PDA

View Full Version : There's Mold on My Clouds?!



Red_Russian13
08-21-2004, 08:36 PM
Greetings!

Yesterday, while taking off in my 109, I noticed what appeared to be flak near some clouds. Well, that usually means bad guys are around...so I checked my handy map...no bad guys. So I look around a little bit, and I see that ALL the clouds have these "moldy" spots on them. Like some old bread, but a greyish. From a distance, it looks like flak, but when you get closer, it's quite obvious that it's not.

I print screen'd a shot of them, but I forgot to save it...I recall someone saying that all of your print screens are saved someplace...if that's the case, then I can post the screen. (Any info)

Has anyone else ever seen this strange "mold" on their clouds?

Red Russian

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v256/Red_Russian13/RedRussian.jpg

Red_Russian13
08-21-2004, 08:36 PM
Greetings!

Yesterday, while taking off in my 109, I noticed what appeared to be flak near some clouds. Well, that usually means bad guys are around...so I checked my handy map...no bad guys. So I look around a little bit, and I see that ALL the clouds have these "moldy" spots on them. Like some old bread, but a greyish. From a distance, it looks like flak, but when you get closer, it's quite obvious that it's not.

I print screen'd a shot of them, but I forgot to save it...I recall someone saying that all of your print screens are saved someplace...if that's the case, then I can post the screen. (Any info)

Has anyone else ever seen this strange "mold" on their clouds?

Red Russian

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v256/Red_Russian13/RedRussian.jpg

T_O_A_D
08-21-2004, 08:43 PM
No but all your screen shots are in your main IL2 folder in a name like this grab0001.tga

You can view them with several progs I prefure http://www.fine-view.com

Have you checked your Private Topics recently? (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?a=ugtpc&s=400102)
My TrackIR fix, Read the whole thread (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?q=Y&a=tpc&s=400102&f=49310655&m=15310285&p=1)
Commanding Officer of the 131st_VFW (http://www.geocities.com/vfw_131st/)
http://home.mchsi.com/~131st_vfw/T_O_A_D.jpg

FI WILLIE
08-21-2004, 08:47 PM
Your screen shots are saved in your main IL2 folder as a GRAB000xx .tga You can copy it and save it as a .jpg to reduce the size of it as they are HUGE in the .tga format.

Virtus Junxit,
Mors Non Separabit.
http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0RQAAAGcT2og50!y1f7NgYX4rH0SBKAJ0*TnOdC3*WtgnO6hGP KX5PiB5W62XzquB*!VrAP7Zdv0N0X0XoOghYlsdCNgJc9MWMJg aWb0iiKk/109g2%20small.jpg
Quando Omni Flunkus Moritati


(When all else fails, play dead.)
http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0QADWAvYSnGZaJjyZNeiWgIEGvdX5tvNMbEyaBCk7k0umnkdtM fvXk7UORkarzGe3nPMS77RyIzTPhfsJQW!gr!MM82pBzaYVzoz WAgBwaSg/******ss.gif

Red_Russian13
08-21-2004, 08:49 PM
Hmmm...I can't find a folder with those in it...Which folder would it be in? Sorry to be a bother.

Red Russian

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v256/Red_Russian13/RedRussian.jpg

Kasdeya
08-21-2004, 08:53 PM
Look in Program files>ubisoft>il2Forgotten Battles. In the main folder amongst all the files you will find you screenshot named grab0000.tga look for that

http://img61.photobucket.com/albums/v186/Kasdeya/demonmoving.gif (http://www.361stvfg.com/)
CWoS Forums. More Cheese, Less Whine (http://acompletewasteofspace.com/forum/index.php)

Red_Russian13
08-21-2004, 08:55 PM
Okay. Well, the point is now moot...I've only got two "grab" files and they're from a long time ago...I didn't delete them...they must be in binary heaven...

Well, about the mold, any one experience it...Sorry I don't have a photo.

Red Russian

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v256/Red_Russian13/RedRussian.jpg

Kasdeya
08-21-2004, 09:01 PM
Whenever you take a screenshot it creates the garb file starting with 0 and working up to 1 and 2 and so on. Each time you start FB again and take a screenshot it overwrites the grab file 0 and moves on to 1 and 2. Each time you start FB remember that. you can take five shots one time and then three shots the next time you run FB and it overwrites 0, 1, and 2. hope that makes sense.

As for the 'mold', srry mate haven't seen any but i'll let you know if I do.

http://img61.photobucket.com/albums/v186/Kasdeya/demonmoving.gif (http://www.361stvfg.com/)
CWoS Forums. More Cheese, Less Whine (http://acompletewasteofspace.com/forum/index.php)

Red_Russian13
08-21-2004, 09:06 PM
Kasdeya;

Thanks. I didn't know that. Strangely enough, the only two grab files in there are from a LONG time ago. I'm certain I've done a ton since. Oh well, thanks for your help.

Red Russian

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v256/Red_Russian13/RedRussian.jpg

Dolemite-
08-21-2004, 09:47 PM
I know exactly what your talking about Red Russian. It happened to me just last week, it looks like little "white flak" all around the clouds. I dont know what caused it but restarting the game fixed it.

___________________________________________
Flying on HL as {Dolemite}
http://www.talonse.com/supergreg.swf <----- ya wont regret it

Friendly_flyer
08-22-2004, 02:59 AM
What weather settings did you have, and what time of day?

Fly friendly!

Petter Bøckman
Norway

tonywizzz
08-22-2004, 03:33 AM
I don't have a solution, best try posting your question in the "Community Help" forum, I get this sometimes, probably something to do with a graphics card setting, I have ATI 9800XT

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v79/Tony_Wizzz/il2/fis_banner_07.gif

Getting Shot Down On-Line as :FI:Grecian

http://img26.photobucket.com/albums/v79/Tony_Wizzz/il2/RAF%20307%20Squadron%20Wijaszko/

http://www.geocities.com/skrzydla/

woofiedog
08-22-2004, 08:09 AM
http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-happy.gifHave you tried Coasties Web Page yet for adjustments on your graphics?
Great stuff!Worked well for me.
I have a ATI 9800 Pro and the best results came after I used Coasties as a guide.

WOOFIEDOG

[This message was edited by woofiedog on Sun August 22 2004 at 07:25 AM.]

bazzaah2
08-22-2004, 08:24 AM
does fine-biew give a better quality of screen shot? Always wondered why you can get a great view if say you pause ingame - take a screenie and you end up with a nasty rough image. Not a big deal as you can remedy that with GIMP etc. Perhpas someone will explain?

Also, I have a 9800 pro on the way and looking forward to seeing how far it can be pushed. Can someone post a link to Coastie's site please?

Ta muchly.

http://www.endlager.net/fis/pix/banners/fis_banner_05.gif

Crashing online as :FI:SpinyNorman

Normally Spiny Norman was wont to be about
twelve feet from snout to tail, but when Dinsdale was depressed Norman could be
anything up to eight hundred yards long.

tonywizzz
08-22-2004, 08:54 AM
Here u go M8:-

http://www.angelfire.com/ultra/coastie0/IL2setup.html

Getting Shot Down On-Line as :FI:Grecian

http://img26.photobucket.com/albums/v79/Tony_Wizzz/il2/RAF%20307%20Squadron%20Wijaszko/

http://www.geocities.com/skrzydla/

Red_Russian13
08-22-2004, 11:25 AM
Thanks guys,

I'm not much of a wiz when it comes to fiddling with anything on my machine. I've only had this happen once, and I've never had any other problems, so I'm not too worried. Just wondered if anyone else had seen this strange mold look.

I'll check that stuff out, see what happens.

Thanks again.

Red Russian

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v256/Red_Russian13/RedRussian.jpg

choxaway
08-22-2004, 12:38 PM
Where do you store your CD when not in use? Maybe it's getting a bit damp and the clouds are going green at the edges like old cheese. Then again maybe the clouds are made of cheese and . . . sorry, er, must take more water with the booze . . . http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/53.gif


http://img12.photobucket.com/albums/v30/choxaway/IL2FB/6c05075b.gif

woofiedog
08-22-2004, 09:07 PM
Here's Coasties Place link. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif
http://www.angelfire.com/ultra/coastie0/

http://us.f147.mail.yahoo.com/ym/us/ShowLetter?box=Inbox&MsgId=7661_429433_11502_1424_13458_0_5619_18505_24 31481128&bodyPart=2&YY=70085&order=down&sort=date&pos=0&view=a&head=b

budvar62
08-23-2004, 08:06 AM
Yep I've had it too - very occasionally I get it (like once every couple of months) and usually after I've had to jump out to windows and back again without quitting the game. Look like black spots on the underside of the clouds but with a dark smudge all around. If I quit out properly and go back in, it goes away... No idea what it is but doesn't seem to be permanent and has never appeared in the middle of a flight so haven't worried too much to be honest...

Supr
08-23-2004, 08:08 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Budvar62:
Yep I've had it too - very occasionally I get it (like once every couple of months) and usually after I've had to jump out to windows and back again without quitting the game. Look like black spots on the underside of the clouds but with a dark smudge all around. If I quit out properly and go back in, it goes away... No idea what it is but doesn't seem to be permanent and has never appeared in the middle of a flight so haven't worried too much to be honest...<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I too get the occasional graphics issue when i alt tab out of game and then go back.

Steaky_361st
08-23-2004, 08:18 AM
I think I know what yur talking about. Ive had this before. Theyre kinda like black spots against the sky that are not flak or anything. I think its just a video glitch. Not sure though.

Steaky