PDA

View Full Version : Seperate throttle controls..opinions please



Udidtoo
05-21-2004, 12:17 AM
Help me out here guys and girls. My current rig is MSII FF with rudder pedals.

I got in about 2 hours flight time with the new patch before work, went to work and fractured my pelvis. Should have kept flying.

I won't be sitting for a long time now so my pedals are useless but I can stand comfortably enough(may change my mind when the drugs wear off)

My problem at the moment is I am rather drugged and I can't remember which seperate throttle had a switch right where your fingers rest on the grip.

I hate the twisty on my MS stick but I was thinking with some practice those buttons would beservicable rudders.

I was sure it wsa the AfterBurner FF but do to brain fog I can't remember if the CH stick I looked at had them as well.

Anyone out there have that AfterBurner and use the switches for rudder?

It has to be do-able because I can't go long with out some FB?AEP

Funniest thing is being all strapped into this brace I'm in seems to have steadied my gunnery skills http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-tongue.gif

..............................
I always have just enough fuel to arrive at the scene of my crash.

Udidtoo
05-21-2004, 12:17 AM
Help me out here guys and girls. My current rig is MSII FF with rudder pedals.

I got in about 2 hours flight time with the new patch before work, went to work and fractured my pelvis. Should have kept flying.

I won't be sitting for a long time now so my pedals are useless but I can stand comfortably enough(may change my mind when the drugs wear off)

My problem at the moment is I am rather drugged and I can't remember which seperate throttle had a switch right where your fingers rest on the grip.

I hate the twisty on my MS stick but I was thinking with some practice those buttons would beservicable rudders.

I was sure it wsa the AfterBurner FF but do to brain fog I can't remember if the CH stick I looked at had them as well.

Anyone out there have that AfterBurner and use the switches for rudder?

It has to be do-able because I can't go long with out some FB?AEP

Funniest thing is being all strapped into this brace I'm in seems to have steadied my gunnery skills http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-tongue.gif

..............................
I always have just enough fuel to arrive at the scene of my crash.

RACFrankenstein
05-21-2004, 12:20 AM
Saitek X-45 has the rudder controll on the throttle (HOTAS setup). Is that the one you're thinking of?

Old_Canuck
05-21-2004, 12:23 AM
Udidto, hope you have a speedy recovery.

OC

"You don't stop playing because you grow old, you grow old because you stop playing."

Udidtoo
05-21-2004, 12:28 AM
Thanks Canuck and to 1st poster. You see thats my problem, I can't remember which stick had what.

Now, thanks to you I am aware that the X-45 would meet my needs. I still think the Afterburner has one too and I actually liked the way it fit my paws better than the Saitek

I was hoping by tommorow maybe someone with that stick might have some feedback.


..............................
I always have just enough fuel to arrive at the scene of my crash.

Bearcat99
05-21-2004, 05:04 AM
The X45 would be good. You can also use it in conjuntion with your MSFFB2 stick. They work great together. Just use the X45 stick as a button bay and use the throttle for just that. This config can stick when you are better. I know how tough this next few weeks is going to be.... Ive been away from home for 2 weeks with 4 more to go and to tell the truth..(of course Id never tel Mamabear this..) I miss my computer almost as much as zi miss my family... especially since the patch is out.... but PLEAES!!!! Do your self a favor or you will regret it in the future... the first week or 2 dont even try to fly unless you are laying down. Dont even think about flying standing up. You could give yourself problems down the line ythat just arent worth it.... and FB has a lousy health plan. Just try to forget about simming for 2 weeks ..so your hip can get solidly on the road to recovery... then you can try it nd see how it goes. If a little discomfort is all you get then cool.. you can suck it up and pretend you took a shot in the hit through the seat.. but in the beginning..TAKE IT EASY!!!! Hope you get better soon.

<UL TYPE=SQUARE>http://www.jodavidsmeyer.com/combat/bookstore/tuskegeebondposter.jpg (http://tuskegeeairmen.org/airmen/who.html)[/list]<UL TYPE=SQUARE>vflyer@comcast.net [/list]<UL TYPE=SQUARE>99thPursuit Squadron IL2 Forgotten Battles (http://www.geocities.com/rt_bearcat)[/list]
UDQMG (http://www.uberdemon.com/index2.html) | HYPERLOBBY (http://hyperfighter.jinak.cz/) | IL2 Manager (http://www.checksix-fr.com/bibliotheque/detail_fichier.php?ID=1353) | MUDMOVERS (http://magnum-pc.netfirms.com/mudmovers/index.htm)

USE THAT X45 STICK AS A BUTTON BAY!

Udidtoo
05-21-2004, 08:18 AM
Good solid advice Bearcat and much easier to follow now that I've slept off the drugs they gave me.I won't need to worry about a rudder unless I can learn to fly from this bed I'm in now, lol.


You know you got the FB bug bad when you load up all the new planes in QMB sett 12 on 12 and lay and watch the show. If I can't fly them I'll just watch them, lol

..............................
I always have just enough fuel to arrive at the scene of my crash.

panther3485
05-21-2004, 10:29 AM
Hi, Udidtoo,

You're right - the Thrustmaster Afterburner II has the throttle that can be separated from the stick (the base can be split) and on the front of the 'T' is a large rocker switch that can be used for rudder control.

My Afterburner II has fallen into disuse because I have a new set of controls, but I still remember how comfortable that arrangement was. I think you can still get the Afterburner II if you shop around (don't know what country you're in).

My story was similar to yours in some respects. I badly shattered a knee in a motorcycle crash and couldn't use pedals for quite a long time. Hope you have a good (and not too painful) recovery.

Best regards,
panther3485

Udidtoo
05-21-2004, 10:34 AM
Thanks Panther. I'm in the US and yes they are available at Comp USA both the ABII and the Force model. With a clearer head today it was easy enough to find the info.

What was it about yours that made you seek another set?

..............................
I always have just enough fuel to arrive at the scene of my crash.

panther3485
05-22-2004, 11:24 AM
Hi Udidtoo,

Nothing wrong with the ABII, it was fine to use, but ever since one of my mates got a HOTAS Cougar, I'd always wanted one but couldn't afford it for a long time. Recently I became more finacial and splashed out on a set.

Also, my knee is now good enough again to use pedals and the Thrustmaster Elite that I've had for some time goes well with the Cougar.

I'd still recommend the ABII for anyone on a budget.

Best regards and happy simming,
panther3485