PDA

View Full Version : Oleg I hope you get to read this.....



Bearcat99
05-29-2004, 12:50 PM
First off let me say I love the sim. I am a diehard FB fan and I think this latest patch is great. It just makes the best sim in the world even better. There is however one feature that, if it could be implemented into the sim, would make it even better and even more realistic.

Would it be possible to add into the features of FB a line of code that would make it possible to have multiple stick settings profiles in the sim? By that I mean in the input section where the sliders for stick settings are. Would it be possible to have a drop down menu added to the aircraft interface.. the same place where convergence and bomb delay info is... that would allow for more than one stick input setting? Even 3 would be good. With the ability to name them like you do with saved QMs or plane skins. These presets could be programmed by the user and would adjust the sliders to whatever the saved value of the profile was and would default to whatever the last setting was.. just like convergence. In this way users could use different settings for different planes.. thus compensating for variations in sticks and flight models. As it is now the feature to modify this is in the sim.. it just has to be reset manually for each use. I have to write down the values and save them in notepad as a profile.. then I cut & paste them in the config file each time.. which is a pain in the butt. How hard would it be to add the feature to FB that I am suggesting? 3 would be nice.. 5 would be bewtter. I realize it would be difficult to tie the presets to specific planes.. or would it? As it is now. I have about 20 skins for P-51s.. but when I select a P-51 FB seems to remeber the skin I use. I get a different one for the 5 and one for the 20. Samewith the 47s and the 40s... it could this be done with this feature as well? I realize that you guys have a gazillion other things to do and that FB is nearing the end of its direct support in the sense that there is opnly so much you can do to keep tweaking an already awesome product.. but this feature would be great and highly functional if it could be implemented.

<UL TYPE=SQUARE>http://www.jodavidsmeyer.com/combat/bookstore/tuskegeebondposter.jpg (http://tuskegeeairmen.org/airmen/who.html)[/list]<UL TYPE=SQUARE>vflyer@comcast.net [/list]<UL TYPE=SQUARE>99thPursuit Squadron IL2 Forgotten Battles (http://www.geocities.com/rt_bearcat)[/list]
UDQMG (http://www.uberdemon.com/index2.html) | HYPERLOBBY (http://hyperfighter.jinak.cz/) | IL2 Manager (http://www.checksix-fr.com/bibliotheque/detail_fichier.php?ID=1353) | MUDMOVERS (http://magnum-pc.netfirms.com/mudmovers/index.htm)

USE THAT X45 STICK AS A BUTTON BAY!

[This message was edited by Bearcat99 on Sat May 29 2004 at 12:10 PM.]

Bearcat99
05-29-2004, 12:50 PM
First off let me say I love the sim. I am a diehard FB fan and I think this latest patch is great. It just makes the best sim in the world even better. There is however one feature that, if it could be implemented into the sim, would make it even better and even more realistic.

Would it be possible to add into the features of FB a line of code that would make it possible to have multiple stick settings profiles in the sim? By that I mean in the input section where the sliders for stick settings are. Would it be possible to have a drop down menu added to the aircraft interface.. the same place where convergence and bomb delay info is... that would allow for more than one stick input setting? Even 3 would be good. With the ability to name them like you do with saved QMs or plane skins. These presets could be programmed by the user and would adjust the sliders to whatever the saved value of the profile was and would default to whatever the last setting was.. just like convergence. In this way users could use different settings for different planes.. thus compensating for variations in sticks and flight models. As it is now the feature to modify this is in the sim.. it just has to be reset manually for each use. I have to write down the values and save them in notepad as a profile.. then I cut & paste them in the config file each time.. which is a pain in the butt. How hard would it be to add the feature to FB that I am suggesting? 3 would be nice.. 5 would be bewtter. I realize it would be difficult to tie the presets to specific planes.. or would it? As it is now. I have about 20 skins for P-51s.. but when I select a P-51 FB seems to remeber the skin I use. I get a different one for the 5 and one for the 20. Samewith the 47s and the 40s... it could this be done with this feature as well? I realize that you guys have a gazillion other things to do and that FB is nearing the end of its direct support in the sense that there is opnly so much you can do to keep tweaking an already awesome product.. but this feature would be great and highly functional if it could be implemented.

<UL TYPE=SQUARE>http://www.jodavidsmeyer.com/combat/bookstore/tuskegeebondposter.jpg (http://tuskegeeairmen.org/airmen/who.html)[/list]<UL TYPE=SQUARE>vflyer@comcast.net [/list]<UL TYPE=SQUARE>99thPursuit Squadron IL2 Forgotten Battles (http://www.geocities.com/rt_bearcat)[/list]
UDQMG (http://www.uberdemon.com/index2.html) | HYPERLOBBY (http://hyperfighter.jinak.cz/) | IL2 Manager (http://www.checksix-fr.com/bibliotheque/detail_fichier.php?ID=1353) | MUDMOVERS (http://magnum-pc.netfirms.com/mudmovers/index.htm)

USE THAT X45 STICK AS A BUTTON BAY!

[This message was edited by Bearcat99 on Sat May 29 2004 at 12:10 PM.]

WWMaxGunz
05-29-2004, 02:59 PM
I much agree. With the planes having each their own performance characteristics it really makes sense that the sim should allow a profile saved for each plane with default at start and user able to change by plane instead of for all. With each profile by plane, users will not have to remember and choose.


Neal

Bearcat99
05-29-2004, 06:17 PM
If Oleg doesnt have the time i wonder if something like that can be implemented into the next version of IL2Manager.

<UL TYPE=SQUARE>http://www.jodavidsmeyer.com/combat/bookstore/tuskegeebondposter.jpg (http://tuskegeeairmen.org/airmen/who.html)[/list]<UL TYPE=SQUARE>vflyer@comcast.net [/list]<UL TYPE=SQUARE>99thPursuit Squadron IL2 Forgotten Battles (http://www.geocities.com/rt_bearcat)[/list]
UDQMG (http://www.uberdemon.com/index2.html) | HYPERLOBBY (http://hyperfighter.jinak.cz/) | IL2 Manager (http://www.checksix-fr.com/bibliotheque/detail_fichier.php?ID=1353) | MUDMOVERS (http://magnum-pc.netfirms.com/mudmovers/index.htm)

USE THAT X45 STICK AS A BUTTON BAY!

crazyivan1970
05-29-2004, 06:28 PM
I remember talking to Oleg about this... i think he said something like - "maybe in BOB" i`ll verify http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

V!
Regards,

http://blitzpigs.com/forum/images/smiles/smokin.gif

VFC*Crazyivan aka VFC*HOST

http://www.rmutt.netfirms.com/coop-ivan.jpg

http://www.rmutt.netfirms.com/vfc/home.htm

Kozhedub: In combat potential, the Yak-3, La-7 and La-9 fighters were indisputably superior to the Bf-109s and Fw-190s. But, as they say, no matter how good the violin may be, much depends on the violinist. I always felt respect for an enemy pilot whose plane I failed to down.

Bearcat99
05-29-2004, 06:58 PM
TY..

<UL TYPE=SQUARE>http://www.jodavidsmeyer.com/combat/bookstore/tuskegeebondposter.jpg (http://tuskegeeairmen.org/airmen/who.html)[/list]<UL TYPE=SQUARE>vflyer@comcast.net [/list]<UL TYPE=SQUARE>99thPursuit Squadron IL2 Forgotten Battles (http://www.geocities.com/rt_bearcat)[/list]
UDQMG (http://www.uberdemon.com/index2.html) | HYPERLOBBY (http://hyperfighter.jinak.cz/) | IL2 Manager (http://www.checksix-fr.com/bibliotheque/detail_fichier.php?ID=1353) | MUDMOVERS (http://magnum-pc.netfirms.com/mudmovers/index.htm)

USE THAT X45 STICK AS A BUTTON BAY!

jobace
05-30-2004, 03:21 PM
that i realy would like too http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

KG26_Alpha
05-30-2004, 09:02 PM
At present you can create different pilots in the persona with each having a separate Hotas setup
1. bomber hotas setup
2. axis fighter setup
3. allied fighter setup
4. etc etc

You need to select the pilot persona before entering the mission you intend to be flying said aircraft obviously.
You do this where you create your pilot so far i have 6 different setups for Bomber Jabo's IL2's etc using 6 pilot setups.

But certianly the option to select a pilot profile would be welcomed.

http://www.freewebs.com/kg26/

ElAurens
05-30-2004, 10:29 PM
Just set 'em all at 100 and move along....

_____________________________

http://www.blitzpigs.com/forum/images/avatars/Curtiss_logo.gif

BlitzPig_EL

ucanfly
06-01-2004, 11:25 AM
I have thought long about this and have a question. If you have different settings for each plane doesn't that nullify the differences that are built into the flight model of these planes? It seems that the unintended consequence of this is to make all the planes behave the same or worse to make the planes not behave as they should online.

I'm sure there are some fanatics that carry different profiles for different planes now, but it seems to me that it is defeating the purpose of the FMs in some way. Maybe the Fms should be fixed instead, if there is a problem. Just my $0.02.

Bearcat99
06-02-2004, 12:55 PM
I dont think so.. I think the planes will still have thier individual FMs but you DO have a small bit of control over how these FMs interact with your controllers.

<UL TYPE=SQUARE>http://www.jodavidsmeyer.com/combat/bookstore/tuskegeebondposter.jpg (http://tuskegeeairmen.org/airmen/who.html)[/list]<UL TYPE=SQUARE>vflyer@comcast.net [/list]<UL TYPE=SQUARE>99thPursuit Squadron IL2 Forgotten Battles (http://www.geocities.com/rt_bearcat)[/list]
UDQMG (http://www.uberdemon.com/index2.html) | HYPERLOBBY (http://hyperfighter.jinak.cz/) | IL2 Manager (http://www.checksix-fr.com/bibliotheque/detail_fichier.php?ID=1353) | MUDMOVERS (http://magnum-pc.netfirms.com/mudmovers/index.htm)

USE THAT X45 STICK AS A BUTTON BAY!

Phoenix-CCG
06-04-2004, 12:24 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Bearcat99:
If Oleg doesnt have the time i wonder if something like that can be implemented into the next version of IL2Manager.

http://tuskegeeairmen.org/airmen/who.html_vflyer@comcast.net_ http://www.geocities.com/rt_bearcat
http://www.uberdemon.com/index2.html | http://hyperfighter.jinak.cz/ | http://www.checksix-fr.com/bibliotheque/detail_fichier.php?ID=1353 | http://magnum-pc.netfirms.com/mudmovers/index.htm

_USE THAT X45 STICK AS A BUTTON BAY!_<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I don't know, if Skypat can implement this option in the next Manager. But keep in mind, that if it's in the next Manager, you should quit the game, and select another profil if you change plane. I don't know if it's really usefull by this way.

Bearcat99
06-04-2004, 03:44 PM
Hmmmm yeah I guess not... bummer Oh well!!

<UL TYPE=SQUARE>http://www.jodavidsmeyer.com/combat/bookstore/tuskegeebondposter.jpg (http://tuskegeeairmen.org/airmen/who.html)[/list]<UL TYPE=SQUARE>vflyer@comcast.net [/list]<UL TYPE=SQUARE>99thPursuit Squadron IL2 Forgotten Battles (http://www.geocities.com/rt_bearcat)[/list]
UDQMG (http://www.uberdemon.com/index2.html) | HYPERLOBBY (http://hyperfighter.jinak.cz/) | Sturmovik Essentials (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?a=tpc&s=400102&f=23110283&m=51910959) | MUDMOVERS (http://magnum-pc.netfirms.com/mudmovers/index.htm)

USE THAT X45 STICK AS A BUTTON BAY!

Phoenix-CCG
06-05-2004, 02:58 AM
There is maybe a solution which avoid to quit the game. I think, using the console as we used it for a manual save. But, i'm not the programmer. So i can't affirm if it's possible or not.

Phoenix-CCG
10-30-2004, 09:03 AM
Hi Bearcat99

Take a look on the last Il2Manager version which released a few minutes ago.

I hope, you'll find something interresting. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Have fun and good flight. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Bearcat99
10-30-2004, 12:43 PM
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif

Bearcat99
10-30-2004, 03:32 PM
Do you mean this (http://www.leigh-kemp.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/MATfiles.htm)? Im not sure because I have 4.0.

Bearcat99
10-30-2004, 06:05 PM
Got it at Checksix and updated the Essentials thread accordingly...

Phoenix-CCG
10-30-2004, 11:23 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Bearcat99:
Got it at Checksix and updated the Essentials thread accordingly... <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Oups, sory, i forgot to give you the link to Checksix.