PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Dogfighting Question (Please Read)

Brackus78
06-10-2004, 08:58 PM
Ok,

Please dont kill me, but I am new to the game, and I am trying to learn how to play. Everything is comming along smoothly, but when I am engaged in a battle, I have a hard time knowing which plane is on which side. Can you all give me some tips on how to distinguish a plane from a friend or foe while in the air?

Also, do most people use the ingame map for waypoints? Every time I use the guidepath, I see messages saying to turn on another vector, and I can never find my squadron after taking off. What are these calls for vector for, and how do you interpret the altitude (I.E. 01, 10).

Any help is appreciated.

--Brack

[This message was edited by Brackus78 on Thu June 10 2004 at 08:22 PM.]

Brackus78
06-10-2004, 08:58 PM
Ok,

Please dont kill me, but I am new to the game, and I am trying to learn how to play. Everything is comming along smoothly, but when I am engaged in a battle, I have a hard time knowing which plane is on which side. Can you all give me some tips on how to distinguish a plane from a friend or foe while in the air?

Also, do most people use the ingame map for waypoints? Every time I use the guidepath, I see messages saying to turn on another vector, and I can never find my squadron after taking off. What are these calls for vector for, and how do you interpret the altitude (I.E. 01, 10).

Any help is appreciated.

--Brack

[This message was edited by Brackus78 on Thu June 10 2004 at 08:22 PM.]

VW-IceFire
06-10-2004, 09:39 PM
Friendly and enemy ID is a very hard thing to do. Start with icons on I think...or if you want to remain very focused on being a "full real" kinda guy then the best thing to do is to look for the markings and get a feel for the planes and how they look from various angles.