PDA

View Full Version : For Newbies Playing the IL-2 FB Campaigns

XyZspineZyX
10-02-2003, 05:59 PM
Despite all the negative talk I trust you guys are enjoying this game and especially the campaigns.

It would be nice to create a thread where we can "safely" come aside from all the flaming going on in here and report on our campaign progress and the game in general.

Here's my contribution to get things started:

I bought this game a month or so ago. This is my first flight combat game, so I am still learning tonnes of stuff, with a lot more yet to figure out. After practicing for a while, I am now playing the Russian campaigns.

I completed the Russian Fighter over Leningrad missions. You start off flying the I-16, which despite it's awkwardness, is a great little fighter. In fact, I believe I shot down more enemies with it then I did with the faster planes introduced later on.

I am now playing the IL-2 over Leningrad missions (have campaign length set to very short). Great change of pace! So far, I seem to be a better ground assault pilot then in the previous campaign. The IL-2 is one tough tank with wings /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif But I find landing these monsters requires a much more gentle touch then the flyers.

Said enough. Would like to hear from other newcomers where they are with their campaigns. I hope I'm not the only one new to the campaigns.

P.S. Meant to mention that while my young son (he's 9) was playing the other night (he plays on Easy - sometimes Normal), that he crashed landed his plane into the water. Below the water's surface you could see the sunken ship ahead of his plane falling below the surface. Nice detail!

XyZspineZyX
10-02-2003, 05:59 PM
Despite all the negative talk I trust you guys are enjoying this game and especially the campaigns.

It would be nice to create a thread where we can "safely" come aside from all the flaming going on in here and report on our campaign progress and the game in general.