PDA

View Full Version : Aircraft Codes



71RAF_Wildman
07-08-2004, 07:43 PM
S` all

can someone please explain how to add or edit squadron codes in the game, so its select able and shows up on the side of my plane and on the player score screen. Without having to paint anything on the side of my plane, it has for the RAF71 WR but its wrong, its XR and id like to change it. i know of some squads that have done it, jus cant get a hold of em...thanks.. S`

Squadron Leader Skates
Commanding Officer
#71 RAF Eagle Squadron

71RAF_Wildman
07-08-2004, 07:43 PM
S` all

can someone please explain how to add or edit squadron codes in the game, so its select able and shows up on the side of my plane and on the player score screen. Without having to paint anything on the side of my plane, it has for the RAF71 WR but its wrong, its XR and id like to change it. i know of some squads that have done it, jus cant get a hold of em...thanks.. S`

Squadron Leader Skates
Commanding Officer
#71 RAF Eagle Squadron

RS_Shiesty
07-09-2004, 01:20 AM
Once you know the name of the regiment you are looking for, its actually quite easy to switch tags, you can even alt-tab and switch them while in a game. First, go into the main FB folder and find the PaintSchemes sub-folder. Under PaintSchemes should be a Regiments folder. Find the name of the regiment you want to edit. There will be two files for each regiment, one is the picture which appears on the plane and the other is the technical stuff. Open the non-bitmap file with notepad or wordpad and you can edit the information inside.

The country tag sets which side the regiment will be selectable for. US for united states, GB for britain, etc. The ID is the one you are looking for. These two letters determine the prefix on your plane. In your case, you would probably set country to GB and id to XR. As you probably know, the third letter is set by your player number in game.

The ids don't always appear on all planes but both germany and u.s. bombers can use this method to have custom id tags on their bombers along with their regiment pic.

http://www.il2airracing.com/images/IL2AirRacing.gif (http://www.il2airracing.com)

71RAF_Wildman
07-09-2004, 11:44 AM
what kind of bmp do i save our squadron logo as to put on the bird?

Squadron Leader Skates
Commanding Officer
#71 RAF Eagle Squadron

RS_Shiesty
07-09-2004, 12:26 PM
To have the custom logo, you just need to save it as a windows bitmap in the regiments folder. I believe it also must be the same name as the other file. So if your file with all the technical stuff is called 'test1' then you would make your squad logo 'test1.bmp' for example. Both files should be in the regiments folder and selectable in-game depending on what country you have them set to.

http://www.il2airracing.com/images/IL2AirRacing.gif (http://www.il2airracing.com)

WereSnowleopard
07-09-2004, 04:00 PM
Is it work on online game only?

_VR_ScorpionWorm
07-09-2004, 04:23 PM
Ok, here is what I did, saved a bitmap as VR.bitmap, opened a the technical file called ZG77, copied and paste somewhere else, opened with notepad and changed the info to:
country = GB
id = VR
gruppeNumber = 1
short = VR
info = Vultures Row
and saved it as VR, pasted it in regiments(VRbitmap is there to), but yet nothing still shows up in game as a selection for my bitmap image.

"Soldiers, Sailors, and Airmen of the Allied Expeditionary force:
You are about to embark upon a Great Crusade toward which we have strived these many months. The eyes of the world are upon you. Good Luck! And let us all beseech the blessing of Almighty God upon this great and noble undertaking" - Gen. Dwight D. Eiseinhower-Supreme Allied Commander.

"NO, Do, or Do not....there is no try." All Powerful Master Yoda

"I find your lack of faith disturbing." Darth Vader

www.vultures-row.com (http://www.vultures-row.com)

Copperhead310th
07-09-2004, 09:00 PM
this is something that really needs to be addressed. since all nations did not use the same from of id codes as others did. & in the USAAF case if was differnt for all us Airforces.

while the us 8th af followed a more brittish type of sytem. BC G

the pacific squadrons did not.
and even more confusing they differ from Af to Af. the 5th afused call letters like this- H34.

the 7th af like this- 205

this really needs to be fixed. also there are a great many aircraft that the regimentals DO NOT apear on. (even though they should) also you should be able to select your squadron or nose art in QMB but you cant. AND you shoudl be able to use Cutom regimentals in mission biulding & coops as well. i would suggest you email Luthier & let heim know how much we need & want these simple features. you should also be able to select the squadron regimentals on static aircraft if you want.

ScorpionWorm
make sure you name the BMP & the text file EXACLTY ALIKE. they have to match perfectly or the game can't find them. it hase to match the bmp with the right txt in order to read it.
try that if it doesn't work pm me & i'll have a look at it.

http://imageshack.us/files/copper%20sig%20with%20rank.jpg
310th FS & 380th BG website (http://www.310thVFS.com)

RS_Shiesty
07-09-2004, 11:43 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by _VR_ScorpionWorm:
...and saved it as VR...<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I believe if you do 'save as' in notepad or wordpad it will make it a .txt file and thus will not work. Make sure there is no .txt or .doc or anything after the name.

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by WereSnowleopard:

Is it work on online game only?<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

It should also work anywhere you can select a squadron insignia. You can add new or just change existing ones already available.

http://www.il2airracing.com/images/IL2AirRacing.gif (http://www.il2airracing.com)

_VR_ScorpionWorm
07-10-2004, 11:05 AM
It didnt save as a .txt or a .doc it saved as the same format the technical file is in. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif I did a bit of 'research' and found that it only shows while online in a DF room or in FMB. CooperHead Ill PM you. Thanks for the info fellas Im sure Im making some easy mistake like always. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

"Soldiers, Sailors, and Airmen of the Allied Expeditionary force:
You are about to embark upon a Great Crusade toward which we have strived these many months. The eyes of the world are upon you. Good Luck! And let us all beseech the blessing of Almighty God upon this great and noble undertaking" - Gen. Dwight D. Eiseinhower-Supreme Allied Commander.

"NO, Do, or Do not....there is no try." All Powerful Master Yoda

"I find your lack of faith disturbing." Darth Vader

www.vultures-row.com (http://www.vultures-row.com)