PDA

View Full Version : Time outs. New DLL



Oleg_Maddox
03-10-2004, 03:10 AM
I just released new DLL for test. Beta testers will share this with others for online testing.

Timeouts porblem related mostly to some hardware contradictions in different configurations. You all asked for more protection of cheaters and we get it...

We tested on about 40 different configurations and had not any problems. Howere ver didn't test on hardware parts that are 3-6 years old....

Ok. We did protection that was preventing any possible future cheating. It was based on checking of hardware inside and how it works. Sorry that some users have so different configurations to what we tested....

So we decided to remove the part of new anticheat protection and release beta Dll for users where the part or the code that check also possible cheating across sound card (!!!) was removed. I don;'t think that now hacker will find the way to cheat there.... Its special hardware realted cheat. Its too expencive for usual hakers.... http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gifhttp://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gifhttp://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gifhttp://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gifhttp://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gifhttp://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

So ttest new DLL and tell us by normal way result. Measn you report to beta testers that gave you this DLL and Beta testers will accumulate the info and send us.

Oleg_Maddox
03-10-2004, 03:10 AM
I just released new DLL for test. Beta testers will share this with others for online testing.

Timeouts porblem related mostly to some hardware contradictions in different configurations. You all asked for more protection of cheaters and we get it...

We tested on about 40 different configurations and had not any problems. Howere ver didn't test on hardware parts that are 3-6 years old....

Ok. We did protection that was preventing any possible future cheating. It was based on checking of hardware inside and how it works. Sorry that some users have so different configurations to what we tested....

So we decided to remove the part of new anticheat protection and release beta Dll for users where the part or the code that check also possible cheating across sound card (!!!) was removed. I don;'t think that now hacker will find the way to cheat there.... Its special hardware realted cheat. Its too expencive for usual hakers.... http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gifhttp://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gifhttp://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gifhttp://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gifhttp://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gifhttp://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

So ttest new DLL and tell us by normal way result. Measn you report to beta testers that gave you this DLL and Beta testers will accumulate the info and send us.

cow_9th
03-10-2004, 03:31 AM
Thanks you for this.
im sure it will work http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif now i just need to find a beta tester somewhere

Mollusc
03-10-2004, 03:56 AM
Hmm Where is beta testers when we need them ?
http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif Wake up and share that dll for us http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Oleg maybe direct url perhaps ? http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

609IAP_Recon
03-10-2004, 05:05 AM
bump

JG50_Recon
www.jg50.com (http://www.jg50.com)
----
http://www.thepassionofthechrist.com

Hunter82
03-10-2004, 05:23 AM
e-mail me at Hunter82@msn.com put in message header beta sound and I'll try and forward

==============================
Mudmovers (http://www.mudmovers.com)
ATI Catalyst Beta Tester
Catalyst Feedback (http://apps.ati.com/driverfeedback/)
Catalyst Driver Download (http://www.ati.com/support/driver.html)
==============================

609IAP_Recon
03-10-2004, 05:32 AM
sent

Edit: delivery notice: failed

JG50_Recon
www.jg50.com (http://www.jg50.com)
----
http://www.thepassionofthechrist.com

StevenCappu
03-10-2004, 05:41 AM
Is that real?
Mr.Oleg,you come back?
(I mean IL2 Sturmovik era's Mr.Oleg)
Real efficient,real earnest,real wariness,
real responsible..........................
Welcome back!!!!!!!!!

Just a joke :P
Anyway,Thank you V~~~~~~~~~~ery much,i'm sure
it will work.
Salute!

I/JG54_Steven

cow_9th
03-10-2004, 05:45 AM
seems to have dont the trick
mighty quick work thanks

Sailor_Br
03-10-2004, 05:51 AM
bump !!

Please let us test the DLLs !!! http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Hunter82
03-10-2004, 06:51 AM
OK any that I send to PLEASE read the rules as stated by Oleg. If you cannot submit information back to me to forward... I can't send the file to you. This needs to be reported back ASAP if the issue has been corrected or not.

==============================
Mudmovers (http://www.mudmovers.com)
ATI Catalyst Beta Tester
Catalyst Feedback (http://apps.ati.com/driverfeedback/)
Catalyst Driver Download (http://www.ati.com/support/driver.html)
==============================

jurinko
03-10-2004, 06:53 AM
the link on the beta .dll is in TechSupport, General Room and at SimHQ.com

----------------------
Letka.13/Liptow @ HL

Hartmann.
03-10-2004, 07:19 AM
worked pretty well here, testing it on HL and LAN http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

cow_9th
03-10-2004, 07:21 AM
i tried that aswell hunter asking ppl to let me know if it works or not

i got one reply http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

anyway myself and 2 others who used to time out no longer do!!! i beleive 100% that this works

i will send a more detailed report to the guy i got them from unfotunatly i can only give him what little feedback ive had myself from other ppl not in my squad (wich is next to none)

how long does it take to post a email anyway ?!?

guess some ppl just dont want to be helped

Gunner_361st
03-10-2004, 07:44 AM
Alright Hunter, email will soon be on it's way http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Captain Gunner of the 361st VFG

http://home.comcast.net/~smconlon/wsb/media/245357/site1039.jpg

VW-IceFire
03-10-2004, 08:16 AM
Excellent news! I love this community! http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

http://home.cogeco.ca/~cczerneda/sigs/temp_sig1.jpg
RCAF 412 Falcon Squadron - "Swift to Avenge"

Future-
03-10-2004, 10:22 AM
"Howere ver didn't test on hardware parts that are 3-6 years old.... "

Though I am glad to hear that a fix is in the works and being tested, I again have to notice some strange kind of ... arrogance in this.
My sound hardware (in fact, most parts of my current pc) is only 1 year old, yet I have those timeout problems.
Seems your testing wasn't as good as you claim. And automatically assuming that everybody who has these timeout problems has "old" hardware is, to be honest, ignorant and insultive.
And again, how come your Ace Pack is the only latest PC release I know of that has such problems?

S!

- Future

Commanding Officer of the 530th Bomb Squad
380th Bomb Group 5th AF USAAF

http://invisionfree.com:54/40/30/upload/p1083.jpg

Visit us at http://members.tripod.com/tophatssquadron , home of the 310th FS and the 380th BG

Hunter82
03-10-2004, 10:25 AM
Future what soundcard do you have?

==============================
Mudmovers (http://www.mudmovers.com)
ATI Catalyst Beta Tester
Catalyst Feedback (http://apps.ati.com/driverfeedback/)
Catalyst Driver Download (http://www.ati.com/support/driver.html)
==============================

flyingskid2
03-10-2004, 10:30 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>And again, how come your Ace Pack is the only latest PC release I know of that has such problems?
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

did you read oleg's post?

It was very clear. The reason AEP has problem with timeout is because of anti-cheat features. Other games don't have the same stringent anti-cheat.

609IAP_Recon
03-10-2004, 10:42 AM
Excellent 9th Cow.

so you've tried different server and had no timeouts?

I distributed the dll this morning to some guys to test - so far I haven't recieved any negative comments

JG50_Recon
www.jg50.com (http://www.jg50.com)
----
http://www.thepassionofthechrist.com

DR_Shark
03-10-2004, 10:43 AM
S!

My hardware is not to old too and I've got time out. Now it has been resolved

Here are my specs
P4 2.66
1 gig Ram
Asus P4PE
SB Live 5.1

Cpt_Rio
03-10-2004, 11:11 AM
Thank you Oleg...

Future-
03-10-2004, 12:25 PM
@ Flyingskid2: I did read the post, and I know it's anti-cheat related.
Still, one has to wonder about this.

@ Hunter82: I'm using a Hercules Gamesuround Fortissimo 3. Hasn't given me any trouble yet, apart from AEP, of course.

S!

- Future

Commanding Officer of the 530th Bomb Squad
380th Bomb Group 5th AF USAAF

http://invisionfree.com:54/40/30/upload/p1083.jpg

Visit us at http://members.tripod.com/tophatssquadron , home of the 310th FS and the 380th BG

cow_9th
03-10-2004, 12:34 PM
yeah recon works a charm i tested other servers, yours and more importantly hosted my own
unfortunalty of the ppl who got it i only managed about 10 replys
all of those were posotive

im also running full DX settings for sound and it still works fine

only one person claimed it didnt work but he had made a user error and then i helped him to get it to work aswell.

so all in all it seems to be a posotive move by 1C and a relief for us all

Jim81
03-10-2004, 03:44 PM
Well i tried that Dll and the situation is improved but not full stabilized!
infact i have freezes or im thrown back to the desktop suddenly and i noticed that when it s going to happend the hard disk start to work hard! and well maybe i also read in the game cheating has been detected but maybe is a coincidence! i ll play more this days..and i ll try to see if it gets better!

my sistem is aathlon xp 3200+
radeon 9700 pro with perfect settings and 4.1 catalyst
ddr 400 256+256 in dual channel

LuftLuver
03-10-2004, 03:47 PM
Thanks Oleg! / Bump!

GvSAP_Dart
03-10-2004, 05:35 PM
bump and beg - gigerfr&lt;at&gt;bellsouth.net
for the .dll

____________________________________
http://www.darts-page.com for more foolishness

GvSAP_Dart
03-10-2004, 06:30 PM
Thanks Hunter and Crazy Ivan!

Wow, I feel loved!

(pssst, I have the .dll so you can email me)

____________________________________
http://www.darts-page.com for more foolishness

Snow_Wolf_
03-10-2004, 06:55 PM
tested with
ESS PCI Solo-1
soundcard no time out in online game looks good so far
thx oleg

shockwave972
03-10-2004, 10:17 PM
licaclam@nycap.rr.com

i want to play with sound.

Hunter82
03-11-2004, 03:39 AM
If I gave you the dll or someone I gave it to gave to you please e-mail me @ hunter82@msn.com so I can get the info back to Oleg in the proper format.


Thanks

==============================
Mudmovers (http://www.mudmovers.com)
ATI Catalyst Beta Tester
Catalyst Feedback (http://apps.ati.com/driverfeedback/)
Catalyst Driver Download (http://www.ati.com/support/driver.html)
==============================

Tvrdi
03-11-2004, 03:54 AM
i have audigy and new sound dll works fine..no timeouts :-)

KG26Wulf01
03-11-2004, 04:58 AM
S! Thank,s was not a problem that i ecounterd often but now and then great Sim Oleg, keep up the good work!

flyingskid2
03-11-2004, 07:42 AM
I downloaded the dll from simhq. messed up the sound initially when i had custom settings. i changed to default soundblaster live settings and sounds is fine. tested 1.5 hours last night without timeouts.

thanks for the fix.

GR142_Astro
03-11-2004, 08:03 AM
Thanks Oleg, complete cure for me anyway.

http://members.cox.net/kinetic/SigImages/LockheedLightningMed.jpg

____________________________

"If Adolf Hitler flew in today, they'd send a limosine anyway." ~TheClash~

switch21
03-11-2004, 11:11 AM
Fixed the problem. Thanks Oleg.

ajafoofoo
03-11-2004, 11:22 AM
Jim, you are going to continue to get hard drive thrashing no matter what dll Oleg changes.

You only have 512mb of ram.

I have 1gig and I've seen my usage jump up to 1000mb on some maps online.

I'm running everything at 1024 768 and on excellent settings.

On generic dogfight maps it still exceeds 512, hovers around 620mb ram usage.

More ram would greatly reduce the hd thrashing.

GvSAP_Dart
03-11-2004, 04:17 PM
Hunter, I'll send the email for my system (I didn't have timeout issues to begin with) along with that of two squaddies, one of whom couldn't connect at all until the new .dll and then was rock solid.

We flew until midnight, in fact...

____________________________________
http://www.darts-page.com for more foolishness

FAW-Wally
03-13-2004, 02:51 AM
I send you a message to receive it
HUNTER82 ..

Thks in advance ..
I am playing via cable connection and when Using Team Speak with my squad i am TIME OUT ...
My PC is 2 Months old .. so...

Future-
03-15-2004, 10:16 AM
After taking another set of timeouts, I finally got myself to download and use the new dll.

Seems so far that thing is working, no more timeouts here, and I even can use my sound with my normal settings again.

Now, all we need is the final add-on/patch...
Tell me please, will it be released in time for the AEP European release?

If not, you'll most likely be getting another flooding of bug reports and help requests.

S!

- Future

Commanding Officer of the 530th Bomb Squad
380th Bomb Group 5th AF USAAF

http://invisionfree.com:54/40/30/upload/p1083.jpg

Visit us at http://members.tripod.com/tophatssquadron , home of the 310th FS and the 380th BG

ulriktham74
03-20-2004, 01:19 AM
Aha - thnx!

Something related to soundcard must be it since I've gotten some sound error message AND timeout problems! I'm using old hardware, too. Soundblaster Live 5.1. Must be it. Old graphics card, too...and processor. Dang, I must buy a new machine, now..http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

/Ulrik Tham, flyboy
----------
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Oleg_Maddox:
I just released new DLL for test. Beta testers will share this with others for online testing.

Timeouts porblem related mostly to some hardware contradictions in different configurations. You all asked for more protection of cheaters and we get it...

We tested on about 40 different configurations and had not any problems. Howere ver didn't test on hardware parts that are 3-6 years old....

Ok. We did protection that was preventing any possible future cheating. It was based on checking of hardware inside and how it works. Sorry that some users have so different configurations to what we tested....

So we decided to remove the part of new anticheat protection and release beta Dll for users where the part or the code that check also possible cheating across sound card (!!!) was removed. I don;'t think that now hacker will find the way to cheat there.... Its special hardware realted cheat. Its too expencive for usual hakers.... http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gifhttp://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gifhttp://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gifhttp://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gifhttp://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gifhttp://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

So ttest new DLL and tell us by normal way result. Measn you report to beta testers that gave you this DLL and Beta testers will accumulate the info and send us.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Willey
03-20-2004, 07:39 AM
@the mods: Why the hell is this thread not sticky??? http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-wink.gifhttp://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-wink.gifhttp://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

Jim81
03-22-2004, 04:14 AM
Hi guys..i ve been playing on line for several times in this period..and well the time out problem it s not complitely solved for me..but now its random..and i obtain game freezes not the write : "Connection Time out" anymore i have soundstorm audio card as i ve written in some previous posts..

i start thinking that the problem could be that also the person who is hosting the server should install the new dll ! cause there are times in wich i dont have freeezes for hours..and other where i have freezes each 2 3 mins!

its very strange! also cause my brother who is sharing with me the internet connection(DSL 700kb\s) has a cheaper mobo (ASRock with audio integrated ) than my Nvidia Nforce 2!!

my computer has been already formatted...
and i dont think its an hardware problem..infact i have this problem only with this game..

hope a new patch will come out soon

PS: i ll send a detailed e mail to Hunter 82 later!

http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-indifferent.gif

MrStang
04-29-2004, 12:08 PM
Can any one email me the link to the Beta.dll for the timeout problem. I have been looking for it and cannot find it in the forum. I promise to give back feedback on it.

lvdodgers@sbcglobal.net

VW-IceFire
04-29-2004, 12:54 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Jim81:
Hi guys..i ve been playing on line for several times in this period..and well the time out problem it s not complitely solved for me..but now its random..and i obtain game freezes not the write : "Connection Time out" anymore i have soundstorm audio card as i ve written in some previous posts..

i start thinking that the problem could be that also the person who is hosting the server should install the new dll ! cause there are times in wich i dont have freeezes for hours..and other where i have freezes each 2 3 mins!

its very strange! also cause my brother who is sharing with me the internet connection(DSL 700kb\s) has a cheaper mobo (ASRock with audio integrated ) than my Nvidia Nforce 2!!

my computer has been already formatted...
and i dont think its an hardware problem..infact i have this problem only with this game..

hope a new patch will come out soon

PS: i ll send a detailed e mail to Hunter 82 later!

http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-indifferent.gif<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
What you describe is not something that this DLL has anything to do with. The pauses, are usually caused by skin downloads. Thats the primary cause...but also memory allocation on your system (goto www.pcworld.com (http://www.pcworld.com) or other sites and look up howto tweak your system for speed and performance). I doubt you'll ever totally remove this problem (I haven't) but it happens oh so rarely to me (once maybe every 8-9 sessions). This is not a "timeout" issue...not from the way your describe it anyways.

http://home.cogeco.ca/~cczerneda/sigs/tmv-sig1.jpg
RCAF 412 Falcon Squadron - "Swift to Avenge"

XyZspineZyX
04-29-2004, 08:36 PM
Off topic but.........
It is in primarily games (HL IL2-FB AEP)that have a lot of pauses that I get a shuddery/ shaky plane when I come to within guns range, with the slightest movement of the stick
I always fly with SDL off.