japan?



Flying_Nutcase
04-02-2004, 07:16 PM
Hi there,

Well, it was a great holiday, but now I have a problem (which I should've thought about a lot earlier).

In New Zealand I bought a Thrustmaster Afterburner Force Feedback joystick.

When I came to plug it in here in Japan (where I'm living for now), there was a "Ahhhh, sh*t!!" eminating from my room as I realised that it is a 250V plug and Japan mains power is 100V.

So what can I do? Is there an adaptor that I can plug my joystick into and then plug the adaptor in the mains plug?

Thanks in advance.


Nutcase.

Flying_Nutcase
04-02-2004, 07:16 PM
Hi there,

Well, it was a great holiday, but now I have a problem (which I should've thought about a lot earlier).

In New Zealand I bought a Thrustmaster Afterburner Force Feedback joystick.

When I came to plug it in here in Japan (where I'm living for now), there was a "Ahhhh, sh*t!!" eminating from my room as I realised that it is a 250V plug and Japan mains power is 100V.

So what can I do? Is there an adaptor that I can plug my joystick into and then plug the adaptor in the mains plug?

Thanks in advance.


Nutcase.

Zeus-cat
04-02-2004, 08:37 PM
Try on-line or go to stores around places where tourists and foreign business people would shop, like an airport. This would be your best bet IMO. You would most likely find what you need where other people in your situation would be living and shopping, people from other countries with stuff that runs off different voltages.

Whatever you do, don't plug it in without a converter of some sort!

Zeus-cat

Tully__
04-02-2004, 08:51 PM
You'll need a transformer. If you can't find an appliance store in Japan that sells them, you should be able to mail order one from the US.

As a last ditch thing, you could get one made. It's not hard to do for a good electrical technician.

=================================================


http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/sig.jpg

IL2 Forums Moderator
Forum Terms of Use (http://www.ubi.com/US/Info/TermsOfUse.htm)

Salut
Tully

HangerQueen
04-02-2004, 08:52 PM
You should be able to go into a hardware store / Walmart / electrical store and buy a 115V/230V transformer (that's what we have here in South Korea). You can get little adaptors that convert one plug shape into another but they will not convert the voltage.

Edit: woh, something weird happened there with my computer. I'll try again.

http://server5.uploadit.org/files/HangerQueen-Within_the_Realm_Dying_Sun2copy.jpg

Despite repeated warnings, Jason continued to loiter outside the public lavatories dressed as Pestilence.

Flying_Nutcase
04-02-2004, 09:25 PM
Thanks all for your help.

Actually I just realised that the plug doesn't originate from the joystick's internals, but joins to a small transformer that in turn plugs into a cable attached internally to the joystick.

The transformer says
INPUT: 240V 50Hz
OUTPUT: 15V 1000mA

So I guess that all I need to do is to replace that transformer with the appropriate Japanese transformer.

Do I just look for a transformer with the same output, i.e. 15V 1000mA?

Cheers,


Nutcase.

Tully__
04-02-2004, 10:55 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Flying_Nutcase:
Thanks all for your help.

Actually I just realised that the plug doesn't originate from the joystick's internals, but joins to a small transformer that in turn plugs into a cable attached internally to the joystick.

The transformer says
INPUT: 240V 50Hz
OUTPUT: 15V 1000mA

So I guess that all I need to do is to replace that transformer with the appropriate Japanese transformer.

Do I just look for a transformer with the same output, i.e. 15V 1000mA?

Cheers,


Nutcase.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Also make sure that the output matches AC or DC to the original. Some of those plug packs include rectification (AC to DC conversion) and others don't. If you get the wrong one it at best wont work and may fry your joystick.

=================================================


http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/sig.jpg

IL2 Forums Moderator
Forum Terms of Use (http://www.ubi.com/US/Info/TermsOfUse.htm)

Salut
Tully

Tully__
04-02-2004, 10:57 PM
How to tell which is which:

DC output will have the symbol:

______
-------

Next to the Volts/Amps, AC will have a wavy line.

=================================================


http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/sig.jpg

IL2 Forums Moderator
Forum Terms of Use (http://www.ubi.com/US/Info/TermsOfUse.htm)

Salut
Tully

Fehler
04-03-2004, 12:27 AM
Think you have it bad?

The toilets in Australia flush backwards!

I often wonder what toilets do when sitting exactly on the equator...

http://webpages.charter.net/cuda70/FehlerSig.gif
http://webpages.charter.net/cuda70/9JG54.html

HangerQueen
04-03-2004, 12:33 AM
You lost me there, Fehler.

http://server5.uploadit.org/files/HangerQueen-Within_the_Realm_Dying_Sun2copy.jpg

Despite repeated warnings, Jason continued to loiter outside the public lavatories dressed as Pestilence.

Zeus-cat
04-03-2004, 06:51 AM
HangerQueen,

I'm in the States and we bought an Aussie toilet. It flushes in one big gush and doesn't swirl. So unlike on the one episode of the Simpson's, we did not need a swirl converter to make sure the water swirled in the correct direction. I was a little worried about that.

Actually, I've read that the Corriolis (sp?) Effect is so slight that North and South Hemisphere thing is completely offset by even the slightest variation in the sink/toilet/whatever. The water going down a drain will swirl in the direction it does because of the shape of the sink or toilet and not because of the Corriolis Effect.

Zeus-cat

Snow_Wolf_
04-03-2004, 07:58 AM
You need a Step down Transformer

http://aa.1asphost.com/seafury/mononoke_p2.jpg