PDA

View Full Version : Need clarification - what is meant by arcade mode?



sledgehammer2
04-03-2004, 10:24 AM
I fly (offline) with most of the difficulty stuff enabled, like torque, head shake, limited fuel and ammo, g-effects, and others that don't come to mind at the moment. I love to do quick tracks and then watch them after the flight for learning and enjoyment. I also like to use the fly-by mode and sometimes quickly check out an external view to enjoy a new skin I might have downloaded. Is this arcade mode? Because I definitely don't use easy settings and want to be as realistic as possible. I guess I should mention that I use the labels which isn't very realistic...

sledgehammer2

Remember Peleliu 1944

sledgehammer2
04-03-2004, 10:24 AM
I fly (offline) with most of the difficulty stuff enabled, like torque, head shake, limited fuel and ammo, g-effects, and others that don't come to mind at the moment. I love to do quick tracks and then watch them after the flight for learning and enjoyment. I also like to use the fly-by mode and sometimes quickly check out an external view to enjoy a new skin I might have downloaded. Is this arcade mode? Because I definitely don't use easy settings and want to be as realistic as possible. I guess I should mention that I use the labels which isn't very realistic...

sledgehammer2

Remember Peleliu 1944

Chuck_Older
04-03-2004, 10:29 AM
In your config file, there is a line that looks like this:

arcade=0


When it is activated, arcade mode does a couple things:
1) arrows stick in aircraft where they have been hit

2) a thought bubble is above aircraft, indicating their energy state


You aren't flying arcade http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

*****************************
Punk Rockers in the UK, they won't notice anyway. They're all too busy fighting for a good place under the lighting~ Clash

_VR_ScorpionWorm
04-03-2004, 10:29 AM
IMO, arcade mode is that nasty little button that people press to get rid of the cockpit.

"We went like this, He went like that, I said to Hollywood 'Where'd he go?', Hollywood said, 'Where'd WHO go'-TOPGUN

Chuck_Older
04-03-2004, 10:36 AM
the only buttons I use to get out of the cockpit are CNTRL+E. Is that what you mean? http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

*****************************
Punk Rockers in the UK, they won't notice anyway. They're all too busy fighting for a good place under the lighting~ Clash

sledgehammer2
04-03-2004, 10:40 AM
Excellent. Thanks Chuck! I am glad to hear this!

Remember Peleliu 1944

sledgehammer2
04-03-2004, 10:43 AM
Glad to hear this Chuck. Thanks! I had no idea about what arcade really was and I thought I was flying in it. Not to demean it but I am glad I am not. Thanks!

Remember Peleliu 1944

tsisqua
04-03-2004, 12:36 PM
conf.ini in the root folder:

change:
arcade=0
to
arcade=1

You will then know what it felt like to be Gen. George Armstrong Custer at the Little Bighorn.

Tsisqua

Tully__
04-03-2004, 01:10 PM
Arcade mode looks like:

http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/arc1.jpg

Arrows showing hits.



http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/arc2.jpg

Cheesy thought balloons showing enemy pilot's thoughts.

=================================================


http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/sig.jpg

IL2 Forums Moderator
Forum Terms of Use (http://www.ubi.com/US/Info/TermsOfUse.htm)

Salut
Tully

buggggggged
04-03-2004, 01:31 PM
there is no shame in flying how you want to. you can learn in arcade style then one by one increase difficulty at your pace. sounds weeny but were all different. give me troops that bleed and I'll show you full real with 50 cals. or even horse drawn carts like they show on the history channel.

_VR_ScorpionWorm
04-03-2004, 02:59 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by buggggggged:
there is no shame in flying how you want to. you can learn in arcade style then one by one increase difficulty at your pace. sounds weeny but were all different. give me troops that bleed and I'll show you full real with 50 cals. or even horse drawn carts like they show on the history channel.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Yeah but if you fly with anything but realistic settings you pick up bad habits. It took me awhile to stop pushing F6 when I got online, now I dont even go near it. BTW, I forgot to mention the nasty button was Ctrl+F1. Didnt know about the config.ini file, im glad that its not default to run arcade..... That looks like crap.

"We went like this, He went like that, I said to Hollywood 'Where'd he go?', Hollywood said, 'Where'd WHO go'-TOPGUN