PDA

View Full Version : Using/modifying the rudder rocker on the X45



XyZspineZyX
10-26-2003, 03:16 PM
I'm using the x45 with rudder pedals. My rudder rocker is currently doing nothing.

Is anyone using it for anything else than rudder? If so, what? I use it for panning view left/right in FS2004, which works nicely, but obviously you can't associate pan view with a slider in FB so that's out.

I don't use the x45 profiler - never found a need a need for it, and I would rather free up the RAM and CPU cycles - but if anyone can suggest a cool programming of the rudder rocker via banding I might re-activate it.

I would really like to use it as a slider for something like flaps or mixture - it seems a waste somehow not to. But that would require not having it self-centering.

Has anyone been inside the X45 throttle? If so, would it be a simple mod to disable the self-centering mechanism? All I would need then would be to put some friction on it somehow and the rudder rocker would be really useful.

XyZspineZyX
10-26-2003, 03:16 PM
I'm using the x45 with rudder pedals. My rudder rocker is currently doing nothing.

Is anyone using it for anything else than rudder? If so, what? I use it for panning view left/right in FS2004, which works nicely, but obviously you can't associate pan view with a slider in FB so that's out.

I don't use the x45 profiler - never found a need a need for it, and I would rather free up the RAM and CPU cycles - but if anyone can suggest a cool programming of the rudder rocker via banding I might re-activate it.

I would really like to use it as a slider for something like flaps or mixture - it seems a waste somehow not to. But that would require not having it self-centering.

Has anyone been inside the X45 throttle? If so, would it be a simple mod to disable the self-centering mechanism? All I would need then would be to put some friction on it somehow and the rudder rocker would be really useful.

XyZspineZyX
10-26-2003, 03:30 PM
I use mine to control the flaps. I used the Saitex profiler to divide the motion into three bands. I left the middle third as unassigned and the left and right ends of the rocker motion as F/G on the keyboard.

The profiler it quite easy to use but I found I have to open up the profile I want and use the profile now button each time I reboot the computer. Is their anyway to make it automatically load a profile on start up?

XyZspineZyX
10-26-2003, 04:05 PM
you could probably do it with a "shortcut" to load when you START windows

12th IAP "Guards"

http://12iapil2ops.0catch.com/12th_iap_home_page.htm

RHAF 5/I Fighter Group
http://12iapil2ops.0catch.com/rhaf.htm

http://12iapil2ops.0catch.com/12iapmedal.jpg

XyZspineZyX
10-26-2003, 04:19 PM
I've divided it into three bands using the profiler. Left = toggle map, middle = null, right = radiator. I like to have all the buttons and rotaries etc doing something, so that's my solution.
Cheers!

<CENTER>


<IMG SRC="http://www.apqa16.dsl.pipex.com/airplane1.3.jpg"


Ladies & gentlemen, this is the captain speaking. Thankyou for choosing to fly Mandarin Airlines. Those passengers sitting on the left-hand side of the aeroplane please make yourselves comfortable. Those sitting on the right... please look to your left!

XyZspineZyX
10-26-2003, 04:31 PM
I have the right side programmed for brakes and the left side for airbrakes. But, I'll probably change the airbrake part.

Works great as brakes, because your working against thea strong spring. Makes it harder to nose over.

XyZspineZyX
10-26-2003, 05:32 PM
Lion_13 wrote:
- I have the right side programmed for brakes and the
- left side for airbrakes.

Interesting. I take it you have rudder pedals without toe brakes?

Have you mapped the rudder rocker directly to the brake axis in FB, thus achieving variable braking pressure, AND used the profiler to use the other side of the rocker for airbrakes? Ingenious, if so. I mapped the rudder rocker to the FB's brakes HOTAS axis for a while, and it worked well, but I never thought of using the 'unused' side of the rocker for another function.

If however, you have simply mapped the right side of the rocker to the brake key, it seems a waste of a slider. It's really nice to have variable brake pressure.

XyZspineZyX
10-26-2003, 06:11 PM
You're right, my rudder pedals do not have the toe brakes. They are the first TM RCS pedals built.


I programmed the rocker as 3 bands, used the advanced button programming to program a press and release of the B button in the 0-33% band, the center band (34-67%) as do nothing and the 68-100% band as the air brakes. I just "pump" the slider to apply the brakes.

I think using, the rocker as a slider for brakes, dedicates the entire rocker to the brakes.

I build a trim control box for the trims, so I have plenty of sliders to go around.

See my post "A Control System for IL-2: FB" on this forum for details.

XyZspineZyX
10-26-2003, 08:03 PM
mikeyg007 wrote:
- Is anyone using it for anything else than rudder?

Wheel brakes. It's handy to use 50% or so brakes when landing, more gentle than pushing them all the way down.

http://sivusto.servepics.com/~lahnat/werre2s.jpg

prkl

XyZspineZyX
10-27-2003, 04:54 AM
Ijeremiah wrote:
- I use mine to control the flaps. I used the Saitex
- profiler to divide the motion into three bands. I
- left the middle third as unassigned and the left and
- right ends of the rocker motion as F/G on the
- keyboard.
-
- The profiler it quite easy to use but I found I have
- to open up the profile I want and use the profile
- now button each time I reboot the computer. Is their
- anyway to make it automatically load a profile on
- start up?


I use mine the same way and I must say it works great!! It is nice having flaps right on your stick like that. I have pedals with brakes so I dont need it for that. Rudder trim is on the twist handle of my MSFFB stick. Prop pitch is on the MS slider formerly used as a throttle. Since I fly with the MSFFB stick the X45 stick just serves as a button bay for other functions that I wouldnt need to access quickly in battle like lights,gear,drop tanks....etc.

<CENTER>http://www.world-wide-net.com/tuskegeeairmen/ta-1943.jpg <marquee><FONT COLOR="RED"><FONT SIZE="+1">"Straighten up.......Fly right..~S~"<FONT SIZE> </marquee> http://www.geocities.com/rt_bearcat

<CENTER><FONT COLOR="ORANGE">vflyer@comcast.net<FONT COLOR>
<Center><div style="width:200;color:red;font-size:18pt;filter:shadow Blur[color=red,strength=8)">99th Pursuit Squadron

Tully__
10-27-2003, 10:24 AM
You could use it in banded mode for:

Wide/Normal/Zoom view
Flaps
Left and right snap views, with null in the center and 3 views either side.
Bombsight control
Raise/lower mixture
Raise/lower prop pitch

Just about anything else, though those already mentioned would be the most intuitive uses.

<center> ================================================== ========================= </center>

<center> <img src=http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/Corsair.jpg> </center>

<center> Forum Terms of Use (http://www.ubi.com/US/Info/TermsOfUse.htm) </center>
<center> Sig size limits (http://forums.ubi.com/messages/message_view-topic.asp?name=us_il2sturmovik_gd&id=yzrgs)</center>
<center><font size="-2" color="#88aadd">IL2 Forums Moderator</font></center>


Salut
Tully

XyZspineZyX
10-27-2003, 12:36 PM
How do you use the mouse cursor control without the profiler then?

<center>http://www.geocities.com/leadspittersig/LS1.txt
Good dogfighters bring ammo home, Great ones don't. (c) Leadspitter</center>

XyZspineZyX
10-27-2003, 07:07 PM
I don't. I look around with the mouse exclusively.

XyZspineZyX
10-27-2003, 09:13 PM
I tried to, but had problems...

I was trying to use it for flaps... Ended up using thumbwheel instead

<img src=http://home.insightbb.com/%7Edspinnett/NonSpeed/SpeedToys.jpg </img>
http://hometown.aol.com/spinnetti/

XyZspineZyX
10-27-2003, 10:28 PM
Yeah, I use flaps on the mousewheel. If the rudder bar would stay where you put it though, it would be a lovely flaps lever, or maybe a rudder trim adjust (though the range of travel might be a bit small for that). That's what tempts me to open it up.

I won't succumb though. I'm too much of a coward.

Tully__
10-28-2003, 10:27 AM
LeadSpitter_ wrote:
- How do you use the mouse cursor control without the
- profiler then?


All of my suggestions would require the profiler, as they all involve using the banding function (assigning key strokes to portions of the slider movement range). None of them rely on assigning mouse functionality.

<center> ================================================== ========================= </center>

<center> <img src=http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/Corsair.jpg> </center>

<center> Forum Terms of Use (http://www.ubi.com/US/Info/TermsOfUse.htm) </center>
<center> Sig size limits (http://forums.ubi.com/messages/message_view-topic.asp?name=us_il2sturmovik_gd&id=yzrgs)</center>
<center><font size="-2" color="#88aadd">IL2 Forums Moderator</font></center>


Salut
Tully