PDA

View Full Version : Newbie...How do i fly all the aircraft ??



XyZspineZyX
07-16-2003, 09:12 PM
Hi guys
I've just bought IL-2, and i have to say that it's one of the best flight sims that i've ever been on. I got CFS3, but my poor pc needs upgrading before i can get the best from it. I dont have a problem with IL-2 though, it runs fairly smooth. Now to my question....How do i access all the Aircraft that are flyable? Am i missing somthing?

XyZspineZyX
07-16-2003, 09:12 PM
Hi guys
I've just bought IL-2, and i have to say that it's one of the best flight sims that i've ever been on. I got CFS3, but my poor pc needs upgrading before i can get the best from it. I dont have a problem with IL-2 though, it runs fairly smooth. Now to my question....How do i access all the Aircraft that are flyable? Am i missing somthing?

XyZspineZyX
07-16-2003, 09:23 PM
Go into the Quick Mission Builder. You will notice there are three groups of planes; you, your allied planes the enemy. Your plane is listed in the middle of the top column. Click to the right of that name and you get a drop down menu where you can select any of the flyable aircraft.

If you have Fogotten Battles you can change the default plane in a dynamic campaign in the same way but are restricted to historical choises.

In vanilla Il-2, you can also fly different planes in the single missions but you cant choose what to fly in the campaign.

XyZspineZyX
07-16-2003, 09:29 PM
You'll need to buy Forgotten Battles to have some of the planes as flyable (in cockpit).


<center>http://www.blitzpigs.com/forum/images/avatars/bp_geminiCombined.gif

<center><table style="filter:glow[color=red,strength=1)">Warning: My intense sense of humor may tug at the stick crammed in your shaded spot.</table style></center> <center><table style="filter:glow[color=red,strength=1)">If you treasure your lack of humor please refrain from reading my posts as they may cause laughter.</table style></center> <center><table style="filter:glow[color=red,strength=1)">Heaven Forbid.</table style></center>
<table style="filter:glow[color=black,strength=1)">
<font size=+2><font color="black">Still loving my P-39</font></font> </table style>
/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-mad.gif
<table style="filter:glow[color=green,strength=4)"> www.blitzpigs.com</center> (http://www.blitzpigs.com</center>) </table style>

XyZspineZyX
07-16-2003, 09:30 PM
Thanks. i had a quick look at the mission editor but didn't dwell too long there. I will now though!

XyZspineZyX
07-16-2003, 09:36 PM
I think i may have to upgrade the PC before i get "Forgotten Battles",though i did check it out.

XyZspineZyX
07-17-2003, 12:49 AM
EEman wrote:
- I think i may have to upgrade the PC before i get
- "Forgotten Battles",though i did check it out.

Do anything you have to do, FB is the greatest thing around,and after the patch....

"The show must go on..."
<center>http://www.btinternet.com/~jj_b/vaw/images/iar81t.jpg </center>

XyZspineZyX
07-17-2003, 03:57 AM
Salute

You need to make sure you have all the patches for IL-2.

You can add around 20 flyable planes to the basic IL-2 with the various patches. Certainly I would reccomend it. Especially if you are a Stuka fan, since you get to fly the Ju87b. Plus all the 190's, with the exception of the 190D which is available on FB. FB requires a much better computer than the original IL-2.


Cheers RAF74 Buzzsaw

XyZspineZyX
07-17-2003, 08:39 AM
I think the number of flyables added by patches is actually 14 planes. Not a bad number though ...

Those 'new' flyables are basically planes that existed as AI models in the unpatched IL-2 game, but with cockpits added in the patches. I don't remember how many flyables IL-2 originally came with.

'Forgotten Battles' has all of the patched IL-2 game's flyable aircraft plus more.

http://www.battlefield.ru/gallery/ww2_tanks/t35_1.jpg

XyZspineZyX
07-17-2003, 08:52 AM
well if you get FB there are some downloadable AI maps for it here http://members.cox.net/cx570578a/_htmdir/_missionPg.html

If you dont get it then all the info to make up your own maps is located here

http://www.uberdemon.com/

either way enjoy/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

fluke39
07-17-2003, 09:32 AM
Vostok wrote:
-
- In vanilla Il-2, you can also fly different planes
- in the single missions but you cant choose what to
- fly in the campaign.


sorry if i'm being ignorant but "vanilla IL-2"
whats that?




<center><img src=http://mysite.freeserve.com/Angel_one_five/ffluke.jpg>

XyZspineZyX
07-17-2003, 09:52 AM
Was it really that hard to find the aircraft? So hard that you`d rather just post on the forums instead? /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-indifferent.gif