PDA

View Full Version : P38&Bf110 takeoff problems



christopher65
03-22-2004, 05:54 AM
Have just got aep and so far think its great,just a couple of question.In the p38 and bf110 I can start both engines and can taxi off the apron.Then the problems start.In the 110 its a problem of not enough power,cant get to take off speed and in the p38 its directional control thats the problem.Its quite hard to keep in a straight line and seems very twitchy.Can anyone help?Also cant find v1 in fmb?Is it in the objects list and if so whats the number?No other probs with install.Thanks.

christopher65
03-22-2004, 05:54 AM
Have just got aep and so far think its great,just a couple of question.In the p38 and bf110 I can start both engines and can taxi off the apron.Then the problems start.In the 110 its a problem of not enough power,cant get to take off speed and in the p38 its directional control thats the problem.Its quite hard to keep in a straight line and seems very twitchy.Can anyone help?Also cant find v1 in fmb?Is it in the objects list and if so whats the number?No other probs with install.Thanks.

Diablo310th
03-22-2004, 06:00 AM
Christopher65.......I had teh same problem too. What you have to do is map a key to "select all engines". After starting both engines hit that key and it will work fine then.

http://www.wellspringmarketing.biz/310th/Diablos20Sig.jpg

IAFS_Painter
03-22-2004, 06:20 AM
In the 110, run the engines up, with breaks on and the stick pulled hard back.

When you want to roll, release the breaks, and push the stick forward
Try a touch of breaks when you are up to 50 or 60 kph ... just to lift the tail wheel.
Combat flaps may help too.

Are you using prop-pitch?
If you are, start rolling with 75-80% pitch., and wind it down to 70% by the time you retract gears.


On the P-38, all I've noticed is that the breaks are too gentle to run up the engine beyond about 30%

http://www.robert-stuart.me.uk/il2/signature/paint_sig_003.jpg
il2airracing.com (http://www.il2airracing.com) Painter's Pages (http://www.robert-stuart.me.uk/il2)
I've given up correcting my own spelling
Unless I've corrected it here

Huxley_S
03-22-2004, 06:35 AM
Definitely sounds like you are applying throttle to just one engine. After starting both engines you need to select all engines before you start applying the throttle, otherwise engines will be running at different speeds and you'll be all over the place.

FB Music and Campaigns @
http://www.onemorewild.org/huxley

Dunkelgrun
03-22-2004, 08:24 AM
I've had a few probs with the Bf110, in that using manual pitch I have overheated and knackered the engines even before getting off the ground. Keep both throttle and pitch settings at least below 90% and you can get away with it.
Cheers!

http://www.uploadit.org/igmusapa/tft2.jpg
www.nightbomber.com (http://www.nightbomber.com)

Dunkelgrun aka 242Sqn_Cat

Kannaksen_hanu
03-22-2004, 08:24 AM
With V-1 there was a problem in installer. You have to fix it manually.

open bldconf.ini and add this line under [builder_plugins]

(builder.PlMisRocket,sectFile=com/maddox/il2/objects/rockets.ini)

Then your bldconf.ini should look like this:

[builder_plugins]
(builder.PlMapLoad)
(builder.PlMission)
(builder.PlMisAir,sectFile=com/maddox/il2/objects/air.ini)
(builder.PlMisChief,sectFile=com/maddox/il2/objects/chief.ini)
(builder.PlMisStatic,sectFile=com/maddox/il2/objects/stationary.ini)
(builder.PlMisHouse,sectFile=com/maddox/il2/objects/static.ini)
(builder.PlMisRocket,sectFile=com/maddox/il2/objects/rockets.ini)
(builder.PlMisTarget)
(builder.PlMisBrief)
(builder.PlMisBorn)
(builder.PlMisStaticCamera)
(builder.PlMisDestruction)
(builder.PlMisFront)
[builder config]
bShowGrid true
bShowName true
bViewRunaway true
bShowTime true
bShowArmy [3,true,true,true]
iLightLand 255
iconSize 32
bViewBridge true
bAnimateCamera true
bActorOnLand true
bSaveViewHLand false
bShowLandscape true
iLightDestruction 125
iWaterLevel 191

Then V-1 is found under "Rockets" in FMB.

christopher65
03-22-2004, 08:28 AM
thanks,will try that later.

LEXX_Luthor
03-22-2004, 08:40 AM
I had an interesting thing last night. Started takeoff in Fb110 and switched to gunner which turned on pilot autopilot and jumped back to pilot seat to get back control but could not accelerate. Throttle 110% flaps at takeoff but don't know what was wrong. hmmmm. Well, don't jump into gunner seat unless you can find the option switch to turn off the automatic-autopilot switch which I forgot where to find hehehe

__________________
http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/10.gif Flyable Swedish "Gladiator" listed as J8A ...in Aces Expansion Pack

"You will still have FB , you will lose nothing" ~WUAF_Badsight
"I had actually pre ordered CFS3 and I couldnt wait..." ~Bearcat99
"Gladiator and Falco, elegant weapons of a more civilized age" ~ElAurens
:
"Damn.....Where you did read about Spitfire made from a wood?
Close this book forever and don't open anymore!" ~Oleg_Maddox http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif

Snow_Wolf_
03-22-2004, 09:17 AM
Well the 110 you need to put the metal to the pedal (as you Americans would say it) I fly the 110 only and i been able to take it off with out a runway or using a very short runway. The only thing you need is the take off flaps. The other thing is select back your engines and put power to 110%. after you hit about 120 and above you can start pulling the stick back gently. Just remeber to 110 is not a fast accelerator it needs time to built up it speed.

http://manganet.free.fr/mononoke/logog.jpg

Zeus-cat
03-22-2004, 09:22 AM
On all multi-engine aircraft get in the habit of looking at the throttles before take-off and pushing them very briefly to 5 or 10% before pulling them bac to 0%. If only one moves you know not all your engines are selected. Learned this the hard way.

You may want to make a pre-flight checklist too. I started one last night and will post it when I get it done.

It will have things like:

Preflight Checklist
Check loadout
Set time delay on bombs
etc.

Engine start checklist
Select engine 1
Set throttle to 5%
Start engine 1
Set throttle to 0%
Deselect engine 1
etc.

Zeus-cat
Deslect engine 1

christopher65
03-22-2004, 09:26 AM
thanks for all your help on this but I must point out that im Scottish(from scotland)and very proud of that.Will try all the advice when i get back from work(at my work now!)and see if it makes a differance,hope so as i have been looking forward to the 110 for months now!

FWdreamer
03-22-2004, 10:41 AM
S!
With takeoff what Mr. Diablo310th stated is a MUST, having a key to select all engines. What i do after getting both engins warmed up after a minute or so is to select them both and using CEM. Before i add throttle i always click down to 90% prop pitch and then add throttle. As i increase throttle i listen to my engines. If they are starting to rev real high I drop pitch down by 5% each time. Oops forgot, have flaps set to combat or takeoff this helps immensely. By the time i hit 200kph my throttle is at 85% and prop pitch is at around 65 to 60%

I have started a thread simillar to this called 110 rpm's. some pilots have stated they fly auto/closed rad (which i do as well) but i rarely take my throttle past 85 to 90%, when using CEM. After flying 109's for a while I treat any plane by Willy Messerschmit with kid gloves. By playing with prop pitch and leaving rad closed and throttle at 85% i never get engine overheats and get speeds up to 430kph. Tonight however i will play around with the settings a bit more and see if i can push the throttle up to around 90 to 95% and see how much prop pitch i have to play with. She is a great plane and gave up on my 109 ride to make this my new bird.

Hope this info will help you out sir.

Fwdreamer http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-happy.gif